We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rest of the world just melts away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faraway Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faraway Inn
847 Third Street, PO Box 370, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Cedar Key
East Ridge, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The rest of the world just melts away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you are looking to relax and slow down.. Faraway Inn and Cedar Key is the place! This was our second time in two months staying at Faraway Inn. We LOVE IT! The cottage was clean and comfortable with "Old Florida" charm. The kitchen was perfect for making our own meals to save some money. They even have a nice grill as well as a smoker and fish cleaning station (for your catch of the day;) and you can help yourself to their little herb garden!!! The people at Faraway are just wonderful, so accommodating and VERY PET FRIENDLY(my babies were treated like royalty)! But I think our favorite part is the patio area that over looks the gulf with the most peaceful sunsets! I predict we will return and as often as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    40
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
87
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stoped in Cedar Key for one night on our way back from the Florida Panhandle. We had been to Cedar Key previously but had always stayed in a condo since our stay had been longer. But we found Faraway Inn to be quite comfortable and well located. We had a cottage overlooking the sound and the community chairs. It was delightful to sit a sunset and talk to other travelers. The cottages are prepared for long term stays with kitchenette facilities.
We did not bring our dog, but this place is very dog friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Quaint little motel with plenty of charm. The atmosphere was relaxing, and the room was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Plenty of amenities, wish we could have stayed longer to make use of the bikes and kayaks.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the gulf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

These are the cutest cabins ever! We stayed in #1 and truly enjoyed it. A lot of cabins in other locations have a mish-mash of dishes & plates; not so here. Everything is nicely done. Rooms 10, 11, & 12 have murals either on the wall or on the ceiling; a lot of the buildings have paintings on them. Someone spent a lot of time doing this & it is all very nicely done and very welcoming. The beds are comfortable, the rooms were spotless. They have free use of bikes, canoes, and kayaks. They have several porch swings to sit in to simply watch the water. The Faraway Inn is across the street from the Gulf with unobstructed views. Keep in mind, however, that it is not a swimming beach. Due to oyster beds & mud flats, there is not really any beaches in Cedar Key; the one near Dock Street seems to be more of a dog beach. Some of the locals told us they boat to the nearby islands to swim; you can charter a boat to take you to one of them. Golf carts are allowed on the streets and are a fun way to see this small island. There are 3 places to rent them; be wise & spend the extra money to rent a golf cart at the townhouses near the corner of Dock and Second Streets. It is twice the price of others that can be had for $25.00 all day, but oooweee - that's what we rented & it was a mistake. The first one didn't have working brakes so we took it back, the second one had great brakes but very little steering. Anyways, the town is cute and the staff and accommodations at Faraway Inn are fantastic.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has great views of the Gulf as do rooms 10, 11, and 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there with a friend on a motorcycle ride, we were both very impressed with the accommodations. It is such a quaint place. Friendly owners.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

What a lovely homely motel. On a road trip through Florida we pulled into Cedar Key for two days. Julie at the front desk was so help full with reservation, tour of the property and local information. We stayed in one of the motel rooms, small but had everything. It is a through back to the '50s style with modern facilities and super staff. highly recommended.
quinner

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our dog for a long weekend. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters and really enjoyed this place. The staff is super friendly and knows everyone who is staying there by name. Our rooms were spacious and we really loved having a full kitchen. The staff is also very pet-friendly and constantly pampered our dog. The location is awesome. We parked our car when we arrived and did not use it again until we left. We loved the swings under the covered pavilion facing the Gulf. I would highly recommend this place and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Faraway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Inn

Address: 847 Third Street, PO Box 370, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy free use of canoes,kayaks, bicycles, grills, wifi, movies, books, games and more. Golf cart rentals available for our guests. We are located in a residential area within a 5 minute walk to down town and Dock Street. We are very pet friendly with no size or breed restrictions on dogs. We have ample boat parking/rinsing on site. Clean, comfortable, ground floor motel units and cottages equipped with a minimum of fridge, micro, coffee maker, toaster, cable, heat/air/fans. All pets are welcome as long as their humans are well behaved. Your stay helps to support mom and pop business and four local households and our community volunteer Trap Neuter Return program. Thank you for viewing our site and considering your stay with us. Faraway Inn was built in the early 1950's on the original site of the 19th Century Eagle Pencil Company Cedar Mill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Hotel Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faraway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Faraway Inn to your Saves list