We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faraway Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faraway Inn
Save
You added Faraway Inn to your Saves list
847 Third Street, PO Box 370, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have never stayed in a more comfortable, cozy and friendly place. Definitely THE place to stay in Cedar keys. We stayed there for their annual Pirate Fest and they went out of their way to make our stay memorable and easy and very much welcome. Won't be hard to find me next years event, I will be RIGHT here for the 3 days. :) Pet friendly, too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I am so sorry for my delayed response to your review. We had to resolve an account issue with Tripadvisor and could not access our account until now.
We absolutely loved having you and your lovely wench and sweet handsome doggy stay with us. We so wished we had a bigger unit for you. We know it must have been a little difficult with your pirate costumes to get ready. You folks were so very cool in your roles as pirates. We were so fortunate to have had you stay with us. We missed seeing you during the Pirate Festival due to some unforeseen business issues we needed to tend to. I so look forward to next years Pirate Festival and getting to enjoy more of it. We certainly hope that you stay with us again for the 2014 Cedar Key Pirates Festival.
Your Matey's Always,
Doreen (Dee Dee Death) and Oliver (Dirk the Red)
Wendy
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    49
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
41
118
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I can't say one single negative word about this place, or the Key. My husband and I have stayed here numerous times with our little puppy and find it to be the most fabulous place on Cedar Key. Every room is spacious and the staff is friendly and they go above board to make sure you have the best they offer. Bell loves the cookies and towels you provide after a day of boating and she appreciated the life preserver you offered for free too! I love how 'green' you are and exploring your grounds gave me more appreciation for the Key. I really like that you now offer golf carts so we can explore everywhere and find that perfect spot for us to purchase so we can become pirates in a new place =). Thank you, Faraway Inn for the perfect place to unwind and relax to the rhythms of the Island. We love you!

Green Features: Green all the way! They educate you on all of their amenities.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
So sorry for the long delay in responding to your review. We had a small Tripadvisor account issue to resolve and could not access our reviews until it was resolved. All is finally resolved.
We are always so pleased to have you have be our special guests at Faraway Inn. We absolutely love when travelers bring their best friends with them. Next year we hope to bring back the doggy bandanas for our 4 legged friends to walk out in style. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the addition of our bright yellow rental golf carts. Most of all we hope Bell enjoyed carting around with mom and dad. You are not only guests but part of the Cedar Key Pirate in Paradise and matey's are always welcome, arrgh! Remember when you spend your booty at Faraway Inn we always share the stash around around our community through volunteer work or purchasing locally.
Approved Pirate Purveyors,
Doreen and Oliver
Wendy
Steve
Turtle (office kitty and owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've been going to Faraway Inn for about 10 years, had my marriage there in 08 and now it's OUR favorite place to come and unwind, get-away and be at peace. We can bring our kitty & she enjoys the stay nearly as much as we do. Doreen & Oliver now have some super (I call them bumble bees) golf carts available to patrons of the Inn and tootling around cedar key this way is fun and we see everything birds eye! Love the way Steve & Wendy keep the Inn pristine and Doreen & Oliver are always improving on what is so already nice! Renovations are taking place now too! Our Fav place to eat out is Blue Desert. Quaint and hone cooked meals make it easy to go back! We try to get there to CK & FAI at least 5x a year. Never enough!

Room Tip: The cabins are roomy & have a feel of home far away!
See more room tips
Green Features: Extreme green and environmental practices. They recycle, don't over do the laundry but clean is always available. We enjoy helping the recycling on the island.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Sorry for the long delay in responding back to your review we had a Tripadvisor account issue to get corrected and I could not access our account until now.
You guys are awesome and one of our regular and very special guests. I often see the photos I took of your wedding at Faraway Inn when scrolling through my computer pictures. You will always remain a part of Faraway Inn in a physical and spiritual way. We are glad you enjoyed riding around in one of our new bright yellow bumble bee golf carts. You are one of a few folks who bring their best friend kitty cat and we just love that! We Love You!
Doreen & Oliver & Turtle (office kitty)
Wendy
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Is An Older But Well Kept Small, Cabin Style, Motel. When Making Reservations We Told Them Of Our Three Small Dogs. Upon Arrival There Were Three Small "Dog Towels" With Milk Bones On Display. The Cabin Was Nicely Appointed And The Staff More Than Friendly. We Will Most Definitely Be Coming Back. For Any Travelers With Pets, I Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: For Families Of Three Or More, Get The Efficiency Style Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Apologies for not responding to you review sooner we had an unforeseen issue with our Tripadvisor business account and all is working correctly now.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable and taken care of. The Inn was originally built about 1948. We have been here since November 2000. We are animal people so we know the importance of making your babies feel at home too. We look forward to your return visit and thank you for your highly pet friendly comment. My husband and I also Trap and have neutered/spayed/vaccinated our island strays/feral cats and have now had 898 cats neutered since October 2006. When you stay at Faraway Inn you also help to support our volunteer community work. Thank you so much!
Peace Happiness and Health,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/innkeepers


This Is An Older But Well Kept Small, Cabin Style, Motel. When Making Reservations We Told Them Of Our Three Small Dogs. Upon Arrival There Were Three Small "Dog Towels" With Milk Bones On Display. The Cabin Was Nicely Appointed And The Staff More Than Friendly. We Will Most Definitely Be Coming Back. For Any Travelers With Pets, I Highly Recommend.

Room Tip: For Families Of Three Or More, Get The Efficiency Style
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Pleasant, courteous staff willing to do what they can to make your stay memorable, beautiful rooms, great locations for sunset, earth friendly, walking distance to everywhere in town no more than 5 to 10 minutes. They have canoes, kayaks and bicycles to use for FREE, also very pet FRIENDLY. Will be going back soon. Loved it. We stayed in the smallest room and it was very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Faraway Inn and that our staff was able to assist in making your vacation a little nicer. We love the pets and we know that they are our best friends. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you for taking the time to use Tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
Doreen and Oliver Bauer owners/innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff here are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are ok. Rooms are Basically clean, small, not luxurious but they will do. Seemed a bit expensive for what you get--a double bed in our case with a tiny bathroom, wall AC unit, low-hanging fan. But I don't begrudge them the cost since it looks like they need every cent to keep this place running. I guess the trouble is Cedar Key itself. If you have ever been anywhere nice, you might not like it so much. It's great if you like fishing, but if you don't there's not much to do. We ended up checking out early, not because of the Inn, but just because we realized our own backyard is nicer and has more relaxation and charm than all of Cedar Key. But the lodging here is ok and I guess if you have to go to Cedar Key, it would be a safe place to stay. The kayaks are convenient if you wanna try them out.

Room Tip: These rooms are all clustered close together. Parking is tight. Bring ear plugs and extra pillows...
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't like the policy of having to ask someone to enter and make up the bed or straighten out the room. That should be standard. Saving towels and reusing them is fine, as most hotels do that, but they also generally clean the rooms without you having to make a special request.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInnCedarKey, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly. Faraway Inn was built in the late 40's and what we claim to be is an experience in old Florida lifestyle. Back then ceilings were much lower, a/c wall units were the normal, bathrooms were small and beds were typically smaller. Our units have lots of local history and personal gift items given to us by guests incorporated inside them. One of the local business owners grew up in the unit you stayed in as her family first began building the motel in 1948 when she was a child. The cost of our room rates are including the canoes, kayaks, bicycles, grills, pavilion swings with Gulf view, coffees, movies and books in the office. If you did take advantage of these amenities we feel our rates are very good but if you did not use the free amenities then maybe you might feel we are a bit expensive for your taste. Cedar Key is not for every visitor. There is lots to do in our area but is it all nature based and boat related. Our 13 barrier islands are beautiful and all part of the National Wildlife Refuge. Cedar Key has 2 small but very interesting local museums and many other simple indoor/outdoor things to do. If a traveler is looking for more upscale entertainment, local amenities and accommodations I can see how Cedar Key many not be your cup of tea.
We are so sorry you had such a negative experience while visiting our small island community.
We wish we could make improvements based on your room tips but we already put 4 fluffy pillows on every bed. Our parking area is as large as we can get as we are already on a half of a city block of land which is huge for Cedar Key. We can accommodate boats and pontoons. You may have enjoyed one of our cottages which are stand alone little houses instead of being in one of our motel style units connected to other units.
Again, we are so sorry we were not your kind of vacation spot but at least you tried it.
Respectfully,
Doreen and Oliver Bauer owners/innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After hearing of jellyfish on the East Coast, we began a search for something at Cedar Key, a place we'd talked of visiting. The Faraway Inn came up in our searches, and we made the reservation, not knowing exactly what to expect. We were only there for one night, so we didn't have time for much exploring. But sitting in the swing overlooking the water was a relaxing treat. The room was cozy, tiny in fact, but it had everything we needed. The bed was comfy although small (a double) and the towels were large and fluffy. Our shih tzu was welcomed with her own towel and treats - another plus. We didn't get to try the free bikes, kayaks and canoes - maybe next time. The people were super friendly. The location is great. The Ritz is isn't, but it's a clean, comfortable, laid-back sort of place where you can sit back and enjoy peace and quiet. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarawayInn, Owner at Faraway Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Though your trip was brief we are pleased that you found relaxation under our pavilion on the porch swings overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. We love the fact you brought your pet and we are very pet friendly at Faraway Inn. We are pleased you found the room to be clean and are actually going to be replacing all furnishings in these units to a rustic pine motif. Our lesser expensive rooms are on the smaller side but do come equipped with all your basic needs and by no means are we comparable to the Ritz. Thank you for the towel comment because we just can not purchase those thin white hard towels most motels use. You will need to come back and I would suggest one of our Gulf View Units or Cottages. We have some great specials for September through January, so take advantage and see what Cedar Key is really all about. You need to enjoy our free use canoes, kayaks and bikes next time and explore the island.
Respectfully and Enjoy a Safe Labor Day Weekend,
Doreen & Oliver Bauer owners/innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#5 of 6 in Cedar Key
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
#10 of 11 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Jupiter at Harbourside Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Inn

Address: 847 Third Street, PO Box 370, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy free use of canoes,kayaks, bicycles, grills, wifi, movies, books, games and more. Golf cart rentals available for our guests. We are located in a residential area within a 5 minute walk to down town and Dock Street. We are very pet friendly with no size or breed restrictions on dogs. We have ample boat parking/rinsing on site. Clean, comfortable, ground floor motel units and cottages equipped with a minimum of fridge, micro, coffee maker, toaster, cable, heat/air/fans. All pets are welcome as long as their humans are well behaved. Your stay helps to support mom and pop business and four local households and our community volunteer Trap Neuter Return program. Thank you for viewing our site and considering your stay with us. Faraway Inn was built in the early 1950's on the original site of the 19th Century Eagle Pencil Company Cedar Mill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Hotel Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faraway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.