We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1538 Cape Coral Parkway East, Cape Coral, FL 33904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Cape Coral
Finleyville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dated but Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stay at this hotel April 14th thru the 19th. They told us it had been remolded in Feb 2013 and it may have been but not with the best carpet or furniture. The people at the front desk were very helpful and pleasant. The pool was small but heated and that was a plus. There is a bar behind the hotel that has live entertainment that starts a 6 pm every day and has great food, The place is called the Monkey Bar and it is a lot of fun. They had blue crabs the last day we were there and they were great. Overall the location of the hotel is fine and lots of stores and restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: All the room are the same so we were told
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
37
34
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here while looking to buy a house in Cape Coral. Twice! Free breakfast each day or you could go out the front door and walk a few steps to Perkins for any of your meals. Downtown location with many, many restaurants, shops, bars and grocery stores. Sidewalks to take an evening or early morning walk. The hotel is very clean and updated. Each room has a lanai to sit on to get some air or watch the sunset/sunup. There is a pool. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and really know their town and the surrounding towns. Very convenient to Fort Myers, Rt. 41, and US 75.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel facing the parking lot is more quiet, although it is a quiet town to begin wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsburg, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for a family vacation/house hunting expedition and it was excellent!! Our Granddaughter and her friend came with us and they really enjoyed the amenities and their room. We were pleased with the breakfast buffet and the cleanliness and service was top notch every single day! For the price a very good hotel indeed!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the room was quiet. The views are not exceptional in any of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Thanks to Kathrine for a great start to our day each morning at breakfast. Pleasant and helpful about what was going on in town! Thanks also to Molly at the front desk. We'll be back when we are in Cape Coral.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Like the old Holiday Inn ad used to say, "The best surprise is no surprise". The hotel was everything you expect from a better run Holiday Inn. The rooms were spacious, well appointed, and clean. The bed was comfortable. The TV was sharp and crisp. The balcony was enjoyable to sit out on and enjoy an early evening drink. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators that work well. The bathroom was clean, the towels soft and absorbent.

Two nights I was in a room facing Cape Coral Parkway. Being in the lee of the hotel, there wasn't much of a breeze on the balcony. So I moved to a room facing the back of the hotel, which was quite nice. We got a lovely breeze and the noise from the nearby Tiki Hut or Monkey Bar were no problem at all with the balcony door shut.

The pool area is comfortable. The pool is very pleasant and wifi reaches the pool area. The free breakfast bar in the morning was pleasant, well stocked, and tasty.

My only complaint was that their free wifi is a bit on the slow side. I could get some work done, but it was a little annoying. It's fine for just browsing the web.

All in all, I would stay there again if I ever needed to and I would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: I recommend being on a high floor to get the breezes. Being at the far end, close to the pool makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stay at this hotel once a month and have always been very pleased with the property as a whole. This property is conveniently located near quite a few restaurants and night life. There is a Perkins right next door which is very convenient, However there are bars and restaurants all within walking distance of this Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is also just across the bridge from Ft. Myers. If you take Cape Coral Parkway east across the bridge you will then be on College Parkway which will take you to S. Cleveland Ave. (US 41) just north of Daniels Parkway, which is the road that leads to Southwest Florida International Airport.

This Property has a wonderful pool which is perfect for unwinding before and after work. Also, each room has an outdoor balcony. I've read that some people noted that it was a noisy neighborhood, but I did not find the area noisy. My room was very quiet and I got a great night sleep and felt safe and secure.

The staff is very professional.

The breakfast bar is outstanding, complimentary breakfast is served from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM, so don't sleep in too long if you want to partake. The breakfast selections were very good, coffee, tea, breads, cereals, juices, fruits, milk and even omelettes! I also noticed drink machines in the halls.

Plenty of luggage carts and free parking, the property has very clean common areas and rooms. The wireless internet worked very well in my room. I do wish they had more electric outlets, I found this to be a challenging. I don't like to move furniture around. It would be great if that added a power strip for phones, computers and such near the night stand.

Overall, I give this property 4 stars for being fairly priced, comfortable, above average amenities and for making me feel safe and secure. I highly recommend joining their Priority Rewards Program as you get discounts and other perks.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you should request a room opposite Cape Coral Blvd. I have stayed on bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL (suburbs)
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed in a great many Holiday Inn Express hotels ( although not reviewed ) but there are a few things that need pointing out with this one. It appears this location may have previously been a hotel belonging to a different chain...or it was just older. The interior of our room was a bit dated, especially the bathroom and its fixtures. There was a hole in the wall behind the dresser where the cable television was run....and I mean it was a hole....like someone kicked the wall. A fifty cent wall plate would have done wonders for appearance.

While most hotels have their noisy areas within it, the walls in our room appeared *paper thin* as we could hear people on both walls. ( Big shout out to the knucklehead family who let their bratty kid cry and scream in the middle of the night - you will NOT win parents of the year ) When guests would close, or allow their doors to slam, our room ( located on the 5th floor ) would shake. The ice machine and elevator which were about five rooms down from us may have well just been located IN our room. Sound insulation in this Holiday Inn Express was not / is not a priority for management or owners. And the elevators are painfully slow.

As previous reviewers have stated, there is a *very* noisy bar located down the street on the backside of the hotel which goes on till around 2 am on weekends. However, the rooms on the front of the hotel face the busy street so........take your pick.

Also as previous reviewers have stated, there is a $2.00 toll you have to pay to get back from Ft.Myers beach, which gets really old after awhile. ( It's almost as bad as being in Orlando and paying their tolls every 5 miles )

The hotel staff was friendly for the most part with the exception of one or two front desk employees, which should be addressed ( management if you're reading this ) as your front desk people are the first point of contact for guests and can make or break your hotel.

There is a Perkins right next door and a Wendy's across the street if you don't feel like driving to some of the other eateries in the area. The breakfast area was roomy and the food was your standard Holiday Inn Express fare.

All said and done, it was priced reasonable for the area, considering we went during spring break ( not FOR spring break ) and its relativley close proximity to the beaches. It wouldn't be my first choice again but if I had to stay here again, it wouldn't be the end of the world.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor on the backside of the hotel have a better view of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear andrettifan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments detailing the good and highlighting the opportunities to improve. It is good that our staff delivered up to expectations. However, I am disappointed that you were inconvenienced by the noise levels on site and the room you were given did not completely meet your liking. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area Hotel Cape Coral
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area Hotel
Address: 1538 Cape Coral Parkway East, Cape Coral, FL 33904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral - Fort Myers Area is located in the center of downtown Cape Coral, FL allowing convenient access to many attractions... Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel Island & Captiva Island The University of South Florida The Edison State College The Florida Gulf Coast University The JN 'Ding' Darling National Wildlife Refuge Thomas Edison and Henry Ford's winter homes, botanical gardens and laboratory Sun Splash Family Waterpark The Caloosahatchee River and Pine Island Sound are world-class fishing areas for Tarpon, Snook, Trout and Redfish. The Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox have Spring Training facilities nearby. Lee County has become a sports mecca for golf, tennis and water sports. In addition to the convenience of local attractions, the Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW) is only 15 miles from the hotel. Don't miss our famous Express Start hot breakfast served from 6AM to 10AM, 7 days a week. If you're in the area for business or pleasure, be sure to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral Fort Myers Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.