We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Carrabelle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Save
You added The Old Carrabelle Hotel to your Saves list
201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the photo & positive recommendations, and they were accurate. This beautifully restored turn of the century hotel checks all the boxes for convenience, cleanliness, quiet, and locally knowledgeable innkeepers. They provide a pass for breakfast at an area diner which is delicious. Watching the sun set from the upper balcony was just the icing on the cake. In short, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We were a little apprehensive that Texans, used to all that wide open space, might not be excited by Carrabelle and the Hotel. We were wrong! Or at least, Skip was wrong, and Kathy agrees that Skip was wrong. We don't have millions of flat open acres, but we also don't have millions of people! Or cars, or traffic lights...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    25
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
72
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend recommended this place as a destination for a group of us women who are photography fans. A trip to the Panhandle for a long weekend would require several rooms or the cottage that would sleep 6. Five of us ended up making the trip and after a little confusion as to exactly 'where' the cottage was located, the lights were on and the cottage was ready for us. Three bedrooms would indeed sleep 6 but we were glad that there were only 5 of us because one bed was pushed against a wall and with only one bathroom for 5 women, it was a bit of a scheduling challenge. It did make it the more fun, however, and we joked with the owner about when were they planning an addition for another bathroom. The house was decorated in fun colors and at every turn there was something to look at and admire and it didn't take use long to realize that the owners lived here at least some of the time. The kitchen was well stocked including the refrigerator (we had done some shopping but those items we missed seemed to be waiting for us in the frig). The dining room table became our favorite gathering place each evening, as we downloaded our photos into computers (wi-fi available). We didn't use the TV or living room much. We were out the door early each more to explore the Gulf coast from St. Mark's State Park to the east and St. Joseph State Park to the west. We cooked several meals but it was too cold to enjoy the outdoor patio or the screened porch. One night, returning from a long day of touring, we were unable to get into the front door so had to seek the owner who graciously came to the cottage and showed us the 'trick'. He stayed and visited for a while and explained some of the quirks of the place (why some lights didn't work). We were sorry to have to leave after only 3 nights since there was more for us to explore but those who slept in the front bedroom were not sorry to say goodbye to the rooster with no sense of time that lives across the street. Ear plug are advised! Also, no sure if it is every weekend but...we could hear loud music coming from the waterfront on Friday and Sat. nights and if we had been IN the hotel, that might have been annoying. Carrabelle is quaint but there isn't much 'to do' in town except the beach which few shops remaining open and only small inconsequential shops scattered around. Carrabelle has seen better days but we met the mayor at 2 Al's and he has hopes for improvements. In the mean time, the place is quiet and out of the way and definitely a jumping off point for many wilderness/wild/quiet/scenic areas around Carrabelle and a great place to return to.

Room Tip: The cottage has sleeping space for 6 but only if everyone knows each other and doesn't mind shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
But...but...the roosters are what make us different from New York City, and some other places! Oh, and no traffic lights, traffic jams, crowds on the beach, crowds in the stores, crowds in the forest--well, you get the idea!

Thanks for the kind note, and come back soon! (we are working on that bathroom item)
Skip and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went to Carrabelle in late February and stayed at the Old Carrabelle Hotel. This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast. Because my husband is a big guy, we were a little afraid it wouldn't be roomy enough but were we ever wrong! The Magnolia Room was not only roomy but so comfortable and decorated so well and every room has it's own bathroom. Of course, we loved the owners, who are so friendly and laid back. We want to go back in the fall and try to stay in the Ernest Hemingway room just to change it up a little. Thank you Skip and Kathy and we hope to see you again in the fall. Bob and Diana Moorman

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Maybe you noticed the Authentic Plaque we bought at the Hemingway House in Key West, that hangs outside Hemingway? It says "Ernest Hemingway Never Set Foot In This Place"!

The room will be ready when you are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Old Carrabelle Hotel is very unique Place.
Each Room is different and very charming.
We´ve been there just for one night as a stop over, but we really enjoyed that place.
As there were no other guests at that day,we had the complete guest house for us alone.

Room Tip: Any room looks great, as each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Google Translation
Great--ein unique review! Vielen dank!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Skip and Kathy were great hosts. They made our first visit to a B&B very enjoyable. They were also very helpful with our travel plans to follow the coast line to Pensacola. The rooms were so comfy and yes they did remind me of staying at grandmas house. My sisters and I were very happy with our stay and definately make a stop at 2 Als restaurant. Tell the server that the 3 sisters just loved her. Also Skip we were going to harrass you about the weather there (not that much warmer than Nebraska) but we did miss a blizzard. Thanks so much and hope to see you guys again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Julie and the Nebraska sisters! You made much more of an impression on Carrabelle than typical one-nighters! Krissy runs the dining room on Sundays, and has pretty much recovered by now, and we all hope your family comes this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Many thanks to Cathy and skip for making our three days in the Hemingway room most enjoyable. Carrabelle brought back many fond memories of the Florida I remember 60 years ago. Breakfast choices at 2 Al's were fantastic. We have friends in McCarthy, AK. and met their neighbors at the hotel. Imagine, McCarthy has a population of 30 people and now we know 4 of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Well, Carrabelle has a population of 900 and we know more than 4!

It's funny, that we know 5 people who moved from here to Alaska or from there to here. Very radical change!

We will look forward to your next trip -- Way South and East!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Cathy and Skip are outstanding hosts at the OLD CARRABELLE HOTEL in Carrabelle, Fl. The house is beautifully furnished and each room has it's own unique ambiance. Carrabelle is such a relaxing yet interesting place to explore, enjoy the local color, and stroll along the almost deserted beach that's just waiting for your footprints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skip_and_Kathy, Owner at The Old Carrabelle Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Oklahoma doesn't have a lot of ocean beach, so we're glad you got to play on ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Address: 201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a "Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast". Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation - free beach restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, cultural/historical activities and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Carrabelle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.