We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Carrabelle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
“So So”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

While the place was very cute and historic and the owners were assistive my boyfriend and I had an average stay. This night there was a rain storm and by morning our room was leaking on the bed! we immediately called to get help and the response was "you all were leaving today anyway right?" yes, we were but had planned on laying in bed listening to the rain for the majority of the remaining day. So after we were ushered to the living room I saw another spot that was leaking and again immediately called so there would be minimal damage; no thank you. We are not from the area and were not planning on being back in town any time soon which I explained to the owner but the only offer they gave to us was free breakfast/food coupons for "next time". I was expecting, if not all, part of my stay to be compensated considering the circumstances.. No such offer was mentioned before we left.

Also, they missed my payment on their records which means they charged me a month later unexpectedly and when I called and explained that I received and overdraft fee because of the unexpected charge all they could say was "sorry, we missed it last month".

When i do go back to Carrabelle I wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
As anyone who lived in the southeast US this year knows. this was our Noah's Ark Summer.

That is, however, no excuse for deficient guest care, which is not like us. We regret that this guest had these challenges from their stay. What we will be glad to do is offer a rebate of room charges, once the guest identifies him/herself.

And we're looking forward to coming up with the right roof contractor who can solve our few monsoon-day drips for good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    23
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staying at the Old Carrabelle Hotel has been a delight. The building itself is very charming and the interior decorations are beautiful and characterized for each room. Everything create a fantastic and romantic atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
WE MISSED IT! We feel badly for having missed that fact that this very nice review came from Paris!

Now we know all is right with the world. A Parisienne used the word "romantic" in our review!

Merci beaucoup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this place! So unique, clean and pleasant. And the owners were extremely nice and helpful. Could not have asked for a better experience. We will definitely recommend it to friends and family and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I had a wonderful time! The owners are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the wrap around porch was great for a relaxing night! My friends and I will be staying here in the future, I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's a very nice place, clean and cosy - The surondings are awsome charming and fantastic.

A very nice stay for us, we'll come back some time in the future, Thats for sure.

Henrik Korsgaard Nielsen

Denmark

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Each room has a different design and are very cozy. There is a up stairs porch where you can relax and sit and read or chat with other guests. There are several places to eat. The seafood is mostly local. There is a WWII museum a Carrabelle history museum. We also enjoyed some time at the beach. This is a place we won't forget.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice people and very clean. Nice place to stay if your looking for something a little different than your run of the mill hotel/motel. The breakfast at the beach was great and we watched for dolphins each morning after we ate. Very quiet and peaceful place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
This is a first!

Your first line: "Nice people and very clean." Thanks-- we work hard on personal hygiene. And the Hotel is nice and clean, too :)

We look forward to your next visit!
Skip and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Address: 201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a “Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast”. Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation – free restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Carrabelle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Carrabelle Hotel to your Saves list