We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pets are lovely but I left my pooches home ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pets are lovely but I left my pooches home ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Resort was gorgeous. 2nd visit here and in the Christmas season, it was all the more special. Heat lamps to ward off cold coming in off the water. Asked for a change to marina view which was accommodates for a reasonable price. Much better experience from my last visit.

So what's my problem. As we walked into the lobby, gently infused with Westin's signature scent, we were able to count 4, no, 6, wait, 8 separate dogs. All nice pups, seemingly well behaved. But wow, what a greeting. I asked the clerk if there was a dog show or something going on. His answer, a rather straightforward response - "we are pet friendly"

Great. I have 2 of my own. Sitting outside for a quick nightcap before bed, one of my new canine neighbors loudly let us know that he was either a) happy to be there or b) I have yet to figure out what dogs are really thinking. Anyway he barked for a bit from the patio - and still this was okay for me

Until I walked in my suite - and yes, there it was. The faint odor that lets you know Spot or Rex or Bonkers had recently been on vacation. No worries. I live with dogs. I get it. I certainly know that they don't mean to release their pheromones. They probably didn't ask to come on vacation. But come on vacation they do and that means the next guest must be as appreciative (not bothered) by sharing a space that has housed an unknown dog and unknown dog owner.

All of which to say - my first reaction to "pet friendly" hotels is Ugh. My second reaction is that the property in accepting pets must own the responsibility to make the situation transparent to future guests. 8 pets greeting me at the door should have warned me. But I'm holding the hotel accountable to ensure the hotel is people friendly first. Know what I mean?

Ok. I'm gonna go buy my candles to re-scent the room. And ask housekeeping to come by and clean the room as if they were staying there. That's what I expect from a Westin resort. I'd like them to stand by their brand and leave me no qualms. Thanks guys.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    181
    47
    8
    9
See reviews for
254
277
21
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for five days before heading off to another part of Florida. I can be pretty picky and since we do a lot of car trips throughout the US and Canada, we stay at many hotels. This resort is truly the cherry on the sundae. The grounds are beautiful with lots of lovely palms, the pool is big for a hotel and quite warm . We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It is stunning. Everything is modern and the room is immaculately clean. The appliances are all the top brands along with the lovely patented rain shower in the bathroom. There are two sink vanity combinations with excellent backlit mirrors. The closet is very big and a walk in and has a light sensor. The kitchen has a huge top- end refrigerator and stove, along with all the cookware and bake ware one would need. The lanai is the length of the entire unit with a nice table and chairs, plus two other sitting chairs. The view is spectacular overlooking a preserve and a few ponds. The sunrise early in the morning from the lanai is spectacular. There is a lot of storage space for clothes and other things if one is staying for a longer time period. Finally, the staff is terrific and very friendly. Michael, the valet at the front, is super friendly and we had some fun conversations, especially since he is such a dog lover and has rescued two dogs that were on the verge of death. Chuck at the front desk always has a big smile and is as well very friendly , always wishing you a good day;. Hard as I tried for the challenge , I could not find anything even a little bit wrong with this hotel. It is a great treat to stay here. A warning would be that if you decide to take the bridge into Ft. Myers do not take it at rush hour as the traffic is awful at that time; excluding rush hour, the traffic around Cape Coral flows very well.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great resort hotel located on a marina but far from everything (which makes it a perfect gateway). We got upgraded to a suite overlooking the water and mangrove. We had an amazing two days just enjoying the restaurants, the pool, the lagoon of the resort. It was great! Very good value for money :) and nice staff!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great accommodation with a few quirks as it was built to be sold as condos then the housing market collapsed and Westin took it over. Well equipped with full size kitchen not just the usual wet bar. Excellent facilities and helpful staff. Only complaint was the adjoining room door is not well sound proofed and next door had left a dog barking so we had to change rooms. Excellent value for money. Recommend visiting the Ford Garage restaurant in downtown Cape Coral for interesting backdrop and decent burgers.

Room Tip: High up as possible for the views
See more room tips
Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived and were greeted by the best customer service personnel, beautiful rooms, incredible food, private and peaceful, staff that is second to none. A great great pre birthday/ vacation. The stay is one of a kind. Everything is AMAZING !!!! Did I mention boat ride to the other Off the boat ,shopping,great food and beautiful the beach.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great resort hotel located on a marina but far from everything (which makes it a perfect gateway). We got upgraded to a suite overlooking the water and mangrove. We had an amazing two days just enjoying the restaurants, the pool, the lagoon of the resort. It was great! Very good value for money :) and nice staff!!! I would come back to spend time away from everything!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a night here and I have to say it was really nice, I wish I had more time to walk around the resort. The room and the bathroom was nice and big. The standard of cleanliness was good also.

We went to the restaurant and the food was superb, the beef was cooked to perfection. Where we was sitting we could see the boat, which was a pleasant view amongst the sunset.

Downfalls with our stay was the Internet or lack of it, surprising for this type of hotel. Restaurant price, a little on the high side.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to be back next year .

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Address: 5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Cape Coral Resort at Marina Villageoffers you all the amenities of Tarpon Point Marina including four star waterfront views, plus resort luxuries such as room service, housekeeping and concierge services. Experience flawless service in our sleek tower of guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the Caloosahatchee River, San Carlos Bay and Gulf of Mexico. Our traditional rooms and our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom suites range from 445 square feet to 2,195 square feet, with grand rooms, master suites, guest suites, and dining terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Marinavillage Hotel Cape Coral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.