We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay in Cedar Key!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faraway Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faraway Inn
Save
You added Faraway Inn to your Saves list
847 Third Street, PO Box 370, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay in Cedar Key!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Great location! We loved that kayaks, canoes, bicycles were all included in room rate! The place is located just across the street from the water! My husband loved tying up his bait bucket to a pole in the water and then we would sit on their swings & he could still keep an eye on his fishing poles bobber! A lazy mans fishing! lol...Oh, we also rented golf carts there, Great way to see the town!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. So glad you took advantage of our amenities (bikes, canoes, kayaks) as it is truly the best way to explore Cedar Key. Also glad you rented one of our bright yellow golf cart to explore. Next visit maybe think about seeing the island by air, on weekends there are plane rides offered at the Cedar Key air-strip for a great price. We look forward to your return visit and hope that you tell your friends about Cedar Key and Faraway Inn. Peace, Happiness and Health,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/inn-keepers since November 2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    44
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
104
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers. Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having 2 old dogs we chose the Faraway Inn because it is dog friendly. We stayed in cabin 1, and cabin 3. We couldn't have enjoyed it more although cabin 1 had a view that was spectacular.
We rented a golf cart and rode around this beautiful island. Whimsical and artsy abounds.
My only suggestion is bring food because the restaurant options have limited times.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We love when our guests bring their best friends on vacation with them. Glad you enjoyed our cottages/cabins.
It is wise to bring some food and drinks especially if you have a full kitchen as our cottages do. The island restaurants do stop serving at about 8:45pmish and 10pmish on weekends, sometimes earlier during slower season. Since all of our units are equipped with a minimum of refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and two pre-packaged coffees you can store food/snacks/drinks in any of Faraway Inn's units.
We sure look forward to your return visit. Tell your friends with pets that they have a place to vacation which does not discriminate against breed, size or species (cat, dog, bird, lizard, bunny, etc.) " We love them all big and small".
Peace, Health Happiness and Woofs
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/inn-keepers since November 2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

To sit and enjoy what we all take for granted a simple beautiful sunset and sounds of the water lapping against the shoreline, pure and peaceful.Take the time to explore all around by foot, bike, car and feel the peaceful atmosphere and then splurge on great fresh seafood.

Room Tip: all rooms are great and have excess to go sit and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are so glad that you had what sounds to be a peaceful, relaxing and energizing get-a-way. Out of all the reviews written on Tripadvisor this one is the simplest and purest I have ever had the pleasure of reading. You completely grasp the magic Cedar Key has to offer.
Peace, Health, Happiness,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/inn-keepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the Faraway Inn for two nights in April. Overall, we had a fine experience. The staff and owner were friendly, enthusiastic, and helpful. The inn is across the street from the water and a few minutes walk from downtown. The efficiency (#9) was small but clean and nicely decorated. The grounds around the accommodations are filled with unique artifacts. The only drawback for me at 6'1" is that the double bed was a bit short. Cedar Key is an interesting area and the Faraway Inn is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Cedar Key and our Faraway Inn. We do try very hard to make sure that our guests are happy and comfortable as we possibly can. Please keep in mind that our motel was built in the late 40's. American family owned mom and pop motels are a rare breed in todays world and we are thankful for you choosing us. We try to show photos on our website and give as accurate descriptions as we can of our units. Our beds are either queen size or full size regular lengths, we do not have extra long beds as they would not fit into our units. We do hope that you choose to visit Cedar Key again and that you choose Faraway Inn again.
Respectfully,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/inn-keepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Quaint cottage with a gulf view; enjoyed a beautiful sunset sipping wine on a beautiful April evening. The staff was hospitable and the complimentary use of bicycles, canoes and kayaks to guests was a bonus. Enjoyed a peaceful swing overlooking the gulf on a clear night after walking back from a wonderful dinner at Tony's. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the quaintness of our cottage and that you took the opportunity to use our free bikes and kayaks to explore the island. We sure look forward to having you visit Cedar Key again and hope you choose our Faraway Inn again also.
Health, Happiness and Peace,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/in-keepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband & I have been coming to cedar key for our wedding anniversary every year (this will be our 3rd year). We have a boat & a dog and the Faraway Inn is THE BEST place to stay in town. Best sunset area and great place (right across the street) to launch kayaks & canoes. Great price. We park our car and never move it again, easy to walk or ride bikes to "downtown". Can't beat it! Yes, it's a quiet, sleepy town..... But that's what we love about it!! Faraway inn has efficiencies that we stay in, we bring food & drinks & cook on the stove or out on the grills. Can't say enough about it!! We love it and will continue to come back!

Room Tip: Restaurants are typically only open on weekends. BRING FOOD WITH YOU! And stay in a room that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so very much for your praises. We are so pleased that you enjoy your stay at Faraway Inn and thank you for choosing us to Celebrate your Anniversary. We sure hoped you helped yourself to some of the freebies we have for our guests in the office (boat floats key rings, postcards, pens, pads, backscratchers).
We love when our guests bring their bests friends along on vacation. We all look forward to your next visit and promise to keep it fresh, friendly and fun as always.
Peace, Health, Happiness,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/inn-keepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Once we found the faraway inn 13 years ago we have been back every year. We have travelled most of Florida and this is the smallest, old Florida town you can get. And the faraway is perfect. The location is amazing right across from the water. We haven't found any other places so cute and affordable on the water. Staff is friendly and helpful. Owners made us feel like family on our first visit. Wish it wasn't so far from our home state so we could go more than once a year.

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they have many room types, something will meet your needs. The cottages are my favori...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins are throughout the property for guests convenience.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for once again taking the time to write a review. You both have been great guests/friends for so many years now. If it were not for Faraway Inn we would never have met you both. We look forward each year to your stay. Our apologies that there were issues posting your review. We have been experiencing some issues with guests posts not being allowed. We appreciate the fact that you still posted a review considering your numerous attempts for it to be approved and posted. We promise to keep Faraway Inn the same friendly, accommodating, pet friendly and clean place that you have grown to love and enjoy. We look forward to your yearly Cedar Key and Faraway Inn visit.
Health, Happiness and Prosperity,
Doreen and Oliver Bauer owners/inn-keepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faraway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Inn

Address: 847 Third Street, PO Box 370, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy free use of canoes,kayaks, bicycles, grills, wifi, movies, books, games and more. Golf cart rentals available for our guests. We are located in a residential area within a 5 minute walk to down town and Dock Street. We are very pet friendly with no size or breed restrictions on dogs. We have ample boat parking/rinsing on site. Clean, comfortable, ground floor motel units and cottages equipped with a minimum of fridge, micro, coffee maker, toaster, cable, heat/air/fans. All pets are welcome as long as their humans are well behaved. Your stay helps to support mom and pop business and four local households and our community volunteer Trap Neuter Return program. Thank you for viewing our site and considering your stay with us. Faraway Inn was built in the early 1950's on the original site of the 19th Century Eagle Pencil Company Cedar Mill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Hotel Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faraway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.