We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Seafood Restaurant

Tony's Seafood Restaurant
597 2nd St, P.O. Box 612, Cedar Key, FL 32625
352 543 0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Tony's in the beautiful island community of Cedar Key. We are located in the Hale Building (circa 1880) in the downtown historical district across the street from the historical museum at 2nd Street and SR 24. Tony's is noted for our 3 time World Champion Clam Chowder and our fresh seafoods. We are a small 54 seat restaurant and very popular. During peak times (1-3pm) and (7-8pm) there maybe a wait for a table. We provide covered bench seating right outside the front entry. Please be patient if all tables are taken. Our wait staff is great at getting everyone in, especially those that are patient. Our inside front dining area has no waiting area, so please allow us to visit you outside the front covered area when your table is ready. At Tony's our policy is total customer satisfaction. If there is anything about your dining experience that is not acceptable, please inform your server right away and our Management staff will do whatever it takes to make sure you are completely satisfied with your dining experience. We love compliments from our diners and always encourage them to contact us. Thank you for making Tony's Seafood Restaurant Cedar Key's favorite for nearly 8 years.
Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stopped by today for a late lunch. The restaurant is right on the main commercial street in Cedar Key and was not crowded when we got there about 2PM. We were seated quickly and our server was very friendly and helpful. My wife and I decided to have one of the lunch plates rather then a sandwich. I had the Fried Platter and she had Shrimp Trio. My Fried Platter was incredible. I had scallops, oysters and shrimp, and each was battered differently and tasted fresh and light. I'm not usually a fried seafood fan but I would have this again. My wife thought her fried shrimp was the best of her meal. I have to admit we also finished off with Key Lime Pie...and all was very good. We will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
So glad that you throughly enjoyed your lunch while dining at Tony's. Our seafood is second to none and it's the hallmark of what makes Tony's a must visit when in the area. Greatly appreciate your visit and your review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    215
    79
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Yes, great chowder, but that is it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We agree, excellent clam chowder (this is coming from Mainers). They add cayenne, which we liked, but for some, maybe too much of a bite. While the chowder is amazing, the rest of the food we had was mediocre, yet it is one of the priciest restaurants in Cedar Key. For example, the Newport salad had canned California black olives, canned pickled beets, and so forth. The shrimp were good, but too pricey. We loved the chowder so much we went back for lunch the next day and stuck to the chowder, but also got a side of fires, which were frozen and tasted freezer burned. So, all in all amazing chowder, but I would leave it at that. One more suggestion, order the water without ice as the ice tasted really bad (that old stale ice flavor).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the visit and your kind comments about our chowder. At least you found something that you enjoyed. As far as the rest, I'm wondering where I might find a olive tree or how I might plant beets to harvest for a salad. We prepare fresh everyday house and ranch dressings, cole slaw, potato salad, tarter sauce, cocktail sauce, chowder, the list goes on and on. Apparently you had to really try hard to find things that would warrant a iffy review. By the way, we truck in our ice from Gainesville Ice. No ice maker at Tony's. And lastly, read the comment from the diner just before this one. She said our prices are good as has the overwhelming majority. We will not compromise in quality for price. So sorry that your expectations could not be met. We will keep striving to give not only our best, but the best of what is available on the market today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“It really is the best clam chowder in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here off season for their clam chowder after reading a billboard ad for this restaurant. Tony's has won "the best clam chowder in the world" award for three years in a row, and it is well deserved. The chowder has a delicate "kick" to it that makes it unique and very flavorful. We loved it! The desserts are wonderful, too!!!! The server was very attentive and friendly. We will be back. Good prices, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
The chowder really shines everyday at Tony's and no doubt that you found it worthy of all the accolades. Thank you so much for confirming to the TA community that Tony's Chowder really is the best. I always appreciate feedback from folks, especially those who know what their talking about. And, thank for for pointing out that our prices are in line with the cost of fresh seafood. There are some out there that expect a Rolls Royce for the price of a Fiesta. That's unrealistic. We will keep bringing in only the best seafood available. That's the recipe for Tony's success.
Much Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best chowder I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I loved it, a little spicy and nice and thick with plenty of clams. Salad was very fresh. Hubby had a fish sandwich and there was plenty of fish. He also had the chowder but didn't think it was good as I did. I might just order some to have at home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
So glad that you found the chowder exceptional. Thank you for the very kind review and your visit to Tony's. Greatly appreciated. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat on Cedar Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ended up at Tony's for dinner twice during our stay at Cedar Key. We tried a number of restaurants and none even begin to compare. First of all, this restaurant is clean! The wait staff are friendly efficient and knowledgeable. The quality of the food is excellent. They give good value for the money.

Then there's the chowder. Tony's Famous Chowder competed with the Best of New England and was voted the best in the entire U.S. Try a bowl and you will quickly see why!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Much appreciated!! Thanks for telling the Trip Advisor community that you find Tony's the BEST!
We strive each day to give our best so we can be the best. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.