We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin takeover needs a shakedown cruise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Save Saved
You added The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cape Coral
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Westin takeover needs a shakedown cruise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I booked this place because of the fantastic service and comfort from my last trip only 4 weeks ago in mid December. Unfortunately, I arrived this time on December 13, the first day of the Westin takeover and it has been one Fawlty Towers episode after another from the lengthy check-in filled with countless apologies. It was 7:30 pm and at one point they were asking me to email them my confirmation to an address that didn't work. So management decided to upgrade me to a one bedroom suite which on first glance I thought would be spectacular.

Fawlty Towers #2 - Room preparation
The suite has no desk, no glasses in the bathroom, no room service menu or book with guest services, lights are dark, no paper in the morning, a broken alarm clock, buttons for service on phones don't work, no slippers with robes for a beautiful new bathroom with slick and slippery tiles.

WORST: no one cleaned the room.

Fawlty Towers #3 - Communication
I tried to order room service and after 3 calls someone sent up a xerox copy of their new Westin superfoods menu. When I ordered market fresh fruit instead of the listed bowl of berries, I received the berries and was told that was the market fresh fruit. I protested I can't eat seeded fruit. This Florida. Surely you have a banana, orange or a melon. 10 minutes later I received a call " Is this Susan? (My instant thought was something horrible has happened) the next sentence was "all our fruit has seeds."

Where's the good news?
This is a fabulous place, or was. It really needs a shake down cruise to get it right.
Shame on you, Westin. You didn't fail to get your name on everything including the shower heads, but you missed the boat on what a truly fine serviced resort is all about: a stress-free home away from home. I am glad you kept the staff . They are wonderful, especially in the bar area. I met wonderful locals and the bar food along with bartenders made me feel comfortable. And, I rarely go to a bar by myself. The chef is working up some interesting things....best of all the sushi.

My recommendation.
Give it some time for them to get it right. But don't pay top dollar to stay here now. Offer to stay for free to help them get it right. These are tough times for the hospitality industry and big brands can't get away with this many goof ups in one location...especially with someone who travels a lot for business and pleasure all over the world.

Come on, Westin, you can do better than this. You've got a great staff of people here. Show some support.

Room Tip: Wait till they get through the transition before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    163
    41
    8
    9
See reviews for
221
239
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been staying here off and on since it has opened. I have some great memories here with my family especially around the firepit. I plan on returning here for every vacation since it is or was a hidden gem. I am not so sure that would be able to return because of new owners who inturn have raised the prices probably to what they should have been along. Way out of my league- more then double what i have paid but like i said nothing good lasts forever but it was really great while it lasted. The employees at this hotel treat you like family and they are all sincere. Easily the best place i have ever stayed. Thanks for the memories and hope to see you again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with the outside balcony over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the off-season value prior to the holidays and spent 4 nights there recently. The staff of this hotel couldn't have been more friendly and helpful if they tried. Everyone says "hello" and "hope you're enjoying your stay" whenever they pass by.

The outside bar is the venue of "Howard" the bartender who is quite a character. The scenery from either side of the hotel (up the river or down the river to the Gulf) is spectacular and is to be enjoyed on your screened in balcony right outside your room.

I suspect that the rates will change at the end of this month (December 2012) but it would still be worth the trip.

Room Tip: Take the shuttle boat to Ft. Myers Beach if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingden, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at this Resort after our Transatlantic cruise.
What a super place. We had a 3 Bed end Suite on the 14th Floor.
Just wonderful. The suites are very well laid out, well furnished and spotless.

The staff are wonderful too, nothing is or was to much trouble.

Negative: they are a bit away from Cape Coral, Ft Myers and Naples.

Would I stay there again YOU BET!!!!

Room Tip: Try and get an end Suite you have views in 2 directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very clean, very quiet resort property situated so far off the beaten path that a rental car is a must. Rooms are very nice and the view from the seventeenth floor was spectacular. Front desk staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The pool area is rather average for a property without a beachfront. The Nauti Mermaid bar is a friendly gathering place for guests and Christine, our favorite bartender, keeps both the drinks and the conversation flowing. The restaurant, particularly for a place with nowhere to eat nearby, (or perhaps because of this), is not what I had expected in such a resort. We ate breakfast there four times during our stay. With only four or five tables occupied by guests one might think that a waitress or waiter would be at your table rather quickly but this was not always the case. There would be people setting up tables with flatware and glasses while guests waited for a morning coffee. It would be interesting to eat here at a time when dozens of tables were full rather than empty just to see how bad the service really could be. (I would be sure to enjoy breakfast at Dennys' first.) I had a delicious, piping hot omlette every morning accompanied by potatoes, toast, and a side of sausage or bacon all of which were served at room temperature on a good day. The pizza was surprisingly good although the lunch and dinner menus in general were limited and overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERNON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of the nicest and cleanest resort. Very quiet, a place to relaxe. We were on the sixth floor overlooking the preserve of mangroves, birds, jumping fish and Fort Myers in the distance. I watched the sunrise every morning from the balcony with my coffee. Well appointed interior, top of the line stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. Screened in porch with table and six chairs. Swimming pool surrounded by 10 or 15 Bose outdoor speakers heated to about 80 degrees and hot tub. Beautiful restaurant and outdoor bar. Chefs know what they are doing here. Excellent drink specials during happy hour. Great brick oven pizzas. Yes there are little no see-um bugs that bite but they are everywhere in Florida. All workers very nice and especially doorman whos name I forgot. He gave us free beach chairs to take to Sanabel. But when my ladyfriend fell off of a dock (at her nieces house) into a Cape Coral cannal and ended up in crutches the last two days, it was he who provided us with a wheelchair which made our lives much easier. I was so glad that she was not eaten by an aligator! When in Cape Coral be sure to visit the Tiki Hut. A giant tiki roof open on all sides with live bands playing all the oldies from 50s and 60s. Lots of drinking, smoking and dancing with the over 55 crowd. Can't wait to return. Thanks!

Room Tip: Choose marina view for all the action and views of Sanibel or preserve view for wilderness and sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice location at Marina. No beach so hoped pool would have been a little more of a focus when place designed. Pool was what you'd find at a Holiday Inn, standard rectangular design. Size is about twice what most home pools in the area are.
Rooms very nice with screened balcony. They have bikes for guests use($12 resort fee includes use). Used them to explore area.

Room Tip: High for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Address: 5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Cape Coral Resort at Marina Villageoffers you all the amenities of Tarpon Point Marina including four star waterfront views, plus resort luxuries such as room service, housekeeping and concierge services. Experience flawless service in our sleek tower of guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the Caloosahatchee River, San Carlos Bay and Gulf of Mexico. Our traditional rooms and our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom suites range from 445 square feet to 2,195 square feet, with grand rooms, master suites, guest suites, and dining terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Marinavillage Hotel Cape Coral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.