We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clam chowder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Seafood Restaurant

Tony's Seafood Restaurant
597 2nd St, P.O. Box 612, Cedar Key, FL 32625
352 543 0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Tony's in the beautiful island community of Cedar Key. We are located in the Hale Building (circa 1880) in the downtown historical district across the street from the historical museum at 2nd Street and SR 24. Tony's is noted for our 3 time World Champion Clam Chowder and our fresh seafoods. We are a small 54 seat restaurant and very popular. During peak times (1-3pm) and (7-8pm) there maybe a wait for a table. We provide covered bench seating right outside the front entry. Please be patient if all tables are taken. Our wait staff is great at getting everyone in, especially those that are patient. Our inside front dining area has no waiting area, so please allow us to visit you outside the front covered area when your table is ready. At Tony's our policy is total customer satisfaction. If there is anything about your dining experience that is not acceptable, please inform your server right away and our Management staff will do whatever it takes to make sure you are completely satisfied with your dining experience. We love compliments from our diners and always encourage them to contact us. Thank you for making Tony's Seafood Restaurant Cedar Key's favorite for nearly 8 years.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great clam chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Tony's is famous for having won "best clam chowder" 3 years in a row and having their recipe retired. It is excellent clam chowder. I got the clam trio, which also had steamed clams and fried clam strips. It was all very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
So glad that you loved the chowder. Thank you very much. I appreciate your positive remarks. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    172
    66
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The clam chowder was excellent and so full of flavor...the best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The restaurant serves both lunch and dinner. Delicious. It's a great place to go and savor their seafood. It's a nice quaint place and the staff is friendly. I bought a can of the chowder to take home and I will certainly order it if I can't find it at Publix (They are selling to Publix). Definitely recommend a visit there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Much appreciated! Thank you so very much for coming to join us and enjoying your experience. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Great Clam Chowder"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were on our way to Panama City, FL and we thought we would stop in to try Tony's Seafood Restaurant. I had heard a great deal about Tony's from my friends and from the Internet. The World Champion Clam Chowder is what it claims to be. I had the clam chowder with a house salad for lunch and I enjoyed it very much. My wife had grilled shrimp on a skewer with a salad and she said hers was also very good. I have seen some previous reviews about the service quality and I can state that we had very good service with a friendly smile included. I have tasted a lot of clam chowder over the years and Tony's makes some of the best. It was thick with lots of clams and potatoes in it and it was seasoned very well. This is comparable to San Francisco clam chowder that I use to eat years ago when I lived on the west coast. Tony's is worth the effort!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much. I appreciate your kind remarks and your time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Came for Clams”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Tonys is in the middle of town and a well liked gathering place. They are proud of their clam chowder (cream based.) All four of our party got the clam trio (chowder, steamers, fried.) Clams are a local aqua culture crop in Cedar Key. They should be fresh as it gets! The chowder was a bit salty for my taste, but good. Steamers might have been a bit overcooked, and fried nuggets were good. Waitresses are friendly but on the slow side, so don't go if you're in a hurry. Overall we weren't blown away by the food, but we were satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
You came for clams and you got em. Lots of them. Cedar Key is known for it's clams and clam chowder. Every so often the chowder flavor profile is mistaken for salty.
It's a varied and intense blend of spices that some pallets can't discern. All that and those absent minded folks who instantly always salt and pepper foods before tasting and with our chowder that can really be an issue. Our chowder is ready to go, no need for salt, pepper or hot sauce. Even too many salty crackers can crank up the sodium. Thanks for the visit and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must See!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

You have to try their corn nuggets and their world winning clam chowder. They even have it to go or you can order it online! I had the teriyaki shrimp skewers which were pretty good. The waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about what to visit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for stopping in and then taking the time to send a review. Glad to know that you encourage others not to miss dropping into Tony's. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.