We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exploration Tower

Exploration Tower
670 Dave Nesbit Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920
+1 321-394-3408
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 7 story attraction full of exhibits and interactive displays.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The view from the top platform is stunning, I hadn't realized just how big the port area is. Most of the displays are very interesting, but it's so new it hasn't developed a real character yet. The receptionist was very helpful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Waste of Time and Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

There really is not much to say when comes to the Exploration Tower at Port Canaveral. It is 7 stories tall and it does have a nice view from the top, but that is about it. The exhibits inside the building are not very interesting and the place just feels like it is lacking anything really enjoyable. I would not recommend going to the Exploration Tower tour, it is a waste of time and money (6 50 for adults, $4.00 for Brevard County Residents, approx. $4.50 for children and approx.$4.00 for seniors). The little café that only contains pre-made snacks (very few by the way), is very lacking and falls flat. Take you and your loved one(s) out to a nice meal elsewhere instead. The place just does not deliver and many of the people we saw while visiting the tower also said that they were very disappointed and felt that they didn't get even their money's worth, which says a lot since it doesn't cost that much for admittance. This could have been good, but it was obviously poor planning that went into the entertainment/exhibits. Skip it....there's better stuff out there. For example, one of the floor's main attractions is a bunch of the same exact Ron Jon Surf Shop surf boards and is just in place to advertise for their company in Cocoa Beach. Why people are rating this so high (5/5) is beyond me, I guess people are just happy to do something different and new. I myself like to see new and different things as well, but there is nothing special about the place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised! Worth the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped in on a cold day to check it out. It was inexpensive, educational and interesting. A little something for everyone. Plan about an hour for your visit. Definitely worth checking out.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Watch a Rocket Launch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a beautiful building with seven stories of panoramic views of Port Canaveral and the Kennedy Space Center. There are informational and educational exhibits on most levels. You can see the exhibits in less than one hour. We came for a special event - Launch Viewing of Atlas V rocket. This is a spectacular viewing location and well worth the $15 admission. While you can see from every level, there are open air viewing platforms on 7th and 4th floors. We went to the 4th after finding the 7th clogged with photographers. The staff are very friendly and proud of the building.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I visited the tower right after it first opened and was very pleased. Each level has a different "theme" about Florida and Port Canaveral history from the Space Program, Historical Shipwrecks, History of Florida, Cruise Ships, etc. There are a lot of hands-on activities as well and the view from the observation deck is great. Plus, they have built-in binoculars so you can focus on the ships in port as well as Kennedy Space Center (and there is no additional charge to use them!). The cost of admission to the Exploration Tower is $6.25 ($4.25 if you are a Brevard County, FL resident), but I still think it was worth it. I kind of whipped through the place but a person could spend an hour or two if they actually checked out each level.

Two of the levels, in my opinion, were a little bit of a waste because one seemed to be a meeting room and the other a performance hall. However, I did hear (from other guests) that they had a great show which I missed. I am assuming they use the performance area so I really don't think I should judge on that wasted space until I see the show!

Still...it is a great place and I think it is a very good stop for those visitors and families who would like to learn more about the Space Coast. Soon, the whole area will have a complex of restaurants and retail establishments. The tower is only the start. With Port Canaveral being used as a port-of-call for many cruise ships, I believe it is a great step in the right direction for this area!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exploration Tower also viewed

 

Been to Exploration Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exploration Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.