We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel with nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gulf Side Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gulf Side Motel
552 1st Street, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Cedar Key
a very rainy country
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good motel with nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice little motel with a great view and in the middle of historic Cedar Key. I thought the beds were good, our mattrass was nice and firm, and I didn't think it was noisy at all. The room has a fridge, microwave ans coffee making facilities and you can get free ice. It was small but it had everything we needed. I enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    8
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
57
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lutz, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staff was very cordial, friendly, but the good experience stopped there. Had the WORST bed we've ever slept in EVER (or we should say, the WORST bed that we couldn't sleep in, it was so bad). In fact, we're not sure how a bed could get that beat, it must have been a cheap one to begin with and it went downhill from there. Add to that piles of rubble (wood with nails sticking out of it) in the grassy area between the buildings and the water, no pool, no room service, windows that wouldn't open (and then when we could get 1 or 2 to open they wouldn't stay open, we had to find things to prop in the window), not one clock which had accurate time (sorely in need of batteries which I guess the cleaning/maintenance people just chose to ignore), a television from 1988, shower leaked all over the floor. And this place isn't cheap!! We really didn't care for Cedar Key either, the whole place closes down at 9 PM, literally nothing to do after that. And forget cellphone signal, you won't have one throughout much of Cedar Key. The waitresses/servers, convenience store people, etc., all seemed abrupt, rude (as if they really resented tourists), and frankly, a bit stupid. No exaggeration, we came home from our 3 day getaway exhausted because our sleep was so poor for the entire time. You've been warned, stay away!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different motel/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservation because we were stuck on the highway and wanted to stop for the night. Although we decided to get back on the road after arriving, the person who helped us was accommodating and flexible. This is just an example of considerate service. The view from the hotel is beautiful, and maybe someday we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't waste your money. This hotel is convenient but so are several others. The room was very small and dirty. The shower was tiny and leaked all over the floor when showering. The shower head was not adjustable and sprayed water everywhere. The shower head was rusty and smelled of mildew. The hot water was almost nonexistent. The front door had a crack large enough around the door frame to let constant light and noise in. The hotel is very noisy located at the very end of the main street. We were awakened by garbage trucks and other diesel delivery trucks. There is no housekeeping until you check out. Stayed five days in a room unkempt and had to ask for things needed such as towels. No services were offered had to ask.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group that road dirt bikes from Flagler Beach to Cedar Keys and back. They were great with our group and everyone was happy. I had the honeymoon suite up stairs. Wow it was small. You had to climb over the bed to get to the living room. However, I really liked the room for what it was. I will be back. To bad their dock was destroyed a couple weeks earlier. Still had a great view from my front porch.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had a wonderful time last year. Will stay there again this year. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Management was great. Grounds are well kept. It is just a wonderful place for a vacation. The people who are running it are great people, very personable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at the Gulfside for two years in a row and am about to go there again
The place is very clean and within walking distance of every thing Theresa who is on property and managing the place is the finest and most outgoing lady ever met in this business made us comfortable
and was freindly and very accomodating. Looking forward to going there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
Kitchenette, Bu...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#2 of 4 in Cedar Key
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Free Parking, F...
Show More
21.9 mi away
Pine Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gulf Side Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gulf Side Motel

Address: 552 1st Street, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Gulf Side Hotel Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gulf Side Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Gulf Side Motel to your Saves list