We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very quite. Priced right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaids Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mermaids Landing
12685 State Road 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice, very quite. Priced right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I've stayed here several times and have had a great time, whether by myself or with friends! It's much quieter and more reasonable than anywhere downtown. The "quaintness" makes them unique. Although they've got lots of age, that's what Cedar Key is all about. If you want to be on the water, close enough to walk to town, and don't need all the comforts of a newer, better equipped place, these are fine.
Mindset is everything. I'd rather have Silver Springs, Wiki-Watchie, the OLD Cypress Gardens, and the OLD Bush Gardens, than the new-fangled state-of-the-art, ultra-expensive Florida, but that's just me. Enjoy it while you can folks, "old" Florida is disappearing fast!

Room Tip: They're all somewhat different. Better call ahead, they fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san fran
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

maybe the owners think a pet friendly operation isnt worth rehabbing....but these cabins need to be stripped to the frame and totally rebuilt. They have a cement foundation so it could be done. They are completely wasted ,rotten wood, air gaps,exposed wiring, absurd work quality
in regards to patching grout,window caulk,etc. Whoever is doing the structural patching is flat out incompetent. Ridiculous new framing nailed onto existing roof shingles, Romex running along the ground, dog fleas in the attics etc. Owners, shutdown 1 cabin a year and gut it and do it right. Otherwise sell the place. You dont have what it takes to run a motel.

Room Tip: look at a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starke, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Myself and 2 of my girl friends decided we needed a vacation away from the every day stress, we looked up hotels around the Cedar Key area and found the Mermaids Landing, looked to be the perfect place for piece and quiet. When we get there, we were greeted by a friendly woman, who took one look at the 3 of us and said, well the cabin you booked is ok for 3 people but it may not be as comfortable as one of our other cabins. So she gave us a tour, and she was right, it wasn't going to work for us, so she was nice enough to give us another cabin at the same rate as the original. Very nice people and oh my, the views from cabin 3 and 4 are spectacular!! As other reviews have said though, the rooms are quite rustic but for us, it was all part of the charm.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms before booking, as there are many different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

After five stays in this charming establishment I have finally decided to share it with others. Truly old time Florida. Situated directly on the salt marsh, I have spent countless hours on the deck or porch (depending on which cottage I rent) watching herons hunt and capture their dinner, a flock of white pelicans cruise the current, crabs scuttle across the shore, roseate spoonbills, wood storks, and, one memorable night, 13 satellites cross the astonishingly clear night sky. Each cottage is unique--we love to play find the mermaid in the decor! The owner/manager is always available for suggestions or advice on what to do. This is NOT a "disneyfied" Florida vacation spot. Time moves more slowly and simply. If you want to return to a more innocent, carefree time, this is the perfect spot. "Downtown" Cedar Key is a short 5-10 minute walk if you have forgotten anything or need another bottle of wine, but mostly just kick off your shoes, relax on a porch or deck and feel your blood pressure go down and your stress level disappear.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage with the deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We went with 3 children stayed in cabin 5 it was very cozy and clean! We are staying again this time brining friends! The price is right and great location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We loved this place. We stayed in no. 4, which opened out onto our own private dock, complete with loungers. We like wildlife and spent ages watching the birdlife and the fiddler crabs from the dock. Donna, who was looking after the place while Cathy was on holiday was very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you, but , if you like wildlife and tranquility and don't mind basic, but clean accommodation, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Floorida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Just so you know what you are getting, the hotel/cabanas were probably built in the 50's and are of wood frame construction. They are dated but clean. We stayed in #9 & #10.

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with a very good location, have pets, and are not picky, this is your place. If you have no interest in a place that the floor creak and with water stains in the ceiling, then stay elsewhere. The place is worn but sturdy. There is no telling how many hurricanes this place has weathered out. The beds were average.

Several places to eat within walking distance including Annies. I highly recommend their Cedar Key breakfast. It will definently get your day going right. A local grocery store is within an easy walk and they rent golf carts that are a fun way to explore the island.

We stayed on New Years Eve. There were several places within walking distance to get a drink. Or several.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mermaids Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaids Landing

Address: 12685 State Road 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty lodging in Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaids Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mermaids Landing to your Saves list