We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, fresh and a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Key Resort to your Saves list
Dolphin Key Resort
1502 Miramar St, Cape Coral, FL 33904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, fresh and a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The dolphin key resort is a nice, newly renovated resort. We had a room with a king size bed and a sofa bed for the little one. The rooms are nice, comfortable and well equipped. the only thing missing is a refrigerator. The resort hads a pool, launderette, and a restaurant. Absolutely worth the money..

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
44
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really good price for a newly renovatet big room. Pool is available and breakfast included.
Also the tiki hut bar where breakfast is served is worth a visited. Live bands on weekends and a relaxed atmosphere. We've been there for holiday to explore this area of florida. Staff is friendly -
so we can recommend. We really had a lot of fun there because we got to know really nice people and visited the gay bar after tiki hut had closed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I figured I'd give it a year two for the new owners to get it together and they are right on track. This used to be (paradise tiki ) and my review said it may be the worst hotel in Florida. But the owners have totally renovated most of the rooms and are finishing up the rest and the place looks great. If you were hesitant about staying here, give it a try it will be a nicer stay then the cookie cutter chain hotels in the area and for less money. I actually came to review the tiki hut restaurant it's called, paradise tiki hut bar and grill, but could not find it under Cape Coral Restaurants. I've been here many times, the drinks are cheap and the service is slow on the crowded weekends (note to owners, you can feel OK about hiring another bartender on the weekends, your bartendes seemed to be going as fast as they could and couldn't keep up. You are loosing customers. Any how the food is actually very good and priced right, With bands on the weekends, great food, cheap drinks, in a huge party tiki hut, you can't go wrong. also something fairly new they have free appetizers during happy hour mon thru thurs and different specials for every day of the week (real cheap).

Room Tip: poolside is pretty but louder because of the tiki hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I are timeshare owners and generally don't stay in hotel rooms as we like more room to spread out. We booked a last minute vacation to Cape Coral in early April and weren't able to get a timeshare due to availability. I booked the Dolphin Key for a week's stay/pool side. The price was very reasonable, but I was concerned that the room was going to be tiny. When we checked into the resort and entered our room, I was pleasantly surprised at how spacious they were. In addition, the room was beautiful and newly renovated, with granite counter tops for the double sinks in the bathroom area. The entire grounds are beautiful as well. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, especially Camille in the Tiki Bar. We will definitely stay again!!!

Room Tip: Pool side is loud on the weekends, due to entertainment in the Tiki bar. This didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I recently had to fly to Fl for my grandmothers funeral. We booked the Dolphin Key Resort on Monday for ten rooms and we flew in Wednesday from NY. We recommended from another hotel that was booked. They were very accommodating on the phone while my family was scrambling to figure out all travel plans. We had some family staying for only one night to seven nights.
Once we got there we noticed they did their best to keep the rooms close to each other. They we as helpful in person as they were on the phone. All ten rooms were booked correctly and they had set all keys aside so they were all ready as the family arrived.
The rooms were clean and fresh linens in all rooms. They also included breakfast every morning of our stay for each room. The breakfast at the Tiki Hut was delicious and just steps away from our rooms. The staff at the restaurant went above and beyond feeding all 15 of us every morning. We also had lunch and dinner at the Tiki Hut again the food and staff were awesome.
My family and I had a great stay at the Dolphin Key Resort making the difficult time together that much better and so much less stressful. Cost wise they were very affordable. Worth every dollar spent, a great stay at a great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We wanted somewhere economical clean and safe. This hotel was all 3. The rooms were newly renovated and very clean and comfortable. We all loved the Tiki Bar. Good choice of breakfast which was served quickly. Pool area really nice,
Would definitely recommend to anyone that wanted to use as a base to travel to neighbouring islands.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We returned this week from a six night stay in Cape Coral at the Dolphin Key Resort. The staff is top notch. We arrived around midnight after a late flight and Peter at the front desk greeted us making us feel more than welcome. We were so pleased when we got to our room. It was so clean and fresh. The rooms have indeed been recently remodeled. The rooms are large with a couch for lounging or watching TV. We enjoyed having two sinks outside of the shower/toilet area. The per night price includes a complimentary breakfast which as quite delicious. I had the fresh fruit bowl every single day. Strawberries, Blueberries, Blackberries, and Rasberries. So Good and fresh. Sara and/or Frank took our order most days and by the second day we felt so comfortable with them. They provided local suggestions and always were so polite and friendly. The Tiki Bar is right on the hotel property. Huge place with a great mix of locals and guests. It can get pretty loud if there is a band on Friday/Saturday, but the music stops promptly at 11 pm so that is really not a problem. Ask for a room on the courtyard side of the hotel for a true resort feeling. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 151 is central to all at the resort, first floor and poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Key Resort

Address: 1502 Miramar St, Cape Coral, FL 33904
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Key Resort is a new Hotel located one block from Down Town Cape Coral, with 35 bars and restaurants to enjoy. You can also go visit the Wicked Dolphin Rum distillery and see how rum is made or go fishing of the pier at the yacht club beach, all for free. If you want to shop visit Miramar outlets 45 min from the resort or walk around town and visit the local stores. A drive to Pine Island is strongly recommended if you want to see the genuine real Florida Gulf Coast life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.