We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming an annual Tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Carrabelle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Save
You added The Old Carrabelle Hotel to your Saves list
201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Becoming an annual Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our second time to stay at the Old Carrabelle Hotel. Both experiences were great! The hosts, Skip and Kathy are wonderful and really care about the hotel and their guests comfort. Also, you can't beat the breakfast at 2 Al's! A true gem on the forgotten coast.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Flamingo and Magnolia. Flamingo is in the rear and a little quieter. Magnoli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Nice comments-- and we not only care about the Hotel, we care about RETURNING GUESTS!

It's a supreme compliment, when our guest comes back to stay time after time. And one we hope we continue to deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
68
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

carrabelle is a quiet throwback to earlier times. Small town. the hotel is very nice and quiet. Skip and his wife are very nice and accomodating people. Breakfast at 2 Al's beach cafe is included in the price of the room. Lots of TV channels, a microwave and refrigerator. Be sure to visit Camp Gordon Johnston which portrays Carrabelle's involvement as a planning site for WWII invasion (including the D Day invasion). The Fisherman's wife has excellent fresh seafood. Also the Fish Camp restaurant provides a nice view of the harbor area

Room Tip: captain's quarters on the ground floor has 2 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived at The Old Carrabelle Hotel at 1 am after a long day and were able to settle right in and get a good night's sleep. Our room was small but clean and cozy, and had a good selection of reading material. The fridge in the hall was handy, as was the microwave and coffeemaker. We loved sitting on the porch and blankets were even provided as it was a little chilly. And Skip was very gracious when I forgot the door code and had to call him on a Saturday night. Breakfast at Two Al's was convenient, but the place could use a thorough cleaning and a menu facelift. All in all, TOCH was a great choice for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice couple that run the hotel...they accommodated requests my wife and I had very well. It's more of a cross between a B&B and an old hotel...we were a bit reserved at first knowing we had to drive 5 minutes to get breakfast but the diner was great, the area was very nice, and a good locale to daytrip to places to paddle, lighthouses, and bike paths. St George Island is close by and well worth the visit. The veranda around the upstairs is nice and the little bar area downstairs reminds me of Key West. Nice rooms, good value price wise, and above all relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was a great few days with our new friends from Tennessee. --who were very helpful with some aging issues with this 113-year old! Thanks! And just so you know, the final remedy for one little situation should be done today!
Skip and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I just stayed here. It was such a great place! I loved being away from all the hustle of city life for a day or two. We wanted to get away and just enjoy each others company for a couple days. This was the perfect place to do it. And the breakfast at 2 Al's was amazing! I think that this may be our go to getaway place! Thanks SO much for making such a great place for us to enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We always enjoy our Tallahassee guests--so close by, yet the Forgotten Coast is another world and you all appreciate that!
Skip and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the photo & positive recommendations, and they were accurate. This beautifully restored turn of the century hotel checks all the boxes for convenience, cleanliness, quiet, and locally knowledgeable innkeepers. They provide a pass for breakfast at an area diner which is delicious. Watching the sun set from the upper balcony was just the icing on the cake. In short, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We were a little apprehensive that Texans, used to all that wide open space, might not be excited by Carrabelle and the Hotel. We were wrong! Or at least, Skip was wrong, and Kathy agrees that Skip was wrong. We don't have millions of flat open acres, but we also don't have millions of people! Or cars, or traffic lights...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend recommended this place as a destination for a group of us women who are photography fans. A trip to the Panhandle for a long weekend would require several rooms or the cottage that would sleep 6. Five of us ended up making the trip and after a little confusion as to exactly 'where' the cottage was located, the lights were on and the cottage was ready for us. Three bedrooms would indeed sleep 6 but we were glad that there were only 5 of us because one bed was pushed against a wall and with only one bathroom for 5 women, it was a bit of a scheduling challenge. It did make it the more fun, however, and we joked with the owner about when were they planning an addition for another bathroom. The house was decorated in fun colors and at every turn there was something to look at and admire and it didn't take use long to realize that the owners lived here at least some of the time. The kitchen was well stocked including the refrigerator (we had done some shopping but those items we missed seemed to be waiting for us in the frig). The dining room table became our favorite gathering place each evening, as we downloaded our photos into computers (wi-fi available). We didn't use the TV or living room much. We were out the door early each more to explore the Gulf coast from St. Mark's State Park to the east and St. Joseph State Park to the west. We cooked several meals but it was too cold to enjoy the outdoor patio or the screened porch. One night, returning from a long day of touring, we were unable to get into the front door so had to seek the owner who graciously came to the cottage and showed us the 'trick'. He stayed and visited for a while and explained some of the quirks of the place (why some lights didn't work). We were sorry to have to leave after only 3 nights since there was more for us to explore but those who slept in the front bedroom were not sorry to say goodbye to the rooster with no sense of time that lives across the street. Ear plug are advised! Also, no sure if it is every weekend but...we could hear loud music coming from the waterfront on Friday and Sat. nights and if we had been IN the hotel, that might have been annoying. Carrabelle is quaint but there isn't much 'to do' in town except the beach which few shops remaining open and only small inconsequential shops scattered around. Carrabelle has seen better days but we met the mayor at 2 Al's and he has hopes for improvements. In the mean time, the place is quiet and out of the way and definitely a jumping off point for many wilderness/wild/quiet/scenic areas around Carrabelle and a great place to return to.

Room Tip: The cottage has sleeping space for 6 but only if everyone knows each other and doesn't mind shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
But...but...the roosters are what make us different from New York City, and some other places! Oh, and no traffic lights, traffic jams, crowds on the beach, crowds in the stores, crowds in the forest--well, you get the idea!

Thanks for the kind note, and come back soon! (we are working on that bathroom item)
Skip and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Address: 201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a “Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast”. Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation – free restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Carrabelle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.