We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!!-the real Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AirBoat Rides at Midway

AirBoat Rides at Midway
28501 East Colonial Drive, Christmas, FL 32709
407 568 6790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 attractions in Christmas
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Open daily at 9am - Experience the beauty of the "Florida Outback" while gliding across the legendary St.John's River marshes. See Florida alligators, American Bald Eagles, and more on your Central Florida Everglades Wildlife AirBoat adventure. Our custom-designed, US Coast Guard certified airboat fleet features elevated seating for excellent viewing opportunities and voice-activated headsets for effortless 2-way communication with your guide, a certified USCG Master Captain.While you wait to depart, check out our Gift shop, reptile, exotic bird and honeybee colony exhibits. Hold our baby gator after your ride. "PorkChop the Pig" may greet you at the door! 45 minutes or less from all major attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
sunderland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!-the real Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked a trip whilst staying in Kissimee-about an hours drive away Was a good change from the busy theme parks and attractions to see the real Florida..3 adults 1 child $140 - best money spent during a 3 week holiday.Staff in shop very friendly,boat Captain Duke was brilliant.
We shared a boat with 6 others but all had a great view.Saw gators, cattle, horses, birds and wonderful wildlife.Captain very funny and gave loads of hisotry and info about swamps.
We all held a "baby" gator at end of trip and met porkchop the pot bellied pig in the shop.
Would love to return again and will recommend this place to friends and family.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    32
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a great time on our airboat ride. The staff was great they fit me into their schedule even though I did not have reservations. (they have a coupon on groupon) The ride was great and the tour guide was very informative. I think everyone should see florida from this perspective. It was a really relaxing ride and very peaceful. After the ride I had the experience to hold a 2-3 foot aligator which was cool. Remember to bring your sunglasses when you get going fast the wind will make your eyes water. This is sonething I think everyone should do once

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a very enjoyable hour on St John's river with Captain Charlie. For all four of us on our trip, this was our first airboat ride and it was very worthwhile. The booking process over the phone was very straightforward and in fact when we got to the area earlier than expected, we were able to bring the ride forward by an hour.

Charlie was very informative and clearly knowledgeable about the river and the animals that live there. We realised that we should have made this trip either first thing in the morning or at night, because that is the optimum time to see alligators. But we still saw quiet a few floating by and diving when we came near.

The boat ride is quiet exciting as well and it is quite strange floating straight over grass and weeds like they are not there at all.

We went into the Cypress creek where Charlie turned the boat's engine off and we could sit and listen to the relative silence.

Back at base there is food and drink available along with the 'star' of the venue 'Pork Chop' the pot bellied pig. She met us when we arrived in the car, but was sleeping inside the shop when we got back. Give her belly a good tickle and you will be rewarded with grunts and snorts of delight.

Well worth a visit and as it is less than a hour from Orlando it is another side of Florida that the tourist should get to see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very enjoyable airboat ride.We saw several gators and cattle wading and swimming in the water which was amazing. The cypress tree creeks are so very beautiful. The potbelly pig, Porkchop, actually sat on command when the owner offered him a treat. There are several other animals in and around the shop as well.
A worthwhile stop!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Midway Airbooat...great sightseeing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Went on Midway Airboat with my Senior Citizen parents. It was an enjoyable trip. Ride is one hour, which is a perfect length. Boat does go pretty fast. During summer/wet season, you go into cypress tree creeks, which is beautiful, quiet and peaceful. We only saw 1 alligator, but heards of cattle, hawks, large spiders. You wear headsets to hear the guide. Great opportunities for photos. I thought a little pricy for one hour, ($37), but I guess gas is expensive! You get to hold a 3 foot alligator at the dock...pretty cool! Overall a great Florida experience!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AirBoat Rides at Midway also viewed

 

Been to AirBoat Rides at Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AirBoat Rides at Midway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AirBoat Rides at Midway to your Saves list