We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and still worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Shorewood Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“2nd time and still worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Ron Jon Resort last year and due to an overwhelming "thumbs-up" from everyone, we decided to return again this year to close out the summer before the kids had to go back to school. Pros - the resort has plenty of activities rain or shine for the kids. They spend the majority of their time between the beach and the water park. They especially enjoyed the little activities like root beer floats and painting coconuts. The suite had everything we needed from a separate bedroom for the kids, full kitchen area, and nice living room. We went into town the first night and loaded up on groceries for the week. Cons - you cannot walk into town from the resort so plan accordingly.

In all, we will continue to return to the resort. The staff does a nice job and made everyone feel welcome. A special thanks to the pool staff that gave my daughters each a small beach ball to play with and keep. They didn't have to do it, but they sure made their day and week. Thanks Alex and crew!

One last note about the restaurant on site - the surf grill. We didn't expect much from it going in, but were very surprised and ended up eating there twice during our five days. The food was good and actually better than two other places we tried in Cocoa Beach that week. It didn't hurt that we received 10% off our first meal with a coupon we got when we checked in.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the main building. The kids like it since it is central to all of the acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbow89, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear kodiaktraveler:

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoy our resort. It is always nice to receive great reviews, especially from return guests. We hope that you and your family continue to return to our Resort to make all of those wonderful family memories. Thanks again!

Launa Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    175
    74
    46
    40
See reviews for
362
84
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our check is was ok, but they required a large deposit on our cc upfront. Why I don't know because we had prepaid for our room on travelzoo. We were given wristbands & were told we needed to keep them with us on property, but we did not need to wear them. (more on this later)
The room was a 1 bedroom condo, there was a full kitchen, with antique appliances. The shower was teeny tiny, no tub. I mean you could barely turn around in the shower! The tv in the living room was of the old-fashioned variety (with the big back), and the tv in the bedroom was LCD but very small, about 20", too small for a bedroom. The two tvs received different channels for some strange reason. The beds were two full size beds, too small for two adults to fit into one bed. The room appeared clean, but we both woke up with bites all over our legs and back, I am guessing this was bedbugs?!
The pool area: they advertise a "lazy river" and several pools. But we found the river was very tiny, and the pools were packed solid with people. We had a very hard time even finding lounge chairs. There is not enough shade or umbrellas. The first afternoon we tried to relax at the pool, but there were a lot of noisy continuous announcements on the loud speaker, really annoying. We had our armbands with us,but didnt wear them. nobody asked us about them.
The second day at the pool was the worst. It was even more crowded, and they constantly had noisy announcements over the loudspeaker. There is no way you can relax there. They do not have an "adult only" area. Then the pool security started harassing us about armbands. The security (which was a couple of kids in bathing suits) came up to me and rudely interrupted our conversation, demanding to see our armbands and our passports!! YES he asked for our passports! I took offense to him and his attitude. We showed him our armbands, and at his request displayed them on the table behind us. But the SAME pool staff kept coming over to us repeatedly asking to see the armbands! I mean really??? Do these people realize that we are there on vacation? And we are paying guests? ALEX is the rude pool boy. Then they called the hotel manager, who told us point blank. "we don't want anyone to feel special here" Are you kidding?? Where did you take hotel management school? I personally want to go someplace I WILL feel special. There are several hotel chains that will make you feel very special on your holiday,but this is NOT one of them!!
This place was a big disappointment. It was not relaxing or enjoyable, thanks to the horrible staff and their bad attitude. If you are planning a visit to the area, I would consider going somewhere else.
FYI the location of this hotel is right by the Cape Canaveral ship piers, you will need a car to get to any restaurants or shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbow89, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We apologize that your recent stay did not provide the experience you were anticipating. Our summers are quite busy, which creates added activity in our water park. We use our property bands as a visible means of ensuring guests on the pool deck are registered with the Resort. This practice is used at many other popular Resorts.

We have spoken with our management team regarding your interaction with the front desk and pool staff and we apologize that their comments were misunderstood; as we appreciate all of our guests and it is our goal that everyone have a fantastic vacation experience.

The Resort takes a very pro-active approach to ensure the prevention of all pests, including bed bugs, We conduct regularly scheduled inspections, the latest of which was completed in August, and have had no issues.

We wish you well in your future travels.

Launa Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for a week after a week long cruise. The check in was great none of the usual delays. The staff were very helpful and all were very friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The carpet did have stains and table and counters nail polish and cigaret burns, but after the summer we did not expect perfection. The main halls and grounds were very well kept. We are seniors and would come again it was great for what we needed.We were quite surprised to see the behavior af the young girls to be very disrespectial, the boys just the opposite. Quite a shock. The food was great !

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor near the close to the elivator found it a good location close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

i will have to say this was a great place for a family. Upon arrival to the resort my son had to have emerency surgery, so we were a day late arriving to the resort. When checking in i was told we were in the ocean front condo and i had asked them if it was a chance that we could be moved to the main resort so my son could get around alittle easier with his family, due to him moving slowly after the surgery. they did and i was very happy. it made the vacation so much more enjoyable for him. the resort was very clean and lots of people working there. they have alot of things to do at the resort mini golf, great waterpark for all to enjoy. many activites to do all day long. if you are to stay at the ocean front condo you will need to walk or take the tram to the main resort for everything, this distance isnt too far. i didnt enter that building so have noidea what it looks like inside. the condo in the main building was very clean, had enough of everything in the unit to use. the best part was they had a washer and dryer in the unit, this helps with not packing too many clothes. we didnt eat at any places in the area, ate in the unit the whole time. thereis a walmart not too far from the resort and lots of shops over by the pier.
now the question is " is it worth 300 plus a nite?" i would say no, but that is my opinion. we exchanged with rci and was that worth it, YES.........the one thing i did like is the indoor play place for the children, they also have a movie theater and a game room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are with kids, this resort is the right choice. The sledge at the pool area is great and the lazy river also is a hit for kids. There is also a really great indoor playing area for kids. We went here at stormy weather and there are so many actives around that hotel, that you are easily able to get around a whole days without getting getting boring.
The rooms are big, however the sleeping conditions are not good. The beds are small. Two double beds in one small room. The kitchen and living room area is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 1 night even though we had booked 3.
If you are visiting with children you would likely have a good stay as the grounds are geered for family activities. The grounds are well maintained. But advertising as a "Resort and "Waterpark" are a bit misleading.
The room was clean but lacked any view what so ever. Beach is quite a distance.
Food was ok.
Be sure to ask for any AAA, Milatary discounts, etc... at time of booking as the agent won't ask and they will not give any at check out. This is a time share property and that seems to be the push.

Room Tip: Read all the fine print.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in a 2 BR Oceanfront villa last summer and we had a fantastic time. It was me, my husband, my 7 yr old son and my 2 yr old daughter. The villa huge and very clean, The pool area is great as there is a water slide, lazy river, and splash zone. There is also a restaurant on site that serves great food. We did not eat in the restaurant but we ordered the food to go and brought it back to our villa.

I can't believe there are so many negative reviews of the place. When we were there the pool rules were strictly enforced. They also bring in an animal show for the kids that my son enjoyed (my daughter was fast asleep). He got to hold a snake, tarantula, hedgehog, and scorpion. They learned about the animals and their habitat.

There is also a large indoor play area. with slides and such that our kids enjoyed as well.

There isn't much nearby other than the Kennedy Space Center and only about 1 hour from Disney, Seaworld, Universal, etc. But we went for the beach which was spectacular and only steps from our room.

We were in the beachfront building which meant a walk across the parking lot to get to the main building and pool area. But we preferred being in that building. If you are in the main building, there isn't too much of a view, other than maybe the pool, some cruise ships and if lucky the ocean from a distance.

We are timeshare owners and exchanged to be here and were very pleased and definitely want to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for the oceanfront building for a great view and just steps from beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort

Address: 1000 Shorewood Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920 (Formerly Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Canaveral
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Canaveral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Space Coast adventure, beachfront beauty and the excitement of one of the busiest cruise ports in the world, this resort provides maximum fun, entertainment and relaxation all in one place. Before you ever leave the resort, you'll discover a swimming pool, lazy river and hot tub to soak your cares away. Try the onsite mini golf course, elevated tennis and basketball courts and onsite exercise room. For kids, there's a big indoor play area with an attached child care center, a multi-row movie theater and much more. From the spacious game room to plenty of onsite activities, you won't be lost for things to do. And your roomy accommodations are perfect for settling in and staying a while. With direct beach access, an onsite restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating, a gift shop for souvenirs and incidentals and plenty of activities, you'll never be at a loss for breezy Florida Space Coast fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Hotel Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Resort Cocoa Beach
Ron Jon Resort
Ron Jon Hotel
Ron Jon Cape Canaveral
Ron Jon Cape Caribe Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Cape Canaveral Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.