We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin takeover needs a shakedown cruise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Westin takeover needs a shakedown cruise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I booked this place because of the fantastic service and comfort from my last trip only 4 weeks ago in mid December. Unfortunately, I arrived this time on December 13, the first day of the Westin takeover and it has been one Fawlty Towers episode after another from the lengthy check-in filled with countless apologies. It was 7:30 pm and at one point they were asking me to email them my confirmation to an address that didn't work. So management decided to upgrade me to a one bedroom suite which on first glance I thought would be spectacular.

Fawlty Towers #2 - Room preparation
The suite has no desk, no glasses in the bathroom, no room service menu or book with guest services, lights are dark, no paper in the morning, a broken alarm clock, buttons for service on phones don't work, no slippers with robes for a beautiful new bathroom with slick and slippery tiles.

WORST: no one cleaned the room.

Fawlty Towers #3 - Communication
I tried to order room service and after 3 calls someone sent up a xerox copy of their new Westin superfoods menu. When I ordered market fresh fruit instead of the listed bowl of berries, I received the berries and was told that was the market fresh fruit. I protested I can't eat seeded fruit. This Florida. Surely you have a banana, orange or a melon. 10 minutes later I received a call " Is this Susan? (My instant thought was something horrible has happened) the next sentence was "all our fruit has seeds."

Where's the good news?
This is a fabulous place, or was. It really needs a shake down cruise to get it right.
Shame on you, Westin. You didn't fail to get your name on everything including the shower heads, but you missed the boat on what a truly fine serviced resort is all about: a stress-free home away from home. I am glad you kept the staff . They are wonderful, especially in the bar area. I met wonderful locals and the bar food along with bartenders made me feel comfortable. And, I rarely go to a bar by myself. The chef is working up some interesting things....best of all the sushi.

My recommendation.
Give it some time for them to get it right. But don't pay top dollar to stay here now. Offer to stay for free to help them get it right. These are tough times for the hospitality industry and big brands can't get away with this many goof ups in one location...especially with someone who travels a lot for business and pleasure all over the world.

Come on, Westin, you can do better than this. You've got a great staff of people here. Show some support.

Room Tip: Wait till they get through the transition before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusanjaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been staying here off and on since it has opened. I have some great memories here with my family especially around the firepit. I plan on returning here for every vacation since it is or was a hidden gem. I am not so sure that would be able to return because of new owners who inturn have raised the prices probably to what they should have been along. Way out of my league- more then double what i have paid but like i said nothing good lasts forever but it was really great while it lasted. The employees at this hotel treat you like family and they are all sincere. Easily the best place i have ever stayed. Thanks for the memories and hope to see you again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with the outside balcony over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the off-season value prior to the holidays and spent 4 nights there recently. The staff of this hotel couldn't have been more friendly and helpful if they tried. Everyone says "hello" and "hope you're enjoying your stay" whenever they pass by.

The outside bar is the venue of "Howard" the bartender who is quite a character. The scenery from either side of the hotel (up the river or down the river to the Gulf) is spectacular and is to be enjoyed on your screened in balcony right outside your room.

I suspect that the rates will change at the end of this month (December 2012) but it would still be worth the trip.

Room Tip: Take the shuttle boat to Ft. Myers Beach if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingden, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at this Resort after our Transatlantic cruise.
What a super place. We had a 3 Bed end Suite on the 14th Floor.
Just wonderful. The suites are very well laid out, well furnished and spotless.

The staff are wonderful too, nothing is or was to much trouble.

Negative: they are a bit away from Cape Coral, Ft Myers and Naples.

Would I stay there again YOU BET!!!!

Room Tip: Try and get an end Suite you have views in 2 directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A very clean, very quiet resort property situated so far off the beaten path that a rental car is a must. Rooms are very nice and the view from the seventeenth floor was spectacular. Front desk staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The pool area is rather average for a property without a beachfront. The Nauti Mermaid bar is a friendly gathering place for guests and Christine, our favorite bartender, keeps both the drinks and the conversation flowing. The restaurant, particularly for a place with nowhere to eat nearby, (or perhaps because of this), is not what I had expected in such a resort. We ate breakfast there four times during our stay. With only four or five tables occupied by guests one might think that a waitress or waiter would be at your table rather quickly but this was not always the case. There would be people setting up tables with flatware and glasses while guests waited for a morning coffee. It would be interesting to eat here at a time when dozens of tables were full rather than empty just to see how bad the service really could be. (I would be sure to enjoy breakfast at Dennys' first.) I had a delicious, piping hot omlette every morning accompanied by potatoes, toast, and a side of sausage or bacon all of which were served at room temperature on a good day. The pizza was surprisingly good although the lunch and dinner menus in general were limited and overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERNON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

One of the nicest and cleanest resort. Very quiet, a place to relaxe. We were on the sixth floor overlooking the preserve of mangroves, birds, jumping fish and Fort Myers in the distance. I watched the sunrise every morning from the balcony with my coffee. Well appointed interior, top of the line stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. Screened in porch with table and six chairs. Swimming pool surrounded by 10 or 15 Bose outdoor speakers heated to about 80 degrees and hot tub. Beautiful restaurant and outdoor bar. Chefs know what they are doing here. Excellent drink specials during happy hour. Great brick oven pizzas. Yes there are little no see-um bugs that bite but they are everywhere in Florida. All workers very nice and especially doorman whos name I forgot. He gave us free beach chairs to take to Sanabel. But when my ladyfriend fell off of a dock (at her nieces house) into a Cape Coral cannal and ended up in crutches the last two days, it was he who provided us with a wheelchair which made our lives much easier. I was so glad that she was not eaten by an aligator! When in Cape Coral be sure to visit the Tiki Hut. A giant tiki roof open on all sides with live bands playing all the oldies from 50s and 60s. Lots of drinking, smoking and dancing with the over 55 crowd. Can't wait to return. Thanks!

Room Tip: Choose marina view for all the action and views of Sanibel or preserve view for wilderness and sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice location at Marina. No beach so hoped pool would have been a little more of a focus when place designed. Pool was what you'd find at a Holiday Inn, standard rectangular design. Size is about twice what most home pools in the area are.
Rooms very nice with screened balcony. They have bikes for guests use($12 resort fee includes use). Used them to explore area.

Room Tip: High for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Art J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
3.7 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#4 of 6 in Cape Coral
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
2.9 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
11.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#23 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Address: 5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Cape Coral Resort at Marina Villageoffers you all the amenities of Tarpon Point Marina including four star waterfront views, plus resort luxuries such as room service, housekeeping and concierge services. Experience flawless service in our sleek tower of guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the Caloosahatchee River, San Carlos Bay and Gulf of Mexico. Our traditional rooms and our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom suites range from 445 square feet to 2,195 square feet, with grand rooms, master suites, guest suites, and dining terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Marinavillage Hotel Cape Coral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing