We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Old Fenimore Mills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Fenimore Mill Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Fenimore Mill Condos
Save
You added Old Fenimore Mill Condos to your Saves list
P.O. Box 805, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Old Fenimore Mills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Stayed two nights on the way back to Tampa from vacation. I was born and raised in Florida and have been to most of the beaches. Cedar Key and Fenimore Mills are perfect together. Had our 3 girls with us 10, 9 and 6 and they loved our stay. From Fenimore you can walk to the beach, the brand new huge playground and all the water front shops and restaurants. You can also rent bikes to get around the island. Rented a boat one day and went island hopping with a picnic-great adventure. After boating, went back to Fenimore and the girls jumped in the pool while my husband and I enjoyed a drink. I f you like clam chowder, try Tony's-it really is fantastic (has a little spice to it.) Stayed in Unit 8B on the second level. This unit is beautifully decorated and has all the extras that you need. It is only a one bedroom with a pull-out couch but was still spacious enough for the 5 of us. Prices are so reasonable. GREAT views from the balconey!! Our family had breakfast outside both mornings- just beautiful! Seems like buildings 7,8,9 and 10 have the best views of gulf and marshes. SO MUCH wildlife to watch and so cool to see the tide come in! Other buildings have straight gulf view to the east-not quite as interesting. We loved the Fenimore so much we are actually thinking about buying a unit. Looked at about 6 units-that's why I know what the different views look like. It's easy to find the commercialized Florida beaches but hard to find "Old Florida". Cedar Key has the Old Florida and Old Fenimore Mills has all the amenities. Whether we buy or not, we will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Great location. Awesome views.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
22
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
deep south
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Just returned from a 5 day stay in Cedar Key at Old Fenimore Mill Condos. We were at the Sea Food Festival. Had a good time. Been there before and stayed once at Fenimore Mill. This time stayed at Unit 8B. Pleasant and well equipped. Arrived on Wednesday night and by Friday I had begun to itch on my arms and legs. Suspected bugs while fishing. By Saturday my arms and legs were covered and my wife began to itch. By the time we left on Monday, we were both covered with what we learned was FLEA BITES. The condo rental units appear to be pet friendly. Spoke to the manager on checkout and he didn't appear concerned but said he would call the exterminator. He said new laws prevent routine visits and he would call the exterminator.

Still itching. Don't know how to prevent something like this but certainly think that the management should make sure that they have an exterminator visit after each rental. Like the condos but am hesitant to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

My husand has survived cancer treatments so we gave ourselves a romantic weekend to celebrate LIFE AGAIN! We brought 30 of our nearest and dearest friends to help celebrate Tom's birthday. A lot of them had never been to Cedar Key, but are now converts! They loved it and are still talking about it and ready to go back again!

The facilities were great, lots of room and beautifully decorated. We didn't know that there was going to be a hot tub in our bath... or a loft above the bedroom, so that was an unexpected delight. We will be back!

Tom and Lynda Gayle

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

our whole family went. we rented four condo's had a great time. stayed for a week & shopped', the restaurants were great also.

  • Stayed July 1999
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

We stayed at Fenimore Mill last year and are going this weekend again. We plan to take friends for his 50th birthday next month. It is the perfect place to kick back and relax. The condos are decorated beautifully and have everything you could want. We like a weekend away where we feel like we are away from the rest of the world and this is the place. We park the car and walk as everything we need is within walking distance. The food is awesome we will be coming back for years to come.

Mitch & Barbara

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2003

Seafood Festival in Cedar Key is one of those events you have to experience at least once. Lots of people, lots of music, too many cars on the streets... but it was worth it! Word of advice: get your seafood (served in the park) early - they run out of most food by 1 pm! The clams - a huge plate for $5 is the best deal in town!

Staying at Old Fenimore Mill was great - it's far enough away from the traffic and festivities that you don't have constant noise, but close enough that you can walk back for a break from the excitement. We'd expected it to be noisy, it was an oasis of peace in a little town gone mad for the festival. Fenimore was completely booked, but the pool was nearly empty, the dock was ready for fishing (sea trout!), and few people wandered the beach. We ate in to avoid the crowds at the restaurants and had a wonderful time.

We'll be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2003

Fenimore Mill is a great place to kick back and watch the world go by.
But there's not a whole lot going by - birds, fisherman, clam boats, tourists, clouds. There are 10 buildings with 6 condos in each. There's a private fishing dock. There's a pool and a spa. The town has good eats, boat rentals, golf cart rentals. The condos are nice - decorated by taste of each owner.

We like to fish - went out with one of the local captains and caught our limit in Grouper. Caught some redfish off the dock and called it a success. You will too, whatever your pleasure...

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Fenimore Mill Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Fenimore Mill Condos

Address: P.O. Box 805, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Old Fenimore Mill Condos Hotel Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Fenimore Mill Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.