We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool water park - ok studio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort

Save Saved
You added Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 3 more sites!
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort
1000 Shorewood Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920   |  
Hotel amenities
CT
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great pool water park - ok studio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ron Jon is really an RCI time share that rents its extra availability. Ron Jon boasts a great pool, lazy river and slide. Very clean and nicely done. Around the pool area it felt like we were on a cruise without leaving land.

But our king studio was small and filled with the smell of that room deodorizer we all know from other hotels. The staff was very nice. It would have been nice if the restaurant was open for breakfast.

I don't think it is worth the up-charge from other hotels with pools in the area.

Room Tip: King studio is tight but ok for two. If you plan to use the pull-out bed it's a squeeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    148
    63
    41
    35
See reviews for
314
72
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Have been to Cocoa Beach a few times and was never really impressed. Somewhat of a tired but cute little beach town. Now that I have found Ron Jon's I have a new take on staying in Cocoa Beach. In fact, I've now sworn to never stay in Orlando again - which I feel is too crowded and full of restaurants you can't get into without an hour wait and elbow to elbow theme park patrons. Ron Jon's is only 45 minutes from the airport and an hour from theme parks so its feasible to solely stay there. As a bonus you get the beach. And it's adjacent to the port so really perfect if you are cruising. I have teenage daughters so when you consider getting a timeshare type property with space and a kitchen compared to having to get two hotel rooms, there is no question. And what a fun resort. Huge water slide and lazy river (which even adults enjoy!), as well as restaurant, pool bar, movie theater, indoor play area for kids, free mini golf,... Great resort. And you can even get a chair by the pool. Imagine that! Stayed at tripadvisor top rated Floridays in Orlando prior to moving to Cocoa Beach and it was a nightmare! Forget trying to go by that pool!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I transferred some of our RCI points from an Orlando resort for the week of April 6th to April 13th. It's a very easy drive from the orlando airport and we decided to upgrade from a poolside building studio room to an oceanfront villa....the room was great! 2 bedroom 2 bath full kitchen, dining area and living room with washer and dryer....and most of all a balcony with a gorgeous view. It was just my husband and I and we have no children but we enjoyed every minute of it....relaxing....not to crowded always found a spot to relax at the pool the employees were attentive and accomodating and the weather was perfect 80's breezy and a fluffy cloud here and there....Everything was clean and available in the villa and made us feel right at home. We were centrally located for the things we enjoyed doing which was walking the beach which had silky soft fine beautiful white sand...warm water and very clean....we found several popular local spots to hang out and watch the ships come and go on the port and relaxed...I highly recommend this trip to any and all ages as there is plenty to do for young and old alike....I was so impressed at the location ammenities and options we bought and oceanfront timeshare with them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKirby369, Corporate Compliance Manager at Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear JKAV32 - thank you for the great review. It means so much when people take time out of their busy lives to let us know that we're doing a good job! We would also like to welcome you to the Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort family! Congratulations and thanks again! We wish you many happy vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Ron Jon Cape Caribe is a nice property. It is a timeshare complex. So, you get all the amenties and hassel that entails. Probably the biggest draw back is the 10am check out time which is NOT flexible. The resort is not on the beach, but it's no more than 15 minutes walk to a nice public beach where you can rent umbrellas, chairs, boogie boards and surf boards at very reasonable cost. The resort also has a great pool area with a lazy river and water slides. The villas are clean and reasonably modern with full kitchens and balconies. I don't think many of the rooms have a view of the ocean, but they have screens and are nice in the evening. They also have a small movie theater, a minature golf course and a game room. The property has an outstaning staff who was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKirby369, Corporate Compliance Manager at Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review. While the main building is not directly on the beach, we do have an ocean building with oceanfront and oceanside villas that is on the beach. We have a tram that runs constantly between the main building and the beach all day long. Please consider us for your next trip to the Cocoa Beach area. Return visitors receive a 10% discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great family resort with all the amenities included. We stayed on Oceanside ground floor which had its pros and cons. Steps away from the ocean but no view. We had teenagers with us and they all loved it. Pool was a great temperature and the lazy river was a perfect size. Lots of chairs available. The kids area was near the other side of the pool which looked like a mini water park. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited this resort with my son, daughter and grandson for a special surfing trip for my grandson's 14th birthday. The check-in was very smooth and the front desk staff very friendly, Although the resort may be geared for younger kids, we still had a great time. We spent time at the pool area, which is very clean and well kept, played minature golf, ate lunch in their grill and went to the beach for surfing (it's about a 1/2 mile walk or you can catch their golf cart shuttle which operates every 10 minutes or so). Both my daughter and grandson gave the waterslide a thumbs up and two of us were very happy with the kiosk where we could get any kind of coffee drink we wanted in the morning. Our rental was one of the two bedroom suites, everything was clean and fresh and in good working condition. It more than met our expectations and we liked it so much we're talking about a family vacation there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've been twice now, going back again in November...we love it here, our kids prefer Ron Jon over the mouse house in Orlando, believe it or not!

Staff are beyond excellent, clean, clean, clean, we always feel safe and welcome here.

The heated salt water pool, lazy river, water slide and quick access to the beach are highlights, but there is also the indoor playground, movie theater, DVD rentals, organized crafts and activities, mini putt, private balcony, fully stocked facility - just can't say enough good things about them. We're really looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Waterfront side is nice for watching cruise ships, but you get to enjoy the smells from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort

Also Known As:
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Hotel Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort Cocoa Beach
Ron Jon Resort
Ron Jon Hotel
Ron Jon Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon
Ron Jon Cape Caribe
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Fl
Address: 1000 Shorewood Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920
Location: United States > Florida > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Canaveral
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Canaveral
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover exceptional amenities at Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort in Cocoa Beach, Florida. Less than one mile from Port Canaveral and Orlando's closest oceanfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.