We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot. Disappointing Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Restaurant

Columbia Restaurant
649 Front Street, Celebration, FL 34747
407-566-1505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Celebration
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Front St. & Sycamore St.
Description: Family-owned and operated for over 100 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don’t miss Columbia’s Original “1905” Salad®, prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Torres, Montecillo or Campillo. Relax outdoors in our café or courtyard, or inside our Tapas Bar or Mediterranean-style dining rooms filled with hand-painted tiles and family heirlooms. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Spot. Disappointing Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love Celebration and was looking forward to eating at Columbia. I have now eaten there three times (I go back because my in-laws love it). It is beautiful looking, and I have no complaint about the service. But the food is a real disappointment. I have not had one dish that was well-prepared. I do not enjoy writing negative reviews, but I do so because this restaurant should be so much better than it is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We never want to disappoint our guests, and we are sorry you have not enjoyed your meals with us. If there are problems with the meal we encourage guests to let us know while they are dining so that we can fix the problem then. We hope to welcome you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    184
    56
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island new york
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Top Choice in Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Can't say enough about this quality restaurant in Celebration. The menu is extensive, the ambiance is terrific, the staff is courteous and efficient. Enjoyed seafood, sangria and their special rice at dinner my first night in Celebration. Our waiter Ephraim was just great-reserve a table with him to really enjoy your night. Felt like a dinner in Havana with the atmosphere and specialty items. Planning to go back this week for a paella dinner and enjoy again before leaving Celebration.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super Food, Super Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'd highly recommend this restaurant which is a Spanish/Cuban blend but has plenty of more traditional dishes for those who prefer them. You can do the tapas and try a bunch of different things, and the entres are excellent as well. My table tried three different fish dishes, all were excellent. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful and best of all, attentive. If you can sit outside on a pleasant night, all the better. It's in the Celebration area where there are lots of cute shops and other dineries if you have time for a stroll.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“How the mighty have fallen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Used to be one of best meals in central FL. Come for spring training and savor gambas and black bean cakes for appetizers, sip ur sangria, and then have wonderful paella redolent of saffron and perfectly cooked, all the while attended by conscientious service.
Well, at least black bean cakes made it to Celebration. Unfortunately, the service was inattentive, paella took an hour to receive, and shows up runny, improperly browned, horribly over salted, and no hint of saffron. This was like fast food idea of paella without the speed. Sangria has also dropped several notches. Meanwhile maitre d hovers and wonders why people sitting at table so long. And, they weren't even busy when we arrived.
We've been all over Spain. This place would only be competitive on the greasy spoon level there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We always like to hear from guests who have visited us before. I am so sorry that we let you down so badly when you returned to dine with us. We pride ourselves on serving a great meal, but this did not happen on your visit. There is no excuse for this, and we thank you for pointing out our many mistakes so we can share your comments with our chef and make sure that these mistakes are corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We recently dined at Columbia for the first time in a couple years. Unfortunately they now seem to be trading more on reputation than reality. In particular, the service was abysmal from the hostess at the front to the server. Indifference seemed to be a core value. The food was also not to the quality we've come to expect from dining here over the years. It was inconsistently prepared with the roast pork being incredibly dry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We never want to read that we let our guests down, and I am sorry you were not greeted with a welcoming attitude by the hostess and that you were served a meal that you did not enjoy. We read all comments here, good and bad, and will share your comments with our general manager to make sure these mistakes are not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.