We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "Home" on the Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Carrabelle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My "Home" on the Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I discovered Carrabelle, FL several years ago and have visited every year since, around Labor Day - and I've stayed at The Old Carrabelle Hotel every time. Skip and Kathy are wonderful hosts and the accommodations are excellent! My wife and I stayed at the hotel during our honeymoon a couple of years ago and, most recently, we've enjoyed the cottage. Either way, there's no better way to spend a few days or a week relaxing at the tranquil pace of the Forgotten Coast. I feel like I'm at home at the Old Carrabelle Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    23
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Old Carrabelle Hotel for a quick weekend getaway in June. Nice room with private bath. Convenient location, friendly owner, and free breakfast at a local restaurant. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are bed & breakfast owners and had a chance for a rare Saturday night getaway. The Old Carrabelle Hotel was conveniently located, charming and comfortable. Our bathroom was huge, the bed was comfortable and the owners were present and very friendly, accommodating and fun. It was exactly what we wanted and we could not have asked for anything more. We enjoyed dinner on the water and some jazz music after. Breakfast at 2 Al's was perfect! We had a fantastic night in Carrabelle and returned home refreshed and ready to go back to work.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Magnolia Room and the bathroom was huge. The bed was comfortable. We loved it!
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel just won the Green Award certification for their environmental practices.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Holy Cow--that could have been like having State inspectors here--but it wasn't!

We enjoyed every moment of their short stay, and we'll have to check out the Grady House in High Springs at the first opportunity. But as was noted, when business is good it's often hard to get the time off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Quite charming. Tastefully decorated. Friendly owners. You won't be disappointed especially with the breakfast. Unbelievable value for your dollar. You are not too far away from st. Georges island or appalaciacola. If you like key west you will love this place. It seems to have stepped back in time!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Old Carrabelle Hotel last month (April) while on a road trip through Florida with my brother, and very much enjoyed our time there. It is housed in a beautiful old building, which was lovingly restored and just charming. We didn't spend much time during the day in the hotel, as we were exploring the local waterways photographing wildlife, but each evening we returned to clean up and relax and look at the day's photos...the upstairs porch was the perfect place for this! We also enjoyed our breakfasts at Two Als and our dinners at The Fisherman's Wife (the shrimp there were gi-normous, lightly battered, and SO fresh!!). We'd surely return to The Old Carrabelle!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Utterly charming. Enjoyed my extended stay here, the cottage is wonderful. Cozy and comfortable, feels like a real home, and the owners couldn’t have been more gracious and helpful. Outstanding porch! You can relax out there with your laptop if you want, there’s comfortable seating, plugs, and wireless. Movie channels and free Netflix. Note that there is no dishwasher, the shower water pressure is pretty low, and there will be some rooster and road noise in the front rooms. I liked having a rooster around, and was also delighted to watch a black bear amble along the tree line in back, and the white squirrel next door frolicking about every day. This is a slow, quiet, relaxing town, and from the house it’s an easy walk to the peaceful harbor. I recommend any parks, forests, and country drives for miles around; I fell in love with the tall pines. The fried shrimp and crab cakes at both Fisherman’s Wife and 2 Al’s were great. FW also serves a scrumptious Key Lime pie that I acutely wish I had with me now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
These are exactly many of the things we found about the Cottage and Carrabelle, and have tried to improve upon, without massive changes.

This month we are on a program to soak and clean all the showerheads (mineral deposits), so you should find better water flow next time! (*Here's the EZ way to do the task, FYI--tie a plastic bag filled with your solution (a calcium/lime/rust dissolver) around the showerhead, let soak overnight!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a great find!! It can sometimes be deceiving when choosing a place to stay from your computer....but this time we were presently surprised....the Old Carrabelle Hotel was even better then represented online. Skip and Kathy were very nice but not at all intrusive. The hotel itself has been beautifully restored to its original Old Florida style...so warm and comfy. We will be back.

Room Tip: They are all great! Air conditioning was slightly cold for me personally, but I just closed vent in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Glad you pointed out one of the challenges of floor-by-floor climate control. We have only the registers available for fine tuning, and Sometimes others decide to -Help-.

One of our worst findings is that guests have pulled out the blankets in the summer! Thanks--good that you were able to get the system back in sync!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Address: 201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a “Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast”. Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation – free restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Carrabelle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Carrabelle Hotel to your Saves list