We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, bad view!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village to your Saves list
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great resort, bad view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort for 2 nights this week. It is a large hotel with 2 high rise buildings. The resort seemed to be almost vacant, which isn't unusual for October. We were given about the WORST room possible! Away from all of the action and overlooking a mangrove! I'm sure we could have asked for a better room but figured since we got a very good deal on SniqueAway, this was why we were given this room in the middle of nowhere! The other "tower" had views of the marina, the pool and outdoor bar. The happy hour was nice and the menu was fine. We were, however, reluctant to eat outside for dinner as the bugs ("no see-ems") were biting like crazy so we ate dinner at the bar indoors. The trout was very good! This resort is really in the middle of a housing development and has 3 high rise condos within walking distance and you have to drive through subdivisions to get here! Not the ideal location.

Room Tip: room was very nice but can only give it "3" because of the view! Nice balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    217
    68
    13
    13
See reviews for
302
336
23
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First things first, I have not one complaint about this resort, I have NEVER encountered a staff as welcoming as the staff at The Resort at MarinaVillage! From the moment we arrived (later than expected as we did miss a turn and get lost) we were greeted with genuine smiles and extremely accommodating service throughout the entire resort. We had a studio room with a screened balcony overlooking the preserve, it was very peaceful and served us perfectly. We did eat in the lounge one night, the Nauti Mermaid, ordered the HH champagne special (very nice) with several appetizers all of which were very good and service was excellent. We used the pool and hot tub on a few evenings and had it to ourselves. Plenty of towels available by the pool. The location was ideal for us as we wanted to be near both Sanibel and Pine Island, 20-30 minutes to each, very easy to get to both. I could go on and on but all I need to say is go! We thoroughly enjoyed the time we stayed and hope to return before Westin (yes, the rumors are true) takes over. Our best to all the staff and thanks again for a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: we were in room 511, preserve side, beautiful sunrise every morning......very peaceful side of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 week vacation to south Florida. We stayed at Marina Village for 5 nights in a 2 bed Sanibel view again. Totally loved it as before. Spent lots of time on balcony watching the world go by, my favourite bit. We tried Fort Myers again but as before really didn't like it, we stayed 10 mins and then moved on. Absolutely love Sanibel. Bowman's beach was beautiful as was Lovers Key. I definitely will visit again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey channel islands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A two bedroom deluxe room.
1) Great room / nice furnishings / superb view / very clean
2) Restaurant / Bars / inside and out all excellent.
3) Hotel staff, very professional and friendly
4) LOCATION...As a base to explore the area we were not impressed. The property is so far out on a limb it takes an age to get any where. Also Cape Coral is a long way off becoming a holiday resort as everything is so spread out. Sanibel and Fort Myers are a much better bet if you want to take something else out of your stay other than very comfortable surroundings on site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and parents checked in the resort on a Friday morning. We booked a two bedroom deluxe room. The rooms are more like apartments than a hotel. We got to our room on the 16th floor!!! I am scared of heights but WOW what a view! It was breath taking. View of the ocean and islands off in a distance and directly below us was the pool. We ended up asking for a lower floor because I was scared to go out on the balcony. Luckily it was huge and screened in, but I wasn't going to be comfortable. The girls at the desk couldn't have been nicer. They switched our room to the 6th floor! Perfect. Same view same room layout. Everything was perfect. The food however was horrible. We tried eating at all of the on site restaurants and they were all awful. We looked past it considering how wonderful everything else was. One thing I was very unhappy about was that they allow non guests to use the pool and occupy chairs. This is unfair. We went on a very busy weekend, and both days going to the pool we were unable to get a chair because the pool was packed with locals. One local even yelled at me for saving a chair for my mom, she told me "I come here every weekend and the rule is no chair hoarding" I was pretty upset and the hotel employees did nothing about it. Other than that I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a little get away !!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have seen many hotels in this world. I would rate the Singapore, Hong Kong and Bangkok hotels as outstanding! However the USA are finally picking up. The Fort Myers/Cape Coral area is a well known as an amazing spot for vacationers. The Resort at Marina Village offers a great value. Rooms are spacey with terraces overlooking the water. Everything is very comfortable and exactly what today’s urban people are looking for. The friendliness starts at the reception desk and ends at the bar. A lot of smiling employees. I believe this hotel would also be loved by Europeans looking for relaxed days at the Gulf of Mexico. They earn 5 stars!

Room Tip: 7th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was with my family at The Resort at Marina Village and certainly intend to go back as it was a lovely place and one of the cleanest I have ever been in. The hospitality of those that work was great! They made you feel as "part of their family" yet treating you royally. The food was very good and the restaurant workers made it like a second home, making sure we were totally with what we were eating, and did we eat! Those at the front desk were 'right there', making sure we were well informed and happy. Just a great place for a vacation!
Patsy Cook
Gainesville Fl

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the 8th floor, we could see far out yet it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village

Address: 5951 Silver King Boulevard, Cape Coral, FL 33914 (Formerly The Resort at MarinaVillage)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Coral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Cape Coral Resort at Marina Villageoffers you all the amenities of Tarpon Point Marina including four star waterfront views, plus resort luxuries such as room service, housekeeping and concierge services. Experience flawless service in our sleek tower of guest rooms and suites with sweeping views of the Caloosahatchee River, San Carlos Bay and Gulf of Mexico. Our traditional rooms and our 1, 2 and 3-bedroom suites range from 445 square feet to 2,195 square feet, with grand rooms, master suites, guest suites, and dining terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Marinavillage Hotel Cape Coral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.