We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“publix now has the Tonys clam chowder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Seafood Restaurant

Tony's Seafood Restaurant
597 2nd St, P.O. Box 612, Cedar Key, FL 32625
352 543 0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Tony's in the beautiful island community of Cedar Key. We are located in the Hale Building (circa 1880) in the downtown historical district across the street from the historical museum at 2nd Street and SR 24. Tony's is noted for our 3 time World Champion Clam Chowder and our fresh seafoods. We are a small 54 seat restaurant and very popular. During peak times (1-3pm) and (7-8pm) there maybe a wait for a table. We provide covered bench seating right outside the front entry. Please be patient if all tables are taken. Our wait staff is great at getting everyone in, especially those that are patient. Our inside front dining area has no waiting area, so please allow us to visit you outside the front covered area when your table is ready. At Tony's our policy is total customer satisfaction. If there is anything about your dining experience that is not acceptable, please inform your server right away and our Management staff will do whatever it takes to make sure you are completely satisfied with your dining experience. We love compliments from our diners and always encourage them to contact us. Thank you for making Tony's Seafood Restaurant Cedar Key's favorite for nearly 8 years.
VILLAGES
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“publix now has the Tonys clam chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

just got a can and threw in 6 littlenecks... it was delicious ... a little too much pepper for some but i found it delicious..will definitely try it again...hope you add others to the line. yummy..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Yes indeed, Publix carries Tony's chowder now in ALL locations. We love Publix Supermarkets and recognize it as "THE BEST" supermarket in the World. Fitting to pair our world champion chowder with America's best place to shop.
Thank you for the review. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    215
    79
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best clam chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The clam chowder is the best we have ever eaten, this restaurant is a must if you go to Cedar Key. The staff were friendly, the food was good too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much! So glad you enjoyed your experience while dining at Tony's.
The chowder is our star and clearly you enjoyed it. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Had to try the champion New England clam chowder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Service was good clam chowder average. I had a side salad that was crisp and fresh. Very rustic atmosphere. Loud and annoying. Smelled weird.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
So sorry that you dined when we were maxed out. Hey, we are a small place so when a dining room full of happy folks get going, your going to notice the sound and maybe even some smells with so much confined to a small area. Were kind of trapped in a small location, that's 133 years old in a historical district where changes are not as easy and possible. If your looking for a Ritzy atmosphere, well it's just not going to happen here. We are what we are, yes rustic, but casual and by the way, lots of folks love us just the way we are. Thanks for the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Award winning Clam Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are visiting Cedar Key, FL you have to at least have a cup of Clam Chowder if nothing else. We heard about Tony's from another visitor after we had just eaten but we wanted to try this clam chowder that the locals were talking about... It was the best clam chowder I have ever had.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I really do so appreciate your visit to Tony's and the time to write this great review.
Your pleasant experience with my chowder makes all the long days and nights so worth while. I thank you very much and I hope you will return to Tony's again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wish I could give the service 6 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The clam chowder was so good that we ate at Tony's two nights in a row. Nettie was our waitress both nights and she was awesome. We asked if we could adopt her and take her back to NC with us. The key lime pie was the best I've had. We also had the seafood platter for two and it was so good. Loved Tony's!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Yes, we love Mrs. Nettie, who happens to also be Cedar Key's First Lady (wife of the Mayor). She is a great example of the level of customer service available at Tony's.
Friendly, knowledgeable, professional and the best part FUN. She makes dining here not only enjoyable with great food but fun with a smile. Thank you for the visit and the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.