We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Meal Was Much Different Than The Previous One” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery - CLOSED

The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery
360A Dock Street, The Upper Deck, Cedar Key, FL 32625-5166
+1 352-543-5184
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“This Meal Was Much Different Than The Previous One”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We originally lunched at the Pickled Pelican back in March of 2012, what a difference eight months makes. Our first meal there was good, well prepared and plentiful. We enjoyed that meal last time so much we ordered several of the same items. An order of mozzarella sticks to start, a bowl of crab bisque for me and a medium rare cheeseburger for my husband. The order of mozzarella sticks was so overcooked that all of the cheese was gone in most of them (I imagine into the bottom of the deep fryer) and we were presented with a dish full of hollow breading. We left the rest and showed the waitress. She offered to get us some more, we declined, figuring we would certainly enjoy the remainder of our meal. Next came the "Cold" Crab Bisque (which had to be sent back to the kitchen to be warmed up) and my husbands very well done cheeseburger (although he had ordered medium rare). We were so disappointed. And this place is not cheap. We thought maybe they would give us a break on the bill since we experienced so many problems. They did not.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    72
    36
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for drinks at sundown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After a hard day's hauling spotted trout out of the Gulf, we popped in for pre-dinner drinks while while watched the sun set over this idyllic bit of Florida. One drink became two and we allowed the charming girls to charm us into a light snack.
They prepared wings with a kick-[--] sauce that lit the fires and demanded a cooling refill.
The Pickled Pelican is one of a number of eateries on the Dock that share the view over to Atsena Otie. They all have a slightly tired, ramshackle appearance, but that is part of the appeal of Cedar Key. Give them a go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lineville, Alabama
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice view and average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Have always loved the view from their deck and the food is good enough to keep us coming back. The local clams are always a good choice and you can;t go wrong with the shrimp Poboy. They don't always have enough fish at lunch though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Best on the Dock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My first time here was excellent and not a fluke, since my next visit was equally as good. Food is delivered fresh, fast, and hot. Great indoor seating but the outdoor deck, high above the water and the bustle of the pier is the best. Great views, nice relaxing atmosphere, not too noisy, just right.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great View, Ok Food, High Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It seems that the menu prices are higher than when we last visited (or were the portions just smaller?). The view is great if you can grab a table overlooking the water. However, be prepared to spend a fair amount of money for average seafood- nothing special, but average. While the burgers are reasonable (8.99), the salads are pricy, and the seafood dishes even more so.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Pelican Bar and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.