We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Diner

Mel's Diner
1331 Pine Island Road NE, Cape Coral, FL 33909
+1 239 242-0218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 319 restaurants in Cape Coral
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We love their specials - Tuesday night fried chicken or stuffed peppers. Yummy. The chicken salad wrap is just how I love it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    106
    65
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good; But No Breakfast All Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I would like to give Mel's 5 stars but everybody knows that a diner serves breakfast all day long. I'm from up North and we have all kinds of diners, so I know a thing or two about diners. Mel's is clean and they have a lot to choose from in their selections. But, I was very disappointed that they didn't, at least, serve pancakes or omlets, during the rest of the day.
That being said, everything else was very good. The wait staff was very accomodating and it wasn't a wait to be seated, although we didn't go at a particularly busy time. The food I ordered was very tasty and they prepared just how I ordered it.
All in all, it was a good experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Much more than a diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The term "diner" has different connotations to different people. Don't be put off by the "diner" designation because Mel's is so much more than a simple diner. While you can always order the standard, yet well prepared, diner dishes I would encourage all to try their full dinners. The meals we had there recently could be served, and well received, at almost any fine restaurant in the area. We didn't arrive until about 6:30 PM, successfully missing the "early-bird" rush. Consequently we were seated almost immediately. Our server was prompt and attentive, constantly refreshing drinks and asking if there was anything she could do for us. While the New England clam chowder to me was average at best, a bit watery for my taste, the steak and shrimp dinners were fabulous. The steaks were cooked exactly as ordered, thanks to the advice of our server, and the shrimps were done perfectly. One of our party ordered the salmon and said it was as good as he has ever had in Florida. The menu is extensive so there will be something there to satisfy anyone's taste or craving.

Give Mel's a try. I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Baltimore, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashioned Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have been numerous times always good. Ordered funnel fingers for desert and mentioned chocolate would be good with it and it suddenly appeared. Great waitstaff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mel, you have a great diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Have eaten many meals over the past few weeks and everything has always been delicious! They have a nice variety on the menu and a great staff of professionals! A trip to the cape is not complete without a stop at Mel's!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner also viewed

Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.