We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do the Timeshare orientation, SCAM!SCAM!SCAM!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7900 Mystic Dunes Lane, Celebration, FL 34747   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 35%
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Celebration
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't do the Timeshare orientation, SCAM!SCAM!SCAM!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

To begin, my rating is solely on the rooms and facility. If I was going to include the Timeshare, then may rating would be "Terrible" instead of "Average".

The room could have used better cleaning. Mold in the shower is not very appealing. Doors to enter the room were completely filthy. Neighbors upstairs running up and down the room 'til pass midnight. On the 2nd night I called security at 9:30pm to report them. At 10:15pm had to call again because the noise, now with screams, had not stopped for a second. It was 11:15pm before they finally shut up (I guess security decided to say something after almost 2 hours).

First time we called for transportation to the pool, they came within 15 minutes, Great! Second time...we ended up taking our own car after waiting 45min for the ride that never showed up. One thing I liked was the pools were well stocked with towels.

It's a timeshare property so first thing after you check-in, they offer you a free stay. What got me interested was that they said "NO BLACK-OUTS, you can use it whenever you want even during high season". Also, $100 prepaid credit card, just for going to their 90 min presentation. They don't tell you until you sign all their papers that you have to give them a $20 "deposit", I should have told them to shove it right then and there. Went to the presentation, where they kept us for 2 1/2 hours not 90min (I just wanted my $20 back at that point). Then they finally gave me my "free stay" and not only there is blackouts but you have to give them $100 "deposit" right away, then you cannot use the voucher for another 6 months and you only have 12 months after that to use it. WHAT A SCAM! When you call to activate, they tell you can only use the "free stay" Sunday thru Wednesday. I told the lady, the reason we did all this was because the girl told us there are no blackout days, and we can use our free stay whenever we want. She replied: "I'm sorry for the misunderstanding but there are definitely blackouts.
LIARS, LIARS, LIARS! The only good thing was that instead of the $100 prepaid card, they gave us cash, LUCKY US! At least we got paid for our time in there.

This morning, I went online to see reviews, OH MY! Thank God we did not buy their timeshare. They never factor their maintenance fees when they ask you how much you spend on hotels every year!!!

Back to the facility...kids will enjoy the place. Parents will enjoy as long as they didn't pay much for it because if you pay the rates in their website...OUCH! you'll be dissapointed.

Room Tip: I wouldn't get 1st floor only because of the horrors I read online about bugs. I guess last flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    503
    268
    201
    174
See reviews for
844
297
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite it was ground level right accross from one of the pools. The grounds were well kept and they had lots of activities for guest to participate in during the day. The golf course was very nice and reasonably priced. Our room was far from the pro shop so they had someone come pick us up. The appliances are outdated and we had a problem with part of the stove not working when we got there but someone was there to fix it in less than 30minutes and we had no other problems the entire 5 day trip. We had a great time and highly reccommend staying here.

Room Tip: ground level rooms are easier to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Property is beautiful with 4 gorgeous, fun pools, but rooms need updating. Internet connection DOES NOT work at all! Wild raccoons on the floor near rooms. Find someplace else to stay!
I didn't know we had to sit through the hour and 1/2 shpeel about timeshare. YUK!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been remodeled. The others aren't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I purchased a week at this property for a low price as a secret hotel on Hotwire. The mixed reviews had me a little concerned, however, we stayed at another Diamond Resorts property recently and were quite impressed, so we were excited to try it out... Well, the grounds are meticulous, check-in and check-out were a breeze, we had a 1br deluxe that was say, refreshed, but certainly not renovated. It was clean, quiet, well stocked, and the mattress on the sofa was brand new. Parking was never a problem and it was refreshing that no resort fee or parking fee was charged. The pools were stocked with fresh towels, bathrooms were clean, and the landscape beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and the room service option served large portions of decent food at a fair price. Great location for any of the theme parks with easy access to major highways. The only negative thing to say is that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, and there is a charge to use the internet from your room. That being said, there is free Wi-Fi in the check-in area, and the limited access just kept us doing other things, like enjoying our free time instead of checking in with work. I would even go so far as to say our family is looking into purchasing into the timeshares at Diamond Resorts, although we have yet to sit through one of those dreaded presentations - it seems the property does a good job at selling itself!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We got this room on Priceline.com for next to nothing. We are experienced Priceline negotiators and do experience one-star rooms often if we try for a cheaply negotiated room during peak season. This time, we were greatly surprised and pleased with Mystic Dune Golf and Country Club. We own two weeks at a competor Time Share in Kissimmee, which we absolutely love and wouldn't trade. However, the amenities and rooms in Mystic Dunes were comparable, as was the pool. The reception staff was warm and welcoming, even after we told them were only there for the night and we would be checking into our TimeShare down the road the next for a week. We very much enjoyed our stay and will make it a point to come back again for more than one night! Well worth the price.

Room Tip: We were only there one night, but there were no issues at all with anything during this trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a 1 bedroom deluxe. We arrived to check-in around 2:00pm and requested a suite on the top floor near a pool. The clerk said he had nothing available but would put the request in for one to be prepared, asked us to leave our cell phone number and he would contact us as soon as it was available. We decided to go to the grocery store to get a few necessities and take a ride around to find out what was in the area (the location is within a few miles of all Disney parks). We waited until 5:00pm to return to the resort (not having received the call that our room was ready). As we returned to the office we received a call from a different clerk stating that our room was not going to be ready anytime soon and offered us an upgraded suite at a discounted rate, which seemed like an ok deal but left us feeling like we were being tricked into purchasing an upgrade because they prey on people who are tired from traveling and just want to get into their rooms. We accepted the upgrade because of these exact reasons. The room was very clean, located on the top floor of building 18, which is nearest the courtyard pool. This area was nice and quiet and located near the entrance of the resort (the resort is huge). As I stated the suite was very clean, but very dated (the television was older then my daughter who has graduated from college), however it does seem they are trying to renovate most of the room/buildings and I imagine that a complex this size does require extra time to renovate. We had an awesome view of Magic Kingdom's fireworks in the evening. While we were there we visited 3 of the 4 pools, all pools were very clean and well stocked with towels. We enjoyed the Courtyard Pool because it was very quiet and relaxing with plenty of chairs in the shade. We visited the Lagoon Pool a few days in the afternoon and found it to be very crowded and noisy as this is the pool with water slide and tiki bar. We enjoyed a few cocktails at the tiki bar and found the bartender (Leila) to be very friendly and enjoyed making whatever drink you wanted. The Terrace Pool was very similar to the Courtyard Pool but a lot more people. We had dinner a few evening at the restaurant Kenzie’s and found the food to be below average. We ordered a few different items off the menu and really didn’t find anything that wowed us. They have a different theme every night and our favorite was Caribbean Night (they had a guy playing steel drums and the food was themed after the Caribbean). The resort is very large and private off of the main road; we rented a car and are extremely glad we did. The resort offers shuttle service to several parks (with limited times) as well as to/from all of the resort amenities and was very easy to arrange, just dial 1 from your room or ask the pool attendant or the bartender to call for the shuttle and within a few minutes they were there. All staff we encountered was super friendly! We were not approached about sitting through the sale pitch, which we had decided we were going to decline. We have been to many timeshare resorts in Florida/US and found Mystic Dunes to be below average as far as room quality and amenities. However, we scored an awesome deal on Hotwire.com and paid practically nothing compared to others we chatted with. I am confident to say that we would not return to this resort because it is too large and needs many renovations. This place was very nice but just not our style.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room! We were located in 18409 had an awesome view of the fireworks at disney...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family stayed here for a week and visited Disney and Universal. It was a 10-15 minute drive to the Disney parks, and about a 30-minute drive to Universal. Located in a quiet area but still close to restaurants, shops, grocery stores, etc. The villa was very spacious and comfortable. It was nice to have our own kitchen, private screened patio, laundry, and living room. The kids loved playing in the pool and doing the craft activties organized by the resort. The restaurant service was great and the food was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club

Address: 7900 Mystic Dunes Lane, Celebration, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Celebration
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Celebration
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Dunes Resort And Golf Club
Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club Hotel Celebration
Mystic Dunes Hotel
Mystic Dunes Golf Resort
Wyndham Palms Resort
Mystic Dunes Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.