We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hideaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages
13633 State Rd 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Cedar Key
HORTENSE
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We took a little weekend trip to Cedar Key and stayed at Pirates Cove. We booked last minute and stayed in Cabin #4. The bed was very comfortable and my husband wanted to bring the pillow home with us! Nice guy at the desk, informative and friendly. We enjoyed our night there very much. The only "issue" we had was the shower, it didn't put out much water, and it was kinda strange, hot in the center with cool mist on the outside, weird, but not really an issue.

Room Tip: Cottage number 4 has a screen porch that overlooks the bay, very nice to watch birds from. They als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very cute little place. Justin was very accommodating. Billy always greeted you in the morning. Our cottage needed a little bit of improvement (#3) Like a new mattress. Two nights of no sleep and sore backs. The A/C unit is right above your head. So with a new mattress and rearrange the room I would give the property a 5. Felt very safe in the room. It had everything you needed to cook even though we took a break from that. The place is old as is everything on the island so if you are looking for a 5 star resort do not go to Cedar Key..It is very very relaxing and easy to get around town.My biggest complaint about Cedar Key are the people who live there. They never smile and are so grumpy. Seems they don't like tourist at the restaurants. About 70% of the island is for sale...Not sure why. Not much to do on the island but we kayak so we had plenty to do. I would definitely go back to Cedar Key and I would stay at Pirates Cove. Thank you Justin for all your help on where to go and being so accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A very relaxing, comfortable cottage. We had a wonderful weekend for my wife's birthday. This was a clean convenient location. Don't miss breakfast at Kona Joe's. Have the waffle or the Blue Crab Quiche. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you want to relax and feel "right at home" this is the place for you. It is just the perfect setting.... Small and intimate, it sits on the back bay and is just beautiful. Several of the cottages have either open or screened porches that are bay view, but even if your cottage doesn't have it's "own" area to view the water, there is a big wonderful dock, full of lawn chairs and umbrellas that everyone can use. My husband and I actually got married on the dock three years ago! We just got back from our most recent visit today....hated to leave. My son and his fiancée are getting married in August and we have booked a cottage for them as a surprise honeymoon. For that matter, I'm ready to go back and we just got home today from our most recent visit!!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad cottages! Their website shows very accurate pictures of each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved our stay at pet friendly Pirates Cove. We found ourselves arriving later than we expected and Donna had everything all set up for us to settle in and then check in the next day. So accommodating. Justin was very friendly. The official greeter, Billy the Cat, made us feel right at home. Our cottage #1 was very clean and well stocked with everything you could possibly need. The weather was stormy at times, but we were comfortable. The lay out of the grounds allows you to be as social as you choose to be. We had a wonderful Saturday morning chat over coffee on our deck with new found friends while still in our PJ's. It was a highlight of our trip. It was interesting to read the ship's log where people journaled about their stay in Cedar Key.

Since Cedar Key is about 20 miles off of highway 19, we went grocery shopping in Chiefland beforehand. There are a few small grocery stores on the key. Next time I'll shop there instead.

We love Cedar Key. Over the years we've done many day trips, but decided to do a weekend this time. Now I can say we love Pirates Cove and will definitely do it again. Call ahead for reservations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy coming to Cedar Key and staying here. Love the view and the quiet relaxed atmosphere. It isn't the Taj Mahal, so if you like that kind of place, don't stay here! It's quaint and "real", real down home! The owner is fabulous too! Never a problem!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

What a cute place! The cottage we stayed in #7 was very spacious, was nicely set up with everything appliance and utensils, and had a view of the water. There was a screened porch just off the side of the cottage and the large deck beyond that also with a great water view. A great spot to hang out in the evening, and to watch the sun rise. Their staff person was very helpful and friendly. It is in a quiet location, but not far from other things. We walked a short (5 minute) and scenic way to a great breakfast place from there, it is a little drive from town, but only a couple of minutes. We enjoyed our stay immensely and we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages

Address: 13633 State Rd 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages Hotel Cedar Key
Pirates Cove Bayside Hotel
Pirates Cove Bayside Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pirates Cove Bayside Cottages to your Saves list