We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels almost like home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Winds Resort

Save Saved
You added Cape Winds Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Winds Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   7400 Ridgewood Avenue, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Feels almost like home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Cape canavaral/ cocoa beach is a fantastic location for a family trip it is close to airports, amusement parks, space center, Daytona speedway, Air Force base, cruise ships ect. The beach is beautiful and there is always something to see or do. Cape winds resort is a perfect location central to all of the local attractions, walk to the pier or to jetty park. Restaurants and shopping all close by. The pool and hot tub were warm and clean. Beach access was easy and the view from our balcony was fabulous! The unit we stayed (408) in is owned by the stay in cocoa beach family who are always easy to deal with. It had everything we needed and has been nicely updated. The corner unit had a great view in two directions and also overlooked the pool. They also provided, beach chairs, towels, toys, boogie boards and cooler for the beach. Surf boards can be rented at Ron Jon's for $50/ week and provide hours of entertainment, but beware its harder than it looks! See my other reviews for restaurants in the area! Any questions please do not hesitate to ask, always happy to help a fellow traveller!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my brother and father for our annual guys weekend in Florida. We booked later than normal and spent a lot of time looking for somewhere right on the ocean with a great view and within price range. Found this unit and contacted the owner Drew. He was very helpful during the whole booking process. We arrived at the unit and were very impressed with the kitchen and living areas along with the wonderful view of the ocean and large balcony. The bedrooms and bathrooms could use a little updating, but overall the place was very clean and comfortable. The heated pool and hot tub was a nice added bonus. We love the area for not being too commercialized, but then close enough (40 min) to all the attractions that Orlando has to offer. We had a great time and would look to Cape Winds 508 again next year as an option when visiting Florida again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

So we made it back down to Cape Canaveral a few months ago and just getting around to catching up on my review!

This is the second time we've stated at Cape Winds. Cape Canaveral, if you've never been, is much more laid back and quiet, this is not Miami or Ft. Lauderdale. Its heyday was many decades ago during the Apollo ages but appears to have been able to cling to life. The trade-off though is a real gem: a quiet little town, loaded with tons of unique restaurants, shops, beaches, and people, about 45 minutes from all the big Orlando theme parks, and all for a very reasonable price. Last time we happened to book a 4th floor unit owned by "TLC Condo" and that unit was fantastic so I contacted them again, but this time needed a large place. I can't speak for other units but this unit at Cape Winds, 309, was just fantastic! It's a two bedroom which has a great layout and in a fantastic location! Their other unit is a one-bedroom and although smaller (as expected in a one-bedroom vs. two-bedroom) it was also just as nice so I figured why not.

The first time here I found the smaller unit owned by TLC Condo- what a great stay that was. But it's a one bedroom which was great for just the wife and I. This time we had both kids with us so I contacted them again for another rental but with the need for a larger place and luckily found their 2 bedroom. This time it was #309 and it was just as great! This one is also redone on the inside and very nice. The view is GREAT and because of the southern exposure you've got sun all day long. It's got a HUGE balcony (maybe 3x the size of the balcony on the one bedroom unit)- probably enough for 10+ people to comfortably lumber around on. Although it's not on the corner of the building, it's got a corner balcony because there isn't another unit immediately adjacent to the east- meaning the ocean view is totally unobstructed and there's no neighbor on that side. Although I haven't stayed in any other Cape Winds units aside from TLC's one-bedroom a year or two ago, from some of the other photos it's easy to see that some units haven't been updated in 20 years or more (not sure when the place was built). So it's important when booking a place at Cape Winds that you know what type of place you're getting, what it looks like, and who owns it, because not all owners make the same efforts and take the same care.

At any rate, if you're staying in Cape Canaveral, or in the Cocoa Beach area- then I highly recommend this unit at Cape Winds. I would definitely stay in the place again- no questions asked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
More information regarding the 2 condos managed by TLC can be found on Facebook search for TLC Condo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family wanted to vacation in Florida over the Christmas break, which we had never done before. We chose the coastal community of Cocoa Beach. There, we could be close to the ocean
and all the attractions in Orlando, and the Kennedy space center. After searching the web for places to stay in the area, we chose Cape Winds Resort. We had many questions being our first time and did not want to be disappointed. All of our questions by e-mail were answered without delay by the onsite manager. After deciding this is where we wanted to stay, making our reservations was quick and easy thru the capible office personnel.
We chose unit 402 which is a 4th floor 2 bedroom unit facing the ocean. The master bedroom has a king size bed and has access to the large balcony where you can watch the cruise ships going out of port canaveral. The second bedroom has two twin beds. A sleeper sofa is in the living room. The unit has plenty of tv's and wireless internet. The unit was well equipped and housekeeping was included.
Finally, I don't know what they could have done to have made our stay any more enjoyable. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great stay at CapeWinds! I stayed over Thanksgiving weekend with my husband and child and had a wonderful time. It is right on the beach with a beautiful ocean view and very close to an array of restaurants and shopping. It was a hassle free vacation. The place was clean and the housekeeping services were excellent. Not to mention while booking the room through the office, we received very accommodating and friendly service. Booking a room never could have been more pleasant and easy. Also the rooms provided everything we needed for our visit, including beach chairs.

We definitely would go back again.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SASKATOON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We rented #508 for two weeks. The owner replied to all enquires via e-mail in a timely manner and the rental process was very efficient. The ocean view was spectacular. The king size bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable but three of the four king size pillows were old foam filled and in bad condition but the one feather filled was nice. The condo could use some paint, the walls have seen better days. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans and kitchen utensils but could have used an electric kettle. Also, for this price we were surprised that we had to buy toilet paper and Kleenex. There were adequate towels and linens. In suite washer and dryer was very nice and worked well. The pool and hot tub was very nice and appeared well maintained. The condo is located in a quite neighbor hood that is conveniently located a mile and a half from a grocery store, the port and the pier. Also, the public transit Beach Trolley stops at the corner of the condo unit. The condo had average cleanliness and no light housekeeping was fine, but the only thing to clean the floor with was a broom that was suitable for the balcony not for the tile floors. There was a lot of noise from the pool area and some noise from the public parking area in the late evening and in addition noise from the unit beside and below (slamming doors, screaming children and loud voices). The Internet was poor during the evenings and weekends. Small ants invaded the second day we arrived and when the owner was notified he said it was the building manager’s responsibility and he would contact them. The ants spread to all the rooms in the condo and remained a problem for the two weeks. The toilets ran constantly and we contacted the owner who called a repair person that fixed one and the other one continued to run. Because there was no screen on the bedroom window we could not open it. This condo states it sleeps six but it has one sofa so not sure where others would sit. The balcony had adequate furniture but the patio table was not level and caused unnecessary spills and was an inconvenience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWBoardRep, Owner at Cape Winds Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
This condo is owned/managed by stayincocoabeach .com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed @ Cape Winds last year and rented from an outside family that has almost no contact with this resort. Make sure If you rent @ Cape Winds you call straight to Cape Winds Resort in Florida...ask for Steve. The people that stay here are the best. It is steps from the beach. The swimming pool is heated and very clean. Steve's rooms have maid service and are very clean. Last year we rented from 201, it was a mess. It took me two days just to clean it. We were so pleased with Steve that we are coming back this year for 2 months....It is very relaxing and not lot's of people on the beach..Love that!!! You are 1 mile walk on the beach to Ron's Jon's surf shop and 1 mile the other way to all the cruise ships coming in and out...What a sight..AWSOME!!! All night all day and night there are sights to see sitting on your balcony. Cape Winds is only 5 floors and the views are outstanding..You will not go wrong....Stay @ Cape winds..and ask for Steve!! He will make your Vacation worth every penny!!!! Enjoy...

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful from the second floor up if you want ocean view..Corner rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, Cape Canaveral
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Royal Mansions Resort
Royal Mansions Resort
#5 of 6 in Cape Canaveral
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Free internet...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Winds Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Winds Resort

Address: 7400 Ridgewood Avenue, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920
Location: United States > Florida > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Winds Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Cape Winds Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Winds Hotel Cape Canaveral
Cape Winds Canaveral

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Winds Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.