We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst service and food we have ever experienced.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palma Maria Restaurant

Palma Maria Restaurant
1015 State Road 436 Ste 153, Casselberry, FL 32707
(407) 339-2856
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Casselberry
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Possibly the worst service and food we have ever experienced.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It took nearly 20 minutes to be greeted after we sat down. The waitress was rude and argumentative. It was Friday and they were busy but this was no excuse. The food was barely edible and we could have done as well with a jar of ragu and a box of dried pasta. Each meal tasted exactly the same, whatever the protein and was accompanied by a small bowl of glutinous and lukewarm pasta with a glob of tomato sauce from a jar. Horrible and incredibly expensive evening. Do not even think about going there. Based on other reviews I am at a loss. They clearly have uninformed palates and wouldn't know good Italian food if they were given a royal introduction.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite little Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Small family-owned and staffed Italian restaurant where we recently celebrated our anniversary. We enjoy the wonderful authentic Italian food and especially the homemade loaf of bread. There is an early-bird menu, regular menu, and menu specials. Service is excellent as is the wine list. Portions are ample and delicious. There is a consistency of product that is always reassuring for special occasions, business meetings, first dates, proposals etc. During the holidays, the family members tastefully decorates and the customers seem to enjoy the decor. Also, you can choose to receive an email newletter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this family owned restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just had my husbands 60th birthday party at Palma Maria last night. We had 25 people and Marianne did a great job taking wonderful care of all of us. Everyone raved about the food and it all came out at the same tiime and hot. The home made loaf of italian bread is irresistible! We have been eating here for 25 years and have never had a bad meal. I love the chicken marsala. I would rather go to a family owned business rather than a franchise. The family works hard and if you like real italian food they are the BEST!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Palma Maria restaurant is a small, family owned and operated restaurant located in a strip mall on Semoran Blvd (436) near the intersection of Red Bug Road. They have an early bird menu with some excellent daily specials and the regular menu includes many authentic Italian dishes. The appetizers are excellent and they usually have some fresh dessert selections, but they sometimes run out of the dessert you have requested. The restrooms are very small and you have to go down a small crowded hallway near the kitchen to reach them. The service can be erratic. If the restaurant is crowded the staff quickly gets overwhelmed and stressed. When the restaurant is not crowded they are friendlier.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“An Italian Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have been eating at Palma Maria for 25 years. It is still owned by the same family and the meals are still delicious. This place is located in a small strip-mall on SR 436 near Red Bug Road. It is small and intimate with white tablecloths and attentive wait staff. Meals are Italian favorites; mine being the chicken marsala, my husband loves the veal picatta. Salad is served family style and there is plenty of warm bread. This is a great little place for a romanic evening. Parking is available directly in front of the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palma Maria Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Palma Maria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palma Maria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.