We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Dirty, Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Resort at the Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Resort at the Port to your Saves list
Radisson Resort at the Port
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Astronaut Blvd, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Getaway for 2
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty, Dirty, Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just checked into the Radisson at Port Canaveral, FL and this has to be one of the dirtiest hotel rooms I have every stayed in. The carpet is more stained than not, the grout is filthy with a scary yellow stain in the bathroom, the TV is an old CRT and VERY dark, can't see anything on it, scuffed walls, stained chair, and hair ALL OVER in the bathroom. Add to that the fact that the ceiling fan and light were turned off on the fan so I had to climb on the bed to turn the light on!!

Additionally I have been assigned a room all the way in the back in building 6 and the door from the outside isn't even locked. Sure enough has a key card reader but it doesn't work. SIGNIFICANT security risk!!!

Not what I was expecting!!! I would not expect this from hotel based on the price I am paying. NOT happy at all.

Room Tip: Good room? Based on my experience, to get a good room -- don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your recent stay. Our standard is 100% guest satisfaction and since we did not meet your expectations all charges were refunded back to your credit card. We understand your frustrations are truly sorry for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    404
    211
    101
    74
See reviews for
536
405
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conneaut Lake
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my 3rd trip to the Radisson Resort at the port, I really like the pool and the location for pre cruise stays, but the rooms are showing some wear, We had 2 room suite and noticed a few little things that should be addressed. mainly wear and tear and outdated TV's. To me it is still a nice place to stay but, really needs some updates at least in the suites. After all I am paying more for this kind of room it should be in very nice condition and decient TV's.. But will I stay there again?? Absolutely

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am happy to inform you that we have installed new 37” flat screen TV’s in three buildings and will be completing one of our Suite buildings this week, installing 2 new TV’s in each room. By the next time you come visit us I am confident you will have a suite with new TV’s. Also, renovations have been completed in 3 buildings and more are to be completed in the fall. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just stayed here again for the 4th time before our cruise on the Disney Fantasy, and once again it was a fantastic stay! I had contacted Bridget prior to our stay to see if it would be possible to have a room in the same location as we had last November and she was absolutely wonderful in accommodating that request by placing us in the same exact room!
Andrew at the front desk was so very friendly and such a pleasant guy to talk to, he made the check-in process quick and easy as always!
Our room (131) was great, just as it had been in November! We found a parking spot right outside of the room too which was very convenient. The pool and grounds were lovely as usual. This time we did not use the hotel's shuttle as we had a rental car, but we did use the bar inside at Flamingo's for the first time. And although the bartender's name escapes me at the moment, she was AMAZING! Very friendly, and made us some great drinks! We did not have breakfast there but as we had some pre-cruise mimosas we checked it out and it looked actually quite tasty, with a huge variety of hot and cold items, and an omelet/waffle station. We definitely will eat there next time for sure! The price is about $10 a person and it looked well worth that to me.
All in all it was yet another great stay at the Radisson!! The staff was really great and our room was as well. Cannot wait til our next stay there :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 100 building if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Bad
They have sleep number beds which are nothing more than glorified air mattresses and are like trying to sleep in a bouncy house. Neither of us slept very well and were glad it was only going to be the one night.

Ants, Ants everywhere. I first noticed them by the bathtub and the more I looked around the more I saw. In the morning while getting ready I found them in my toiletries. We brought up the issue when checking out and were only given an unconvincing "yeah we'll look into that" at the front desk.

Breakfast is slightly better than most hotels serve, but it is certainly nothing to write home about. They have what you would expect and a reasonable omelet bar. The wait staff was unobservant and going through the motions without actually paying attention to what was on the table.

The Front Desk not rude, but certainly not warm and friendly.

I did not go in the pool but my other half went in for a morning swim and said that the water tasted gross, like it was not properly cared for.

The Good
The staff at the pool bar are friendly and willing to give information.

The shuttle to the port was reasonable, parking can be hit or miss depending on when you try and park your car, which is only really a problem if you have trouble walking.

Overall, use the shuttle and pay the reduced rate to park for your cruise and find somewhere else to stay with an air mattress and get your breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe_Panackia_GM, Manager at Radisson Resort at the Port, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. The Radisson Sleep Number beds provide personalized adjustable comfort to each side by selecting the firmness you prefer. When set to 65 this imitates the standard firmness of a normal mattress. We understand that a good nights rest is important to our guests so we’re truly sorry for your restless evening and have plans in place to help educate our guests better on these types of beds. Also, in Florida we are certainly challenged by our tropical environment, and we take proactive measures to prevent issues regarding ants. Rooms are treated on a regular basis but concerns brought to our attention are handled immediately. As far as the pool, we have a professional staff member maintaining, on a daily basis, the water, cleanliness, and treatments if needed. We hope that you will come visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We traveled from NC and stayed at the Radisson the night before we left for a cruise. We were greeted by (Jef I think was his name) and he was awesome as our check-in was a breeze, approximately 5 minutes as he confirmed our shuttle time and gave us a voucher for the next morning to board the shuttle to take us to the port (BE SURE TO PRESENT YOUR VOUCHER TO THE DRIVER AS SOON AS HE STEPS OFF THE SHUTTLE BUS) if you don’t you will sit there, and I think this is where some people complain about slow shuttle service and sitting there over an hour. He recommended several places to eat dinner and was very helpful. Our room was perfect nothing to complain about at all, nice clean room with a 32” flat screen, very comfy sleep number bed that worked perfect, the grounds were beautiful. The next morning we were greeted by the shuttle at the front of the hotel to take us to the port, didn't have to carry our luggage or worry about being in the right area again, no problem - very kind staff. It was pouring rain they arranged a drop off under a tent very very close to the terminal. We parked our car in their parking lot while on the cruise with no additional charge. Once we were back from the cruise we met at the area where the shuttles park our luggage was loaded and the driver took us directly to our car. Awesome service, very friendly and efficient! Again, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. This stay was very stress free and hands down Radisson Resort at the Port is our place to stay when we are in this area. Honestly, it just doesn’t get any better. Another important feature, when you make your reservations or very soon after go ahead and schedule your shuttle time to the port. We scheduled ours at 10:30 and we were on the ship at 11:40.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

First the good news: Nice clean handicapped rooms with fridge, microwave and coffemaker and a beautiful pool area. The hotel is a bit weathered but looks like it is being renovated and the waterfalls and landscaping have a wonderful tropical feel. THe Bad News: The hotel has a reputation for so-so food and it lived up to its reputation. Our waiter gave us half off when we complained about the luckewarm rubbery ribs on the buffet. However, the breakfast buffet was passable (they have a toaster that doesn't toast!) and the bartenders were friendly, helpful and poured a good drink. Bell service was non-existent (although it was promised) on both of our recent stays. We took a shuttle to the Port for a cruise, but after waiting over an hour, I tipped the shuttle co-ordinator 5 bucks to have him discover that our name wasn't even on the list, even though we had booked it in advance. We might have missed our cruise if I hadn't been so proactive. Apparently, the staff tells me the new computer system for the shuttle has some bugs; the need a lot of Raid. The bottom line? Nice property, beautiful rooms for a Priceline price, drag your own bags, eat elsewhere and book a taxi to get to your cruise and you will be fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family & I stayed here for 2 day on July 16th & 17th before our disney cruise. We loved it. Check-in was easy. The clerk answer any questions I had. This hotel is in a great location. It has restaurants all around with very good prices. The hotel's restaurant is very good but pricey. It has breakfast buffet that is affordable and very good. The pools was great. Great Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Resort at the Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Resort at the Port

Address: 8701 Astronaut Blvd, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Canaveral
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Resort at the Port 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Resort at the Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort At The Port Hotel Cape Canaveral
Radisson Resort Cape Canaveral
Radisson Cape Canaveral Fl
Radisson Hotel Port Canaveral
Radisson Resort Port
Cape Canaveral Radisson
Radisson Hotel Cape Canaveral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Resort at the Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.