We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some bumps along the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Shorewood Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Level Contributor
344 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Some bumps along the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights pre-cruise. First night a/c was broken in our unit. They had to call in for repairs. Couldn't be fixed that night so they moved all of us to a new unit just over night. Was a pain to move rooms at 10:30 at night with two kids. Also, staff was out watching fireworks instead of watching front desk. So then we had to wait for the room key and get everything straightened out after the maintenance man let us know of the situation. Once straightened out things improved. We gathered our stuff the next morning and headed our for the day and came back to a brand new a/c unit on July 4! Staff only discussed time share talk once on check in. There was no pressure when we said no thanks. Slide and lazy river close at 5. Could be better hours. We would stay again though.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    230
    91
    58
    45
See reviews for
441
103
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The room for a family of four was expensive and VERY small. Hope you enjoy not having a cleaning service and exchanging your own towels, tp, soap,etc. as well as vacuuming. The first night was loud and noisy with people from next room... we were there five minutes before they started to try to sell us timeshares and tried to convince us to sit through 90+ minute presentations to get discounts on local attractions that they quoted grossly inaccurate rates for. talk About Tacky. We're here for a vacation not to waste time in a presentation...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just stayed at HICV for a week with our kids and grandkids. There were 12 people total, between 2 rooms. The resort was clean, the kitchen adequately stocked (not like home, of course, but adequate), and overall a good place to stay. The pools, lazy river, and water slide definitely kept the kids happy. The tram to the beach was nice to use when you had a lot of "stuff" to take to the beach like we did with 12 people. The beach was not crowded, very nice! We also used their charcoal grills. They offered the usual "timeshare presentation" once and didn't hound us after we declined. It would be nice if they could charge food/drink purchases from the poolside grill/bar to your room. Overall, very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for three nights beginning on July 3. We had a 2 bedroom condo, in the ocean side building. Obviously the staff has poor attention to detail and the walkway to the room was very dirty and had trash laying on the ground. Once we walked in the room we noticed mosquito's and gnats were all over the room so we spend an hour killing bugs. The appliances are in desperate need of replacement as the stove had rust on it, the toaster was all dented in. Also, if you come to this resort do your self a favor and don't leave the property because the surrounding area isn't pleasant at all. If you do come to this property be prepared to fend off the salesman as they are out to sell.

The only thing good that I can say about the property is the beach and pool are nice, but nothing else is

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have been owners for 7 years and have come here for the past 6 summers. This review is more for owners than the folks that are able to rent for a few nights.

Sat through an owner update that should have taken 1 hour (that was promised) and they stretched into 2 hours and never answered our questions. They wanted us to buy in their Orlando property since they couldn’t sell this property at this time. We felt as though we were treated as first time buyers. They did offer to purchase our interest here at what we paid for it to then use those funds to purchase in Orlando. Our person said it took longer because we had good questions…ones they never could answer. I still don’t understand how the Holiday Inn Club Vacations work. No one here could answer my questions. If you are not an owner this won’t affect your stay, but owners beware.

The new upgrades to the rooms are nice, these were started prior to Holiday Inn purchasing the property. The family room feels larger with the new design. The units were basically clean but there was a layer of dust on the top of the refrigerator. The appliances are not new and need replacing.

Mid week tidy service didn’t show up on the scheduled day and we had to talk to the front desk to get it done late. They weren’t sure they could get it done but it was completed.

Lazy river and kid play area closes at 5 during the week – just when kids should be coming back out. The lazy river has mold on the edges. This has been mentioned in other views but not addressed.

This is a good place for families with kids to stay for any length of stay. We do like the property. The improvements needed are with guest services and upkeep. Hopefully those will be corrected in the near future, if there’s anyone that is listening.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Unfortunately booked this place for 2 nights. It is not a nice place.

Reception: not even a friendly welcome, just making very sure: „you must be out by 10am!“

No cool drinks in the rooms and when I asked them for coffee I was told to get down to the lobby and buy my own coffee at the shop. When I asked them about cleaning the room and making the bed (which was not done) I was told „you are only here for 2 nights and not entitled to this“

I asked about an European adapter – I mean, when they advertise their place at booking.com or tripadvisor.com they are clearly looking for European guests. Not so much as I was told by the hotel manager. I asked him if he can arrange such an adpater and was told „most certainly not“

It is not the missing service/adapter – it ist he open rudness and ignorance that shocked me at this place. So, when asked if I could recommend it, my answer would be

Most certainly not!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Although I booked this hotel under the Ron Jon name (and was not informed that the hotel had changed names), the Holiday Inn branded resort was clean and comfortable. I was concerned how many times we'd be approached to 'go to a meeting about the club' but it was mentioned at check in and that's it. We were staying for 2 nights before cruising.

The one bedroom suite was enough room for our family of 5 for the short stay we had planned. The bedroom was a bit tight for the 4 of us but we were not in there very much. The rooms were cleaned and updated. The kitchen had some basic cooking/serving essentials. The washer and dryer was small but fine for the bathing suits and smaller things we washed. The small deck with table and chairs was a nice plus.

The pool area was big and fun for the kids. I agree with a previous poster that there is some mold on the lazy river walls and that the hours of operation for the 'fun spots' close way too early. I will also add that ALL the pool areas had 'workers' walking around the pool but not lifeguards. Not even around the lazy river. I thought this was interesting since theme parks that have lazy rivers have guards all around them. I don't have little kids but if you would really have to watch them. It is a huge pool area - no lifeguards.

The tram to the beach was easy and convenient. It's also not a bad walk if you wanted to do that. The beach is beautiful. I am not sure how or if you can request to stay in the building by the beach but I was sorry I did not ask. The beach chair rental was a little bit pricey.

You can park your car here for the week if you are sailing out of Port Canaveral. You will need a pass for your car.

Here is where the missing green circle came in:
The lack of pool towels is a big pain. I am a vacation club member for another Florida group and you get room towels for the week in your room and pool towels at the pool. Need another one? They are at the pool. At this place you receive pool towels in your room and if you need another one you have to go back INTO the hotel to exchange it for another. Adults only. The lack of pool towels was a big negative for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or in the building by the beach to see anything other than road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 33 in Cocoa Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Address: 1000 Shorewood Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Canaveral
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Space Coast adventure, beachfront beauty and the excitement of one of the busiest cruise ports in the world, this resort provides maximum fun, entertainment and relaxation all in one place. Before you ever leave the resort, you'll discover a swimming pool, lazy river and hot tub to soak your cares away. Try the onsite mini golf course, elevated tennis and basketball courts and onsite exercise room. For kids, there's a big indoor play area with an attached child care center, a multi-row movie theater and much more. From the spacious game room to plenty of onsite activities, you won't be lost for things to do. And your roomy accommodations are perfect for settling in and staying a while. With direct beach access, an onsite restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, a gift shop for souvenirs and incidentals and plenty of activities, you'll never be at a loss for breezy Florida Space Coast fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Hotel Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort Cocoa Beach
Ron Jon Resort
Ron Jon Hotel
Ron Jon Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.