We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People who care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gulf Side Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gulf Side Motel
Save
You added The Gulf Side Motel to your Saves list
552 1st Street, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“People who care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Gulf Side for the third time last week and enjoyed it as usual. I have stayed at four motels in Cedar Key and this is the best overall. Not the fanciest, but for the money the best combination of comfort, quiet location, excellent managers (Theresa,Raul,and Kerry), who go out of their way to make the stay relaxing and fun. Raul is constantly working to update the motel and with each visit it looks 10 years younger. In contrast to the previous reviewer, I didn't see many cats around the property, though there are lots of cats in Cedar Key because it is that type of laid back community that takes care of the cat population. As to the comment about the pier. It does have some age on it, but it is sturdy and each trip I relish having my private spot at the end of the pier to fish and drink a glass of wine as the sun goes down. Many things are in the eye of the beholder but the charm of this property is habit forming! If you want the lack of personality in a property that is perfect in every respect, find a Hampton Inn. If you are looking for a laid back, friendly place to relax, give it a try!

Room Tip: Simply call Theresa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    24
    8
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
66
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belleair Bluffs, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Yes, this is an old Florida motel. Probably built in the 40's or 50's - maybe older. They advertised free WI-FI byt we couldn't find it! No matter where we took our tablet or lap top there was no signal. It was fairly clean. The pillows were flat as pancakes, the sheets and spread were old. The view was good except for the fact that if you walked out into the grassy area to get to the water you were very likely to step in cat droppings. There were many cats around and they didn't care where they went. When you checked in, there was a sign stating that if you fed the cats, you had to take them home with you giving you the impression that they did not want the cats around. However - there were cat food bowls outside the owner's suite!!! What's with that? I didn't even want to sit in any of the many chairs and tables they had in the grassy areas because the cats were all over them and the birds dropped on them and no one ever cleaned them off!! The pier they have that goes out into the water is wavy and dangerous!! But I guess the worst part was the bathroom. First there was an electrical cord from a lamp by the bed which came into the bathroom through the door to a plug in the bathroom. Because of this, the bathroom door would not stay shut no matter what you did unless you unplugged the lamp and then it only stayed shut now and then. The shower was a stall, no tub, and sometimes the water went from very hot to very cold to warm and back to hot, etc., etc., etc. Put the topper was the fact that the toilet was not fastened down!! It rocked and rolled when you sat on it and at times there was water (?) on the floor. If you want a clean, decent place to stay - don't stay here!!! We couldn't wait to leave!!

Room Tip: For the $75 per day they charge OFF SEASON there are many nicer places in the area. Had we not made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Thank you Raul and Theresa! We had a fantastic stay! We will definitely recommend the Gulf Side to anyone looking a great place to stay! We hope to see you again soon! Paul and Melody fom St. Augustine

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved this location - the quaint setting, the beautiful views, the exceptionally friendly people! It was everything we wanted from a quiet get-away. The service was wonderful, from making sure we had everything we needed to wonderful recommendations on where to eat. We particularily loved the quiet (not crowded) atmosphere and the balcony with the porch swing was superb for just kicking back and relaxing. The accomodations were nice and clean - we couldn't have asked for a better location - it is close to everything and the views for both sunrise and sunset were gorgeous. We had a great time and we will go back.

Room Tip: We had the only upstairs suite, so it had a porch and swing along with table and chairs outside. Ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We needed a break from the daily grind. Drove to Cedar Key on SAT afternoon and arrived around 1pm. We cruised around town and decided this was the place to stay. We were initially attracted to this motel by the bright colors of the outside and furniture, the owners take pride in place, and also the lovely dock out back which is great for sunrise or sunset viewing. We settled in, and had a relaxing, peaceful weekend. If you stay at this charming place you will not want to leave. It's my new home away from home, and many Thanks to Raul and Teresa for being the best hosts. Will see you all again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I absolutly loved this motel to stay in it was definetly a great experiecne. I will definetly be returning. The service was great very friendly and welcoming. They would do anything to help you out if you had a problem with anything they do their best to solve it. The motel was very clean, nicely set up, and stocked well with your needs.( shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, towels, ect.) Also they have many things to rent such as ( bikes, kaykas, conoes, and golf carts ) for lower prices then average renting booths, i personally loved the bikes to cruise around instead of driving. Cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great if you need more space then i recommend maybe spending a little more money but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great place with not too many tourists, cedar key was quite a find for us. The staff at this motel is very nice, offers great advice on local restaurants and sights. You can rent a golf car at the motel and see the island, this is not only applicable for fat Americans, it was great for us vikings too! ;) Walking distance to everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gulf Side Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gulf Side Motel

Address: 552 1st Street, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Gulf Side Hotel Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gulf Side Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.