We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Air Force Space & Missile Museum

U.S. Air Force Space & Missile Museum
100 Spaceport Way, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920
321-730-0055
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Citrus Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

As we were doing research for an upcoming trip to Cocoa Beach, we found this site which has a 3 hour tour plus a stip to the Cape Canaveral Lighthouse. This tour has only been in effect about a year, and I wish it was publisized more as it was fascinating. To learn that there is so much more to our space program than Nasa was amazing.

You are taken to almost all of the launch pads, past and present. There is even a memorial to the Apollo 1 Astronauts that perished on the exact spot where it happened.

Our tour guide, Jim was awesome as everything was explained in detail plus the fact that there is only 1 paid employee and over 100 volunteers to run this not for profit museum.

The lighthouse is fantastic for all lighthouse lovers, but you can only climb 5 floors due to such small steps leading up and as the volunteer told us, it would take 2 hours to resue someone if necesarry.

The trilling part was due to a delay, the very next morning at 4:07 was a scheduled rocket launch.Yep.. got up at 3 am and drove to watch the launch. Amazing.

Will do this tour again next time we are in Cocoa Beach

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rockets and ICBMS!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a great place to see the progression of rockets and ICBMs throughout history. The indoor museum has an entire wall dedicated to women in the space program whose important roles are largely unknown. I used to love going down here on my lunch breaks when I worked on ICBM road and now the Air Force is providing free tours of the rocket garden to everyone. It is a must see on the Space Coast!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not much there but FREE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice volunteers provide good information but it is a work in progress and not many space artifacts.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you haven't gone you gotta see this place. Take the kids they will be overwhelmed and awestruck! This is one of the places that reminds you of what a great country America is!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A dont miss if your into Space History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Almost hidden away this little museum is a gold mine. All sorts of Space history of Cape Canavaral and Kennedy Space Center, this is a great place to lose a couple of hours. A MUST do. And dont miss the gift shop.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Air Force Space & Missile Museum also viewed

Cape Canaveral, Brevard County
 
Cape Canaveral, Brevard County
Cape Canaveral, Brevard County
 

Been to U.S. Air Force Space & Missile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Air Force Space & Missile Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.