We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay Before or After a Port Canaveral Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8959 Astronaut Boulevard, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cape Canaveral
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay Before or After a Port Canaveral Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our family of four decided to stay at the Residence Inn prior to a Disney Cruise in June 2012 and were very happy with the accommodations- we had a one bedroom suite. The breakfast buffet was super and the staff friendly. While the property is not close to the beach (about 1 mile drive across A-1A), this is a great choice if you are looking for a comfortable stay near the port restaurants and cruise ships. Another positive to the property is that it is only a 40 minute drive to Orlando International Airport. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a good, clean, family-friendly hotel to spend a few days in before or after a cruise. If looking for another option close to or on the beach and a stand-alone family-resort 'feel' check out the Ron Jon Beach resort as an alternative (negatives: no free breakfast and a higher nightly rate).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about the Residence Inn Cape Canaveral! I am so glad that your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    120
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
274
80
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed one night before boardiing the cruise ship. It was terrible the room smelt like clorex when we arrived but as the night went on the floor dired to the smell of dog urine. I could not breath took my medican for the allergies and it did not help . 3 am I called the front desk and they move me to the 3rd floor and said no pets are allowed . later that morning went for coffee and found that the neighbor next to us had a dog you could hear them. Told the front desk manager and she split the bill with me . That was good want stay again though.

Room Tip: Not a hotel for a person with pet allergies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I do apologize that you had a problem with your stay with us here at the Residence Inn. Yes, it is true that we are a pet friendly hotel. We do try to keep all of our pet rooms on the first floor but occasionally a guest will check in and do not make us aware that they have a pet until they are already settled in. We always deep clean each room that has had a pet in it to make it suitable for the next guest, but with your allergies I can understand why you had a problem. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

During my 40 year career I spent many nights in hotels around the world. In retirement we visit our grandchildred in Cocoa Beach area quite often. Our suite hotel of choice is the Marriott, it is clean, in like new condition, and family oriented. Everyone is friendly and makes you feel at home.
The value and free breakfast for this class of hotel is unbeatable. Avander (Van) the chef does a fantastic job of presenting his freshly made breakfast, he has never disappointed.
It is not easy to keep a breakfast buffet fresh and appatizing. The Marriott Hotel chain should consider sending Avender around their suites chain to teach other chefs how it's done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind remarks about the Residence Inn Cape Canaveral. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you say such great things about us! Just so you know, we are currently rated #1 for our Breakfast out of all 615 Residence Inn Hotels. Needless to say Avander is a big part of our success! I have told him about your review and how much he is appreciated!
We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've stayed here several times since 2006; our most recent stay being in October, 2012. The hotel is in a great location -- an easy drive from Orlando International Airport, and very close to the cruise terminals at Port Canaveral. A shuttle service is available from the hotel to the port (for a fee) which we've used in the past, but most times we've rented a car with Hertz, which is very conveniently located (directly in front of the hotel), with complimentary shuttle service. The property is clean and well maintained, and the staff is friendly and helpful. There's a covered patio area with comfortable seating next to the pool and a bar, which I believe is only open in the evenings. They offer a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath room that works well when traveling with another couple or children. Continental breakfast is good, with some hot items. Depending on the time of year, the breakfast area can get a little crowded, but it's not horrible. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom/2 bath room is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here before a Disney cruise a week ago and it is by far the best place in town. That being said, Cocoa Beach is a dilapidated old surf town that I remember fondly in my youth but would not dream of having an extended stay here. Port Canaveral only exists for cruise visitors and space station tourists and is a good 30-45 minutes away.

Now onto the hotel. It has been open for about 7 years and is undergoing a major renovation that should be complete in early 2013. Some of the newer rooms are probably near completion on the 3rd and 4th floor. We visited about 10 hotels in Cocoa Beach and Cape Canaveral before settling here. The staff was nice and accommodating. The room was clean and quiet. The location is okay but presume people are not staying here for extended periods of time. Breakfast was good enough. The area was safe and tucked a bit from A1A.

Room Tip: If your cruise leaves at after 12:00 pm and coming from Orlando, just drive over in the morning to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach great family hotel to visit the area before a cruise. The large suite style rooms sleep a family of 4-5, the rate includes a breakfast and during the week a snack dinner, and the hotel is well kept.

The building is fairly new and well maintained. Compared to other hotels in Cocoa Beach, this is probably the best place and most comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOshea, Manager at Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your great comments on our hotel - the Residence Inn Cape Canaveral. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have always stayed else where when cruising out of Port Canaveral...but age and some pretty bad reviews made us look at another property to stay pre cruise...We chose the Residence Inn...got a great price by booking early.

The property is newer, lobby is nice..there is a fire pit...okay pool..and a Burger King within walking distance. All the staff were helpful and their morning breakfast was excellent...eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles...fruit, juice etc....just a great breakfast!

Everything about our suite was great...two rooms, two TV's...nice little kitchen with everything we needed...I called the front desk to get some dishwashing liquid..as there was only dishwasher stuff..and it was there in minutes...service was great! One thing I really appreciated was that the whole property was very clean...

We will be staying there again on our next cruise!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach

Address: 8959 Astronaut Boulevard, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Canaveral
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Canaveral
#1 Green Hotel in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Cape Canaveral is your home away from home. Residence Inn is the closest all suite hotel to Kennedy Space Center and one of the closest hotels to Port Canaveral. Our Key West style hotel offers a wide variety of amenities that cater to the leisure and business guest. Guests can visit our many local attractions, including world famous Cocoa Beach, the Brevard Zoo, KSC Visitors Center & shopping at Cocoa Village. Port Canaveral is less than 1 mile away. NASA, Boeing, and Lockheed Martin are a few of the companies that are located a few miles from our front door. All of our guest can enjoy spacious suites that are 50% larger than traditional hotel rooms. All suites include separate living, eating and sleeping areas. Our daily complimentary hot breakfast buffet is a great way to start your day. Our evening social experience featuring hors d'ouerves, beer and wine, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesdays with exception of major holidays.This is a great way to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach Hotel Cape Canaveral
Cape Canaveral Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.