We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove

The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove
192 2nd Street, Cedar Key, FL 32625
352-543-6520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on a recommendation and what a disappointing experience. The atmosphere was nice since you are looking at beautiful Gulf and the service was not lacking. It was the food that I have a complaint about. We ordered the bruschetta...it was just ok. The Island salad seemed to have old romaine but the dressing was good. My husband had the grouper special and although the grouper itself was good, the rest was cold. I ordered the linguine with clams in a white wine and garlic sauce. The pasta was not linguine, it was spaghetti and the sauce was watery. The redeeming quality was the clams. Overall, the service is what saves this rating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    40
    19
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The only thing preventing me giving this restaurant a "Terrible" is the service was good. Of course, it really had no reason not to be since, it was very slow for a Saturday night. I ordered the crab cakes, which being on the coast should have been wonderful. Unfortunately, it was very hard to tell, because the crab cake was covered with a sauce with a very odd flavor. The side of broccoli was over cooked, and the potato dish also had an odd taste as well as texture. My husbands' steak was bland with no flavoring, and the Key Lime pie was perhaps the thinnest piece of pie I have ever seen - the filling couldn't have been over a 1/2 thick.
This was the by far the worst expensive meal I have ever had. I would definitely not give them a second chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in a tiny town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The dining room could use some polish but don't let the quaint interior put you off, this restaurant has a well-edited menu of delicious fare with a focus on locally sources produce a d seafood. I had mahi coated in pecans with a savory sherry cream sauce that was perfection. The waitstaff is friendly and eager to please.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service and fresh food prepared by a pro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The bartender "sugar" was a wonderful hostess. We ate here twice during the weekend and I would say it's one of the best restaurants in town. I recommend the mussels, oysters and amazing brunch served with homemade bread.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Disappointed this year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have always looked forward to visiting the Island Room on our annual visit to Cedar Key. However, after this year we have marked this restaurant off our list. The food was bland and the portion small and NOT worth the price. We had to ask for the complimentary bread other patrons were receiving. Our server had a major attitude. This is a 2-star restaurant pretending to be 4-star, and they need to get over themselves.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove also viewed

 

Been to The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Room Restaurant at Cedar Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.