We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for an Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1538 Cape Coral Parkway East, Cape Coral, FL 33904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice Place for an Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with a couple from Germany for a night before and after a trip to Key West. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from the Key West Express ferry dock. There is a $2.00 toll to get back from Fort Myers Beach, so be prepared.

The check-in and out routines were very efficient and the desk staff was very helpful. Each room in the hotel appears to have a small private balcony that you can sit on. There are two chairs provided for seating. We used ours to have a few drinks in the evening and got to listen to the live music from the restaurant across the street. There was just enough room for 4 of us to sit there although we had to move two extra chairs to the balcony. The hotel hallways are wide and well lit with large windows at each end. There is ample free parking available in the hotel's parking lot.

We stayed in a double queen room. There was a small table in the room, but no desk. The beds were firm, but comfortable and we got a good night's sleep after the very loud music stopped (around 10 PM) from the restaurant across the street. There is a small refrigerator in the room. The hotel has free wi-fi for its guests. And there are two computers with a printer in the lobby available for guest's use. The room itself was clean and thankfully did not have an overwhelming air freshner smell that I have encountered in a few other HIE's recently.

The shower had adequate water flow and there was an exhaust fan in the bathroom. However, the ceiling in the bathroom is less than 7' high. Therefore, I had to bend my arm when rinsing under my arms. Since I am only 5'10", I imagine this could be a major issue for anyone much over 6' tall. While the bathroom was not dirty, I did notice a stain on the floor in the corner that should have been cleaned up.

There are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and the hotel has different deals with many of them for their Priority Club members (the deals differ from one restaurant to another).

The breakfast each morning was the usual HIE fare. The first morning we were up early and there were very few people in the dining area. The second morning we were there later in the morning and the dining area was very full, but there still appeared to be enough seating for everyone. I was very impressed with the breakfast crew since the food was constantly restocked and they never ran out of anything in spite of the large number of people eating.

Room Tip: The restaurants and bars on the back side of the hotel have live, very loud music on the weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    55
    41
    11
    2
See reviews for
53
46
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this hotel until we could check into our beach hotel the next day. Great price. Great location. Close to the bridge that takes you to Ft. Myers Beach (only about 20 minutes away). Short walk to Iguana Mia Mexican Restaurant (which I love). There was a bar behind the restaurant that had a live band and I did need to leave the fan on in my room so I wouldn't hear it, but it was a Saturday night so I'm not going to whine. Although I didn't like the music, the band did not play real late, so that was good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We found the staff extremely courteous and helpful with sights to see and restaurant recommendations. The breakfast is awesome - it changes every day - hot eggs and biscuits, bagels, pancakes, fruit, yogurt etc. Despite the fact it is on a busy road, we turned on the air for white noise and slept just fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is located on a very busy road. The noise did not stop all night. The hotel is so close to the road you felt as though you were sleeping on a street corner, or i should say trying to sleep on a street corner. There is no landscape between the hotel and the road to soften the noise. Ask for a room on the back side, though i don't know if it will help as there is a bar and a large restaurant directly behind the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a noisy street and in front of a restaurant and bar, i don't know if the...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Linda11653,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the experience you had with the noise and any inconvenience you had during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay, and it was great. We tried to check in early, but the room was not ready ... not to worry, the staff immediately chaged rooms when we requested. Clean and convenient with great service. We recommend it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Based on the previous reviews, I booked a room on the other side of Cape Coral Pkwy so that it would be quieter. However, there is a nearby bar that has live entertainment each night and on the weekend nights it was ridiculously loud. The rooms were OK- not the cleanest Holiday Inn room I've stayed in. There were splatters of stuff on the walls around the room and in the bathroom but the sheets and towels were clean. Everything else (pool, breakfast, etc) was satisfactory. Expect to drive at least 10 minutes to good restaurants- nothing close by except Brew Babies. Next time, I will spend the extra money to stay in a nicer hotel in a better location.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are noisy, especially on weekends, due to live outdoor entertainment at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear mblouin,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast and pool.

However, We’re sorry you received poor housekeeping service and for the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed a night here in February.
Good clean room which was newly redecorated.
Great breakfast.

As other reviews said, the bar next door was noisy. Once we turned on the a/c fan unit all night no problem sleeping.

Good value for the price and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area

Address: 1538 Cape Coral Parkway East, Cape Coral, FL 33904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral - Fort Myers Area is located in the center of downtown Cape Coral, FL allowing convenient access to many attractions... Fort Myers Beach, Sanibel Island & Captiva Island The University of South Florida The Edison State College The Florida Gulf Coast University The JN 'Ding' Darling National Wildlife Refuge Thomas Edison and Henry Ford's winter homes, botanical gardens and laboratory Sun Splash Family Waterpark The Caloosahatchee River and Pine Island Sound are world-class fishing areas for Tarpon, Snook, Trout and Redfish. The Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox have Spring Training facilities nearby. Lee County has become a sports mecca for golf, tennis and water sports. In addition to the convenience of local attractions, the Southwest Florida International Airport (RSW) is only 15 miles from the hotel. Don't miss our famous Express Start hot breakfast served from 6AM to 10AM, 7 days a week. If you're in the area for business or pleasure, be sure to Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral Fort Myers Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area Hotel Cape Coral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.