We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Key Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Key Bed and Breakfast
810 3rd Street, Corner of, Cedar Key, FL 32625   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Cedar Key B&B and Inns
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Cedar Key B&B numerous times over the past few years. Alice and her staff ensure a positively relaxing atmosphere and as my husband says 'a great place to recharge your batteries'. Love the bottomless cookie jar and breakfast is always a special treat. There are several places to sit and relax whether it's on the veranda, the swing or other sitting areas provided throughout the property. The location of the B&B is such that most everything is within walking distance. Another plus, we park and do not have to move our car until it's time to return home. Cedar Key is definitely 'old Florida'. No chain establishments here! If you are into fishing then bring your boat. Kayaks and canoes are popular as well. If you are just wanting to relax then bring a book and enjoy the peace and quiet whether it's sitting by the water of the Gulf or one of several areas on the property. If you enjoy photography there are plenty of photo opportunities whether it's taking advantage of the sunrises/sunsets or nature scenes. I spent a lot of time in Cedar Key while growing up so for me it's like coming home. For me and my husband it has become a haven for us to get away from the stress, hustle and bustle of everyday life and allows us to reconnect. Thank you Alice and your staff for making each trip to Cedar Key 'just what the doctor ordered".

Room Tip: We love the Tree House and Jacks Room the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    31
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
177
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had actually picked the Cedar Key Bed & Breakfast based on other Trip Advisor recommendations. The Inn, and staff lived up to the excellent reviews!

The Innkeepper, Alice, is a gem among Inn owners, providing excellent accommodations,service, and hospitality. One of our favorite times was setting on the porch talking with her.

Cedar Key is Old-Florida, not a "Disney-type" resort town. If you like historic architecture, beautiful views, and great food this is a perfect get-away.

At the Inn we met several other couples who were frequent visitors...add us to the list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first time of staying at a B&B so I had no idea what to expect. The B&B is located within walking distance to all the shops, boats, restaurants, beach access and bars but far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet if that is what you are looking for. We wanted both!

Check in was easy, the room we stayed in the "sunset kitchen". It is a small room but very nicely decorated and we had no issues finding a space for all the things we brought with us. Cable TV, DVR, Wifi a very comfortable bed made up with Egyptian Cotton Sheets. The bathroom had everything we needed and the extra touches. I wear glasses and was thrilled that there was a magnifying mirror in the bathroom, blow dryer, q-tips, makeup remover, etc.,

I haven't mentioned the people... Allice (owner) Laura, her mother and George (George is Allice's new husband). They are all very wonderful, friendly, helpful people! Laura and her mother prepared the what I consider 5 star breakfasts in the morning. My husband forgot his phone charger Laura volunteered a spare that she personally owned for our use while we were there. Bikes are available free of charge by the B&B but we wanted to rent a golf cart. Allice's husband George has a small golf cart business on the island and the best prices available, he delivered the Solor power golf cart to us. If we needed anything Allice, Laura and her mother were right there to help us.

We stayed two nights, a little mini weekend get away and are already trying to figure out when we can go back. The area is wonderful with lots to do and the B&B is the icing on the cake. I know I am forgetting something and my review can't even begin to describe what a wonderful time we had. This is a must visit and place to stay.

Thank you Cedar Key B&B for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Check out her web site, it is 100% accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We came here for 4 days of rest and relaxation and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Alice and her staff were so welcoming. The breakfasts were fab, bottomless cookie jar very yummy! tea anytime you wanted. The b+b gardens and veranda are a beautiful peaceful oasis. The whole of Cedar Key is like Key West was many moons ago, we hope it doesn't change. Everyone was so pleasant and we had a great time exploring in the golf buggy hired from the b+b. Good places to eat - Tonys (clam chowder), The Island Hotel, Pickled Pelican and the Big Deck for a good cold beer! Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottmingen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

In July of 1957 I visited Key West for the first time. Tennessee Williams had just finished writing "The Rose Tattoo", Duval Street was almost deserted and every morning a truckload of ice was dumped into the pool of the Southernmost Hotel to cool the water! These memories came back when my wife Susan and I came to Cedar Key last October. Well, the weather wasn't nearly as hot, but the laid-back charm of this small fishing village far from the large tourist crowds worked it's magic. Definitely one of the best places to stay is the Cedar Key B&B; the breakfast merits 5 stars and Alice is the perfect hostess.

Before I forget: don't miss the "world famous" clam chowder at Tony's Seafood Restaurant on 2nd Street!

Room Tip: We liked the Summer Kitchen on the ground floor next to the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a lovely B &B located in the small village of Cedar Key, FL. When we arrived, Alice (innkeeper) was not there. We did not have to be concerned as s he had so many indications of our being welcomed and on a table in the check in area she had our room key and all instructions on what we needed to do. She left nothing out to be wondered about and said she would see us in the morning. We stayed in Miss Verona's room which was very spacious and charming in decor of times gone by. The bathroom had a large walk in shower which was great. All were spotlessly clean. There is also a wall mounted TV and wi-Fi. The grounds were shaded by HUGE Florida oaks with a swing and chairs about as well as a covered porch area. The next morning breakfast was to be served at 9:00 though coffee,juice and fruit were ready much sooner. We heard Alice's infectious laugh coming from the kitchen as we arrived in the dining area and she came out to greet us with such warmth and cheerfulness that we felt we could have known her for a very long time. Her breakfast was beautifully served with an egg omelette, slice of ham and sugared rolls.
On our second day breakfast consisted of light and delicate pancakes with a berry preserve and just a dollop of whipped cream and cherry on top,egg and sausage links as well as fruit,coffee and juices . We were amazed at how quiet it was here and enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the evenings taking in the stillness and the gentle breezes coming from the Gulf. We could only stay for two nights but we are already wanting to plan a future stay in a few months.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just returned from another trip to Cedar Key. We have stayed at Cedar Key Bed and Breakfast several times, but this time was extra special. We got married on the veranda. The owner, Alice, was very gracious, and took time out to take pictures of us. The property was immaculate, grounds were peaceful, and a perfect setting for a wedding. This was no large affair, just the two of us, best man, and maid of honor. The Honeymoon Suite was home for several days, and lived up to its name. It was cheery, lovely, and cool in the early September heat.
The breakfasts are great, cookies wonderful, and staff very cordial.
We look forward to our next trip to Cedar Key, and the Bed and Breakfast.
Betty Rose is the Island Marrying Lady; Hair done by Tina; Great food at the Island Hotel, and Cedar Cove Island Room, but stay at the B&B, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Key Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Key Bed and Breakfast

Address: 810 3rd Street, Corner of, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Key Bed & Breakfast built in 1880. Located 125 miles north of Tampa on Florida's Gulf Coast. Choose from 7 beautiful rooms and 3 suites. Lots of antiques, private baths. Full breakfasts are served. Enjoy our "bottomless" cookie jar and vast selection of fine teas. Our garden setting is canopied by ancient Live Oaks. Capture Gulf breezes from our wonderful veranda overlooking the Gulf. Located just 3 minutes walk to restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Key b&b
Cedar Key Hotel Cedar Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Key Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cedar Key Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list