We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Tours

Tidewater Tours
#4 Dock Street, Cedar Key City Marina, Cedar Key, FL 32625-4742
352-543-9523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Activities in Cedar Key
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer Tours and Rentals that will meet all your boating needs in Cedar Key. USCG inspected vessels to carry more than six passengers. Airboat Rides in the tidal marsh. Suwannee River trips that contrast the salt water habitat to the fresh water. Birding tours that identify all the varieties of species. Island Tours are offered daily to share the Cedar Key Wildlife Refuge barrier islands and history of the area. Come join us for a relaxing and educational boat tour.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Captain Doug is a wonderful tour guide and has a lot of knowledge of the history of Cedar Key. Take the sunset tour for great pictures!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A magical experience for bird lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Captain Doug knows these waters like the palm of his hand, and clearly loves visiting the birds in their natural setting. He is very knowledgeable about the ecosystem and his explanations are clear and detailed without being pedantic. This is a great time for a visit, as there are still lots of winter birds and some of them are beginning to have their courting colors. Try to sit near the back on the right side -- you can hear Captain Doug more clearly and in most of the approaches to the birds they were on the right.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to see the manatees in Crystal River, but we also wanted to have a boat trip in Ceday Key. The village is very small and quite and had a couple of companies that does the boat trips to the islands, but I would recommend Captain Doug Boat. The are super friendly and replied to all my concerns regarding my 9 month baby.  She has to wear a life jacket for security reasons, but she was fine.  The trip takes 2 hours and stops 30m in one of the islands. We saw a couple of dolphins, which was really cool!! The all trip is narrated by the captain that will give a god explanation about the nature, animals and birds. We also see loads of pelicans and many different birds, as this was nesting season (from March to June) many of them where on the beach on the islands. Definitely will recommend!! 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We took the sunset tour & were pleased to see a lot of dolphins. The Captain & First Mate were well informed and shared information about the various islands around Cedar Key. It was not a full boat so we were able to bring our dog. The tour is definitely worth doing.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Tour of the Waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great overview of the area from the water ... good history & wildlife lessons. Good value.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidewater Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tidewater Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.