We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, popular seafood, good early bird specials” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty's Seafood and Oyster Bar

Rusty's Seafood and Oyster Bar
628 Glen Cheek Drive, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-4502
321-783-2033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Service, popular seafood, good early bird specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Arrived, was crowded, but old fiends shared a table. Friendly server suggested we could get our order in before 6PM for oysters and beer specials. We tried 18 steamed oysters followed by fried clams. Oysters smaller seasonal variety and fried clams were very good. Server was always on top of her game! Clearly a popular place; our friends eat here every year when in the area. They have some outside seating for good weather -- and a view of the Port and ships. This is in a 'strip' along the channel of about 5 restaurants. Family friendly casual seafood dining + full bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    165
    160
    57
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southgate, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolute favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a must visit every time we visit Florida. Great food, staff and atmosphere! The stuffed flounder was amazing. We love to eat here and have oysters and beer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Uneducated and rude/demeaning re: handicapped/disabilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We came to Rusty's to check in for parasailing and decided to eat there. We had our six year autistic child who suffers from Dysphagia choking disorder as well as seizures with us. We also had his certified service dog, fully vested and clearly marked with multiple identifications (which is not required by ADA/ federal law). The waitress asked us no questions regarding our disabled child and instead shook her finger back and forth like "tsk, tsk" and said "uuh ohh, there's a pet in here". I stated, it's not a pet, it is medical equipment, the equivalent to a wheelchair or oxygen tank under the law. She rudely interrupted me and stated "well, it IS a pet". We are very used to the public being unaware of rules regarding disabilities, but it is very disappointing for employees of establishments required to be accessible and informed to not only be so unaware, but so extremely condescending, especially in front of a small child. Additionally, after we voluntarily provided more identification, as well as a copy of a full access required card, which included the citation of federal law, she continued to have a condescending and frankly crappy attitude the entire time. Us have a hard time reviewing the meal or atmosphere as it was lost in feeling as if we're carried in a disease, rather than a little boy just trying to take in the views of the water. Needless to say...I hope that woman never has to endure the same treatment should she ever have to deal with a disability other than the lack of compassion and humanity she already suffers from.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in Cooa Beach !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just by luck we found Rusty's while we were looking for a good place to photograph the sunset. One of the best experiences we've had in Cocoa Beach in 7 years of visits! Sit outside on the patio and watch pelicans and dolphins drift by, and Carnival, Disney and other cruise ships pass right by the deck - great photographs ! We arrived late afternoon and checked out the menu, then sent for the rest of the family for dinner ! The Crab Au Gratin is to die for, and the early-bird $10.95 Mahi Mahi cooked to order with redskin potatoes are wonderful. The cole slaw was unique, and I had a second one it was so good. Our server Jacklyn could not have been kinder nor more helpful, so helpful and sweet. Hope the management recognizes their best employees !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food great service but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great food great service but the turf part of surf and turf was a hockey puck.
Was there with my wife and brother for dinner and drinks,my bro had the chowder and sea food Alfredo ,my wife the the stuff flounder and I the surf and hockey puck,please don't get me wrong this place is great but please somebody should know there meat an how to cook it,it was the worse I ever had ,I though I was on candid camera! Anyway paid my bill an shut my mouth(140.00+30.00tip)S

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty's Seafood and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Rusty's Seafood and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty's Seafood and Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.