We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at Old Carrabelle Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Carrabelle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrabelle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Carrabelle Hotel
Save
You added The Old Carrabelle Hotel to your Saves list
201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Carrabelle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Newnan, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at Old Carrabelle Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just returned from Carrabelle and another very relaxing visit to the Forgotten Coast. That visit, as usual, was highlighted by three great nights at The Old Carrabelle Hotel. Love the low-key check in process and lack of hassle. As always, clean and comfortable accomodations. Excellent value in a B & B and great breakfasts at The 2 Als Cafe included. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    24
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
68
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've stayed at the old Carrabelle Hotel a number of times and love it! It's a very peaceful place with lovely and comfortable Florida decor, a terrific porch upstairs for relaxing and sipping a cool drink, and walking distance to great restaurants. Skip and Kathy are there when you need them, and always ready to share an interesting story. Don't miss the renovation scrap books!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just wanted to say old carrabelle hotel was a great place to stay. I enjoyed it very much. It just makes you feel like you are staying at someone's place.
Great porch and out door cabana area to relax.

I stayed in Flamingo and room was clean and charming big plus is a size of bathroom.
for $77 including breakfast at Al's it was a geat deal.

previous reviewer wrote pretty much what I wanted to say so I just wanted to add that down the al's restaurant there is a beach you can bring your two legged friend. Great for dog lovers!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Abington Township, PA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I have always been fans of a good road trip, and our goal each time is to stay off the beaten path as much as possible. Last month, we left our home in Northeast Pennsylvania, and set off for a three week adventure. This year's trip was a little different than most, because along the way we stopped in Gulf Breeze, Florida, were joined by a number of family and friends, and were married next to the crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Once we sent everyone else home, we decided to explore the Forgotten Coast. On a sunny Wednesday afternoon, we arrived at the Old Carrabelle Hotel.

We immediately fell in love with the tropical landscape and charming character of the Hotel. Check In was effortless, with our welcome package waiting for us at the door. Walking into the Hotel was a joy in and of itself. The unique decor, complemented by the well-preserved century old architecture, gave us that "welcome home" feel. Based upon our review of the Hotel's website, we chose to stay in the Hemingway Room. As expected with any hundred year old Bed and Breakfast, our room was not the size of a suite at the Ritz, but it had everything we could ask for. The cool breeze drifting down from the spinning blades of the antique ceiling fan set the tone for a room that Papa himself would have occupied years before. The bathroom was decorated with the same inviting accents, and quite spacious. Before we even brought our things up to the room, we decided to have a seat on the second-floor wrap around porch, and just take in the serenity of the Hotel and Carrabelle.

Not too long after our arrival, we had the pleasure to meet our hosts Kathy and Skip. They made us feel even more at home in Carrabelle, providing us insight into their little seaside village. Kathy showed us around the property, including the private back garden area which we had yet to discover. Skip offered us the use of the Hotel's tandem kayak during our stay, and volunteered to launch us from just about anywhere we wanted to explore. They suggest the Fisherman's Wife for dinner, which we highly recommend as well, and we parted for the evening. One thing that should be noted about Kathy and Skip is that they value your privacy as much as you do. They won't come into your room, make the bed, and clean the bathroom in the morning, but if you need anything, all you have to do is ask. One thing that you should ask for from Kathy and Skip is a night of their company filled with cold drinks, fresh food, and great music at Fathom’s Raw Bar.

As for Carrabelle itself...for those looking for a beach town with a boardwalk, amusement rides, crowded beaches, and souvenir shops abound, you're probably better off to head to the Jersey Shore. Carrabelle doesn't really have much to offer...unless you’re looking for fresh air, incredible seafood, the calming blue waters of the Gulf Coast, a welcoming local population, thousands of acres of undisturbed natural beauty, and pristine beaches where complete solitude can yours if you’re willing to take a short walk along the water. Be sure to take a half hour drive east of Carrabelle to visit the quaint shops and eateries of Apalachicola, and don’t forget to visit the recently rated fourth best beach in the country, which can be found on St. George Island.

No matter what roads you chose to take to get you around the laid back lanes making up Florida’s Forgotten Coast, two things you'll definitely know when you leave...you should have planned a longer trip, and you're going to miss the Old Carrabelle Hotel.

- Lance & Nancy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Each guest room in the Old Carrabelle Hotel is unique, yet the ambiance of warm Southern hospitality pervades throughout. Our hosts, Skip and Kathy, are attuned to the needs of their guests and will graciously join in festivities or unobtrusively allow for personal relaxation. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants, this historic inn can be a destination or the starting point for easy drives to beaches, fishing, sight-seeing, kayaking and many other local activities. We will defintely return! Jack and Carol Zurawka

Room Tip: Be sure to view them all...they are wonderfully different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I came to Skip and Kathy's place after a 2 week work trip and wanted to relax and do a little fishing. Skip and Kathy were gracious and friendly. The hotel was charming and comfortable. I wish the fishing trip was better but my hotel stay for the weekend was supurb. Quiet, restful, and a great location near the waterfront and restaurants, I recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Regatta room, queen bed with bath/shower. Nautical theme, very quiet. I slept grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have stayed many times with Skip and Kathy, and each time the experience is uniquely wonderful. True Southern hospitality, wonderful rooms and property, plus great hosts! Carrabelle and its unique personality and flavor of a fishing town is perfectly complimented by this wonderful hotel. You won't be disappointed, and we look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Carrabelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Carrabelle Hotel

Address: 201 Tallahassee Street, Carrabelle, FL 32322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Carrabelle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Carrabelle Hotel in Carrabelle, Florida is a “Key West style inn on The Forgotten Coast”. Once the end-of-the-line railroad hotel, now you may enjoy all the modern comforts in an Old Florida casual atmosphere. There is just something about the experience of a 1900-ish inn at the coast (or a coastal cottage at the coast) that no newer motel-hotel can equal. And we are a very different B&B operation – free restaurant breakfasts for Hotel guests, and self check-in -- just for starters. Make your own reservation online, and receive back a confirmation with all the info you may need. Don't Expect: traffic lights, lots of people, McHamburgers, bungee jumps or late-night noise. Do expect: the best seafood, eco-activity opportunities in every direction, and a lot of peace and quiet time on the property, in the forest or on the beach or water! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Carrabelle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.