We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pet friendly resort, needs some fine tuning.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice pet friendly resort, needs some fine tuning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This resort is a 3.8 in our opinion. We spent 7 days here with 2 kids and our dog. The resort is located at the southern tip of Cape Coral with great water views from every room. The suite we had was nice, complete with full kitchen, laundry, and wide balcony. I recommend the suite if you are staying more than a few days. The beds are nice and the pillows are unusually huge, not great for a bad neck. The front desk had long lines at times but the staff was courteous and accommodating. The parking garage was a major convenience as we tend to come and go frequently and prefer self parking over valet, particularly when you only need to get one item out of the car at times. The dog friendly aspect was fantastic complete with biscuits at the front desk. The pool area is a bit small and was overcrowded at times. I recommend reserving a chair with a book and a towel as early as possible each morning. They ran out of towels at the pool two days so be sure to bring your own if it is busy season.
The gym downstairs was adequate and open for use anytime.
The resturaunt"marker 92" had decent food but not a wide selection. Some of the wait staff was superb at night, including the bar, but, in the mornings the service was weak. Be prepared to wait awhile for food in the morning. You may be able to go off site, eat and come back in a shorter time frame.
The outdoor food area was great and service there was sufficient. There is a bit of confusion when eating outside as two different restaurants occupy the space next to one another. Be sure to see the hostess outside, so you do not sit in the wrong area.
The concierge, Rachel, was extremely helpful. We did go on a sunset dolphin cruise with Bannana tours, and they were fantastic with kids. We had the good fortune of seeing, manatee, a bald eagle and plenty of Dolphin in addition to the sunset.
Some of the activities held at the hotel were good, but there is no kids club yet. We were told it is under construction.
There are only a few shops here at the resort so do not expect a shopping village. There is a Publix not too far so you can stock your kitchen. As for the local shopping area, there is none that I noticed.
There are some issues with the times the rooms are cleaned. We would leave early in the morning, venture out, return at 4 to a room not attended to. Finally when the kids were down resting the doorbell would ring at 6. There was no consistency. The next night it was not cleaned until 8pm when we were trying to get ready to go out. We passed on two days of cleaning as a result of the timing.
Upon checking out we needed a bag cart which are locked up downstairs. We phoned for a bellman, who never arrived. We finally went down ourselves dragging our belongings.
Overall the negatives were minor.
We would recommend staying here as it is a great quiet retreat.

Room Tip: Go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    181
    46
    8
    9
See reviews for
254
277
21
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel and I am struggling to get the most basic service a hotel is supposed to deliver: cleaning the room, making the bed and changing the towels. Two days in a row, notwithstanding repeated requests to the maid, the front desk, the concierge, the Service Express button on the phone ... we return to our room at the end of the day (two days in a row) to discover that our room has been left unserviced. The hotel staff doesn't understand why we are upset about this. A room maid even told us that she thought we would prefer the bed open, with all the blankets down by the bottom of the bed. At a rate of $ 399 plus tax (room only) and a $ 15/day resort rate I think that is a pretty poor excuse. Creative maybe but it won't make me come running back for seconds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear SniggyBrussels,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. While I enjoy reading about pleasant experiences, I do appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests about areas and opportunities for improvement. Since your stay I can assure you that I have addressed your housekeeping concerns with the proper department leader.

As far as the $15 daily resort fee goes, I do hope that you were able to enjoy some of the great amenities that is includes - Water Taxi to Ft. Myers Beach, Basic High Speed Internet Access in Guest Rooms, Bike Rentals, Wi-Fi in Lobby, Daily Newspaper, Local and Toll-free Telephone Calls, 24-hour WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio, 24-hour Business Center, Tennis Courts, Horseshoe pits, bocce ball, Covered Self Parking, Access to two Laguna-styled pools and one Lap pool (plus pool towels) and our activities program.

I understand that you may not have had a memorable experience this time, however I hope that you will give us another chance in the future to not just meet, but exceed your expectations.

Be Well,
Eric Ashton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We are so pleased with our "room" at the Westin Marina Village! Although we just arrived today for a 6-night stay, I couldn't be happier with our accomodations. I booked a 2-bedroom suite through a travel agent and got a great rate: Many Happy Returns travel (floridabedtime.com). I was a little nervous because the agency is based in the UK (and I'm in the US) but our reservation was waiting for us when we arrived and I think we paid a lot less than if we had booked through the hotel. The room is more like a condo than a hotel suite. The bedrooms are spacious and each room (two bedrooms and living room) opens up to a screened in lanai with table and chairs overlooking the harbor. There are two bathrooms, and the master bath is enormous...the shower is fabulous! And there is a full kitchen with pretty much everything we'll need for the week. Very clean and new. We ate lunch at the tiki hut, very large portions and also good quality. The pool right outside the hotel tower was on the small side and no chairs were available, but there are 2 pools that are available for use just a short walk away at a condo complex ...these had plenty of chairs and the poools were a bit bigger, worth the walk. Every staff member we've encountered has been super nice. You can pay for valet parking, but there is plenty of very convenient parking for free, so why pay? I highly recommend this place, and also recommend you try floridabedroom.com to see if you can get a good deal too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We enjoyed a spacious one bedroom suite. The furnishing are comfortable and we enjoyed a quiet relaxing couple of days.
I was surprised that the bathroom did not have a tub, if you want a tub, you must reserve a 2 bedroom suite or a regular hotel room.
The menu in both the in-room dining and restaurants is limited and this made for boring meals on the 3rd and 4rth day of our stay.
The staff are welcoming and helpful!
A nice stay

Room Tip: no one bedroom suites face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CapeCoral, General Manager at The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear travelcoleen,

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed your interactions with our associates. We are planning on opening a third dining option soon, so our guests have more options when staying with us.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Be Well,
Eric Ashton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
545 helpful votes 545 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This spot was a wonderful surprise as I've never been to the area. Booked it since we saw it just became a Westin. It's a newish property... I think someone said about 3.5 years old... and was originally built as resort residences so the facility is much higher end than a typical hotel. We had a 2BR Suite that was just fantastic... more like an apartment. The property is remote, but I liked that aspect as it's so relaxing. We spent time just lounging at the pool as well taking advantage of the many activities on site... it was so nice we didn't feel the urge to leave. We enjoyed some of the activities that the resort provided (they print a schedule for the week)... did Yoga class and a few others... also took advantage of the great new bikes they just got to ride around the residential area. My son also loved the Bocce court and we rented kayaks and played tennis. The views and sunsets are fantastic (you see Sanibel and Captiva in the distance)... drove there one day... easy drive, about 30 mins. Didn't take advantage of the complimentary boat to Ft. Myers beach as we were so content at the property... will do next time as we'll plan more time. The staff was friendly and efficient and the food at the restaurant was very good... loved the raw bar... and especially enjoyed the breakfasts. This place is sort of like a little secret hideaway that Westin found and is doing all the right things to bump it up to the Westin way... to make it the best it can be. It's already a great place and I can only see it improving in the future. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great hotel with clean, well-appointed, and comfortable rooms. I especially liked the balcony, bed, TV, shower. The staff were all extremely friendly, courteous, and quick. We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the restaurants had great food at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 to get a room on the upper floors with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our daughter was married on the grounds, such a lovely spot and wonderful catered food. The rooms were great and everyone was very pleased. We live in the Cape and go to Marker 96 quite regularly for food, atmosphere and music. The hotel has a Tiki Hut Bar they call Marker 96 and it's become a real meeting place for our friends.

Room Tip: Call ahead!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Address: 5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Cape Coral Resort at Marina Villageoffers you all the amenities of Tarpon Point Marina including four star waterfront views, plus resort luxuries such as room service, housekeeping and concierge services. Experience flawless service in our sleek tower of guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the Caloosahatchee River, San Carlos Bay and Gulf of Mexico. Our traditional rooms and our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom suites range from 445 square feet to 2,195 square feet, with grand rooms, master suites, guest suites, and dining terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Marinavillage Hotel Cape Coral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.