We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rolando's Cuban Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rolando's Cuban Restaurant
870 Semoran Blvd, Casselberry, FL 32707-5304
(407) 767-9677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 90 Restaurants in Casselberry
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Delicatessen, Latin
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had lunch yesterday and it was good. The chicken was a bit dry but the favor was excellent. The staff was great and very pleasant. I will definitely eat at this restaurant again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Cuban Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived at Rolando's at 8:15pm on a Sunday evening and found out that they close at 8:00 on Sundays. The owner's wife was extremely apologetic, then changed her mind and told us to come on in. We couldn't be more appreciative because if she hadn't we would have missed a great meal.

Our party of 4 had arroz con pollo, garlic shrimp, a chicken sandwich and a veggie sandwich. The arroz con pollo was excellent - moist and flavorful throughout and the chicken was expertly done. The sandwiches were very good as far a sandwiches go, but the highlight was the garlic shrimp. That garlic butter sauce was incredible. We were also big fans of the sweet plantains that we chose as side items.

Finished things off with the coconut flan which is one of the better flans I have ever had and had a great texture.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I was excited to try out Cuban food and wasn't very impressed. My steak was salty and chewy but they did make a good mojito.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rolandos Unexpected Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We ate at Rolandos on a recent trip to scope out UCF and the surrounding areas. It's in a small older building across the street from strip malls. It definitely looks like Florida from the 70s and 80s. Parking is 'ok'. There was a live performing singing cuban folk songs. The staff all seem to be family, and they know how to offer customer service! When two in our party ordered the 'famous' sangria, the owner of the establishment came to our table and apologized profusely. Explaining the process involved in making their famous sangria and they had sold out. She offered us a complimentary bottle of wine for our table to make amends. When we explained that was not necessary she promised that at our next visit the sangria would be on her. NO doubt in our mind that should we return, she'd remember and honor it. Our party ordered Arroz con Pollo, The Pork Chops, the Beef Stew, a Chicken Cesaer Salad and plantains. The food took a little longer to come out than if we had gone to a chain, but it was well worth the extra few minutes. You could tell from the quality, flavor and presentation, each dish was made to order. And it was ample amounts. The food was phenemonal. Not spicy and very delicous. I look forward to my next visit. I hope that Guy from Diner, Drive Ins and Dives never finds this place. If he does, they will have huge long waits to get in. (laughing)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fresh & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

You never know what to expect with a restaurant like this -- located in an unassuming building on an unispired stretch of local throughway, I would have been unlikely to stop. But: (1) I was starving and Bob Evans wasn't going to cut it; and (2) my friend had visited before and remembered the food as good.

Boy am I glad that we stopped! I had the homemade chicken noodle soup --brimming with chicken, fresh veggies, and honest homemade taste. The grilled cuban bread was yummy. And the breaded chicken with ham and cheese (can't remember what it was called) was a huge portion and very flavorful. The side of yucca was garlicky and lemony and so good!

The wait staff was very helpful and friendly. Overall, a great experience!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rolando's Cuban Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rolando's Cuban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rolando's Cuban Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.