We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumrunners

Rumrunners
5789 Cape Harbour Drive, Cape Coral, FL 33914
239-542-0200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 359 Restaurants in Cape Coral
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Casual elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have eaten lunch here before but this was my first evening dinner at Rum Runners. The wife and I had cocktails, dinner and dessert. All were excellent and the service was perfect. Thanks to our server, Jacky. The atmosphere was great. large windows so you can look out over the water and outer islands.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    277
    121
    45
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Well oiled machine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Cute , canal side , high energy establishment.
Food was great and Charles our waiter, was the main reason I took the time to write this review. I would highly recommend dining here. I was so impressed with the way all servers were hustling and very friendly. ...so hard to find these days.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for an adult beverage and there were two bartenders. Unfortunately the good one was so busy and hustling around that I went to the other who was basically standing around and looked annoyed that I walked over for her service. Drinks were fine and they have a nice location but we will not be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great setting - terrible food!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went last night for a "special" dinner with family. Read the reviews and followed advice of others. It must have been a really off night!!!!!!!! All wait staff were very courteous but only the greeters had smiles on their faces. Must have been a really firm per-dinner meeting for them. We have no problem paying for "good" food but this was probably the worst meal we have had in our 7 months in Florida. The New York strip steak was supposed to be medium rare but was an unappetizing overcooked grey. Filet was supposed to be rare but it was overdone as well. The roasted potatoes were very over-baked, dry and not fit to eat. The garlic mashed potatoes were dry and tasted like left overs from the night before. Then we get to the paella!!!!!! The chef probably should search Google for a better recipe! On a 1-10 scale, this was a firm and generous "1"!!!!!! (And we have eaten paella all over the world) The only positive thing is that we know from our experience is - we will not repeat this experience again at Rumrunners!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unimpressed by the obligatory 18% gratuity!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Return visit to Rumrunners and the food was tasty as ever. As other reviewers have mentioned, the location on the water really is what sets this restaurant apart from the competition. No complaints whatsoever about the food or the service.

Sadly our experience was marred by the fact we were obliged (as a party of 5) to pay an 18% gratuity. It felt a little unsavoury to be penalised in this way when you are bringing good business to an establishment in the first place (we ended up being forced to give nearly $50 as a tip!). If they wanted to make the tip compulsory I feel they should have limited it at 10-15% and allowed the customers to decide whether to give more based on their experience. Felt rather underhand for such a well respected restaurant (I know they are not alone in this practice but have seen it more with larger parties, not just your average family of 5).

Rumrunners should stop being so greedy... just because they have an enviable position, it shouldn't give them license to exploit their customers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumrunners also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rumrunners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumrunners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.