We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Seafood Restaurant

Tony's Seafood Restaurant
597 2nd St, P.O. Box 612, Cedar Key, FL 32625
352 543 0022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Tony's in the beautiful island community of Cedar Key. We are located in the Hale Building (circa 1880) in the downtown historical district across the street from the historical museum at 2nd Street and SR 24. Tony's is noted for our 3 time World Champion Clam Chowder and our fresh seafoods. We are a small 54 seat restaurant and very popular. During peak times (1-3pm) and (7-8pm) there maybe a wait for a table. We provide covered bench seating right outside the front entry. Please be patient if all tables are taken. Our wait staff is great at getting everyone in, especially those that are patient. Our inside front dining area has no waiting area, so please allow us to visit you outside the front covered area when your table is ready. At Tony's our policy is total customer satisfaction. If there is anything about your dining experience that is not acceptable, please inform your server right away and our Management staff will do whatever it takes to make sure you are completely satisfied with your dining experience. We love compliments from our diners and always encourage them to contact us. Thank you for making Tony's Seafood Restaurant Cedar Key's favorite for nearly 8 years.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was the first restaurant we stopped at when visiting Cedar Key. I had read some great reviews and thought it would ideal for lunch.
We saw a line of people waiting outside so my husband went in to add our name to the waiting list. He was told quite rudely by the Maître d' that there would be a wait of 'at least 45 minutes and he basically discouraged us from eating there.
Needless to say we were not interested in eating there and wouldn't stop in again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
How very unfortunate and I apologize. Perhaps there was some miscommunications of wait time. We do not have a Maitre d. Typical wait time can be 15 minutes depending on the size of the party. We offer benches right outside the door for folks to sit while waiting. It is so unfortunate that you chose to fire of a Trip Advisor "terrible" torpedo into Tony's hull out of frustration. Maybe that is because you are upset or jealous that so many others dined and rated us high and you did not allow yourself the chance because of a wait time. Whatever the reason, again I apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    172
    66
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, Uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A wonderful evening meal and we had to go back next day to sample the famous clam chowder.
We will return if only to purchase another tin of the chowder which we stupidly put in our hand luggage so it never made it to the UK. And this was after being told not to by the lady who sold it to us!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
What an absolute crying shame that the airport security crew grabbed your can of Tony's Chowder.
I'll bet we know what the security staff was eating in the employee break room for lunch that day??
Thank you so much for your desire to take Tony's Chowder international. Don't fret, we plan to invade the European market one day real soon. Maybe the Queen will get a cup and make a royal decree that the only chowder allowed in Buckingham Place is the World Champion Tony's from Cedar Key, Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice little historic seafood place, good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you like romantic, hole in the wall type places try it. The decor is plain ,little tables and chairs, nothing fancy but interesting nonetheless. A little expensive for the small amount of food you get , I thought ,but it is fresh and good. And the clam chowder, AWESOME!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for the visit and the great review. Yes, we are located in the Historic Hale Building circa 1880. A bit rustic, somewhat simple, but nevertheless the home of the 3 time World Champion Clam Chowder. I appreciate your taking the time to tell Trip Advisor followers you enjoyed your experience. Please return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder I have tasted...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very small, but wondeful restaurant. We have eaten here for years, and although the fried seafood is great, we really can not pass up the clam chowder. Don't miss this if you are in the area!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Your review is greatly appreciated. Your sentiments are supported by a very large group of people.
I'm so glad you liked my chowder. I'll keep making it and I hope you will return for more. If you can't come back anything soon order from our website. We will ship right to your door. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lineville, Alabama
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“There's a reason the were voted the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A 3 time winner of the the world's best clam chowder is not joke. It is the best! And the rest of the menu is just as good. Staff has always been helpful. Been coming to Tony's for several years and never disappointed. You can't miss it as you come into Cedar Key on highway 24, it's on the corner as you come into town. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef Eric J, Owner at Tony's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for this great review. Yes, indeed there is a reason we were voted the best. Many folks don't realize that the Great Chowder Cook-off is judged by the people. All 15,000
attendee's get to vote for the best. We are honored to be judged three straight years by mostly New Englanders as the best chowder and each year by a landslide. Your review is right on target.
Thanks for the visit. Please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tony's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.