We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great view, cold beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steamers Clam Bar & Grill

Steamers Clam Bar & Grill
420 Dock Street, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5168
3525435142
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Cedar Key
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, cold beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We enjoy the view from this restaurant (its been various names in the past years), the food is good under Steamers management, staff is always great. Beer is always cold. Easy to sit back and have a few here and watch the water any time of day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    116
    56
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Key
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Love the Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We usually go to Steamers a couple of times a month as we live on the island. My favorite meal is the fish and chips. A couple of times in the past the fish batter was a little greasy but this last meal on Friday night or maybe Saturday night was excellent. My husband had the blackened grouper sandwich and was very pleased except for the onion rings which were soggy. Our appetizer was the hot chips and cheese dip, the chips could have been a bit crispier as some were a little soft. Our server was wonderful and very pleasant. The live music was fantastic. Every time we have been to Steamers and there was live music it is always very good bands and solo artists. I am addicted to the fish and chips (fries). Fish is a nice size piece of Haddock.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Local Fare and Flair with Terrific Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

On a whim, we took in lunch at Steamers. We sat out on the porch that overlooks the pier and Gulf - incredible location, particularly since the restaurant is two stories up (note that we didn't see an elevator - so call ahead if ambulatory issues exist).

The seafood was fresh, well seasoned, and tasty. Not all of it was local, but the raw oysters seemed to be from right down the road. Our kids had lobster Mac and Cheese...the parents ate the lobster, of course. And the parents also recommend the beer sampler, though the local craft beers were poor picks on their part (who knew beer could taste floral?)

Worth the drive and prices were within expectation for waterfront dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
“Great Clams & Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The waitress was the only one on the floor for the night. The management needs more staff so customers do not have to wait. The clams were yummy and enjoyed the beer sampler. Oysters were just OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Steamers... Needs help.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed in my 2nd visit here. The gal behind the bar is a joke. We sat at a dirty bar and waited 10 minutes for a wipe down. This bar seats 24, and there were 6 people seated. This gal acted like she was in the weeds. What she was is a deer in the headlights... And ZERO personality. Turned her back to us the entire time and disappeared for10 minute spurts. Never once asked if we "needed " anything. No silverware no napkins. "Kirsty" needs to find other employment. Sorry Steamers... Love the clams.. Staff is terrible.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamers Clam Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Steamers Clam Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamers Clam Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.