We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, wish we could've stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4601 SE Fifth Avenue, Cape Coral, FL 33904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Cape Coral
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place, wish we could've stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place was fantastic, what a find! Our 'room' was essentially a small apartment with a big lounge, kitchenette, huge bedroom overlooking the water, and spotlessly clean bathroom. This place has its own dock and offers FREE kayak hire, fishing from the dock, bicycles, parking spaces, wifi, BBQ and sunloungers. A good pool as well for such a small place!

We were made to feel welcome the moment we arrived, the owners couldn't do enough to assist us. We ate breakfast out on the deck watching fish jump in the water. I only wish we could've stayed longer and tried out the kayaks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We really appreciate your post.
Thank you!
Mark and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
65
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have family in the Cape Coral area and have stayed at the Hideaway several times. On our last visit we brought our 2 small dogs to stay with us. We have been in a number of hotels/motels that are pet-friendly but not so clean; in most of them I would not walk on the carpet with bare feet. The Hideaway is an exception - immaculate tile floors, linens, and furnishings, though not that new. The motel was built in the 60's I think, and the wall airconditioners are a little loud, but that did not prevent us from getting a good nights sleep. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your comments. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Mark & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We found Hideaway Waterfront Resort and Hotel while searching the internet for a place to stay on our way home from Tampa. We usually stay in chain hotels so we were at first hesitant to try a new place but the thought of sitting on the dock, kayaking, and fishing lured us in!! Although we only spent 1 night ... it felt like we had a week-long vacation! We will be returning soon. I think Hideaway will become our regular get-away spot!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We're happy that you found us, and that you enjoyed your time at the Hideaway! See you again soon!
Thank you,
Mark & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here the week of 7/16-7/20/12, it is a very nice motel hidden in a residential area. It was quiet, clean. The staff was very nice. I loved the back of the motel, being on a canal with a large deck, hammock, plenty of tables & chairs. We had the chance to use the gas grill out back, had a wonderful steak dinner on the deck by the water. I loved that everything you need is there, dishes, linens, stove, fridge, microwave, glasses, coffee maker. If you are looking for a hoity toity motel this isn't for you, but if you want a clean friendly place to stay this is it. We would definetely stay here again. Thank you Linda & Mark.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
You are welcome! Thank you for staying with us - we're looking forward to seeing you again.
Best,
Mark & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a family-run resort and Mark, Linda and Kyle epitomize what the hospitality business is supposed to be. They really care about every detail. The place is not cookie-cutter modern, like all the chain hotels. So it that's what you are after this isn't your place. The Hideaway has a charm and comfort that reminds our family of more relaxed, happier times. Sitting poolside or on the deck overlooking the canal, we slow down and begin to savor time together. For us, this is the only place to stay in the Cape Coral/ Fort Myers area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us - we strive to create a relaxed and comfortable environment... happy to hear you enjoyed your time together!
Mark & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff and owners really took good care of us. The apartment was clean, inviting and had plenty of room. All the amenities were designed for comfort. We used the grill, full kitchen, kayak and the pool as well as the grounds. My Husband and daughter had dolphins come up to their kayak while paddling through the canal. We had five people stay in the room and there was plenty of space for everyone. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for anyone who loves a taste of old Florida and the feel of a private resort.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room you choose. All the rear windows face the canal and the place is quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Glad to hear from you! It's good to know you were as comfortable on your second stay.
Thank you,
Mark & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great deal, clean, owners Mark and Linda and staff very friendly and accomodating. The deck out back was peaceful with a gorgeous view of the canal. Central location is a plus. Would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayResort, Owner at Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your comments!
Mark & Linda, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel

Address: 4601 SE Fifth Avenue, Cape Coral, FL 33904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Waterfront Resort and Hotel, located in Cape Coral, Florida, is a full-service hotel, getaway resort and extended-stay hotel. Overlooking the waterfront, with hotel rooms or suites with kitchenettes, you'll be comfortable and have plenty of amenities for relaxation and fun! Tiki huts, heated pool, waterfront views, established coconut trees, kayaking, bicycling, wireless and cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Waterfront Hotel Cape Coral
Hideaway Waterfront Resort And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.