We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Days in Matlacha” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Coral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
12251 Shoreview Drive, Cape Coral, FL 33909   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cape Coral B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy Days in Matlacha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Inn on the Bay
Pine Island Florida 12/10/08

This was our first visit which was suggested by my friend Susan who stayed there last month. We enjoyed this lovely waterfront location, spacious comfortable rooms, healthy breakfast, especially nice was the great view and seeing manatees and dolphins while having breakfast on our porch. Guess what ,we already made reservations for next year.
Bonnie W. ....Michigan

  • Liked — the views,manatees,dolphins,use of canoes and the most comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — nothing i can think of
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

We've been to B & B's for many years; and this one tops our list. Have stayed here three times, very consistantly excellent service, views, and room. Can't understand the negative complaints; I guess us mature folk like the knick-nacks more than the youngsters, but otherwise it's a fine place to stay, great value for the price, very clean, and very prompt, friendly service from the super-nice hosts, Bill and Diane Leroy. Planning to go back when the Manatees are closer to shore in the winter.

P.S. Erich's boat rental, across the "fishingist" bridge in Florida, will give you the best boat rental rates, and will give you 10% discount if you mention you're staying at the Bayview. (get the pontoon boats; shallow draft and deluxe features lets you get in to the Mangroves for Trout, Snook, Snapper and Bonefish!)

Pat and Robert

  • Liked — Great view, friendly helpful hosts
  • Disliked — Internet not working; but no big deal!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

While there were good views from the porch, the accommodations were not great and were not worth what we paid. The linens were old and faded and the mattress seemed old too. The room was decorated with too much Florida kitsch; it was to the point it made me wonder where the hidden camera was...

The shower curtain was really cheap and flimsy; it kept fluttering in the shower and would hit you constantly. I had to use one foot to hold it down while I showered - not easy. I was pretty grossed out because all I could think of were all the other people who might have rubbed up against the curtain in the shower. To add insult to injury the bath towels smelled like mildew.

Breakfast was cheap: zip lock baggies with single servings of cereals, some milk, OJ, one gritty box mix muffin (for two people), churros, 6 pineapple pieces and a little papaya. I got the impression breakfast was strictly rationed.

If you do decide to go, make sure you have cash or a check book. They do not take credit card.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlacha, Owner at A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2008
Bayview is a small waterfront B&B with large, bright and airy suites with decks that overlook the Bay. We welcome concerns 24/7, as we live on the premise, "Just Bring It To Our Attention" !

Our linens, towels and bedding are washed and air dried on premise, towels are changed daily. Light shower curtains yes, as they are single service and disposed of when guests leave. People constantly comment on how comfortable, clean, and the fresh air smell our suites, beds and linens have and how well they have slept.

Ambiance to us is tropical vibrant, vivid colors of shells, flowers, furniture, pictures, Florida nicknacks, photos etc, we say, never enough !. Hopefully guests enjoy the experience of this atmosphere Bayview reflects.

Our continental breakfast consists of four types of cereal, individually bagged, on each guests personal tray to maintain freshness, we serve fresh fruit- we grow our own pineapple, papaya and pummelo and guests love to see it on the plant one day and on their plate the next. We pick local grapefruit, oranges, starfruit and mangos, etc., I have heard countless comments on how wonderful things taste FRESH from the TREE, also served daily are baskets of different warm breads, muffins, toast, english muffins or bagels, jelly and butter "Want More Just ASK" !.

"So That's Us".we realize everyones likes and dislikes differ, however our Aim is to please therefore comments are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Bayview for one night in March.
The room was great, very large and cozy. The view was exceptional.
We were able to go and find manatees because Diane told us exactly where to go. We did canoe out and saw manatee and dolphins, it was really great.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing. I like a nice hot breakfast, the breakfast was cereal and some fruit. What it lacked in the breakfast it made up for in the view and the peace and quiet and beauty.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
186 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

The Bayview B&B in Matlacha is right on the water with wonderful views and gorgeous sunsets. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It's spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The owners are very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, excursions, etc. Breakfast was perfect for us--cereal, fruit, bread, juice, beverage, and we especially liked the option to have it in our room or outside. Because it's off the main road in a residential area, the B&B is very quiet, even with the windows open. The wildlife watching is great--manatees and dolphins swim by the dock, and the neighboring osprey's nest provides lots of free entertainment! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

After visiting southwest Florida for over 20 years we finally found a great place to stay! The Bayview is absoutely spotless, roomy and comfortable and the view is truly breathtaking (check out the website - it's exactly what you will see from your room). The Bayview's owners are warm, friendly people who went out of their way to make sure that we finally got to see a manatee and there were many manatees in the area. We hope to return to the Bayview soon.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Coral
8.0 mi away
Hideaway Waterfront Resort & Hotel
7.9 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
9.2 mi away
Dolphin Key Resort
Dolphin Key Resort
#4 of 6 in Cape Coral
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cape Coral/Fort Myers Area
1.0 mi away
Knoll's Court Motel
Knoll's Court Motel
#2 of 2 in Matlacha
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
8.4 mi away
Casa Loma Motel on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12251 Shoreview Drive, Cape Coral, FL 33909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Cape Coral
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Coral
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Bayview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.