We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my, this is good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madd Jacks Grillin Shack

Madd Jacks Grillin Shack
6006 N Atlantic Ave, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920
+1 321-613-5800
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are located on the east side of A1A in Cape Canaveral, Florida. 1 Mile north of Ron Jons Surf Shop in Cocoa Beach and we are between ABC Liquors and Grahams Lounge. We are a Bar B Q type restaurant that serves a West Coast Style Meat with East Coast Flair.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oh my, this is good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband is a ribs guy. He had the baby backs and proclaimed them to be the best ribs he'd ever eaten. Sandy served us and chatted and made us feel at home. We can't wait to go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    175
    48
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic newer restaurant on the Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral border”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for fantastic BBQ, great service, and very reasonable prices, then check out Madd Jacks while you're in town. I am a BBQ "snob" (even own a Big Green Egg), and Jack has the best BBQ I have ever tasted. I was a "space brat" and bi-coastally lived between Cape Canaveral and central California until I was an adult. In CA, we were so spoiled on Santa Maria Steak (now known as Tri-Tip) and Madd Jack does it perfectly. There other BBQ meat is equal or better than all of the top-rated places that I have dined from TX to the Carolinas. Jacks' ribs are heaven on a bone.

A little history: the building was originally the home Fat Boy's BBQ back in 1960-1980 period. It was the dawn of US Space exploration and astronauts, engineers, and beach bums all dined on the delicious grub. Since Fat Boy's left decades ago, many other businesses have occupied the building (including restaurants, video slot joints, and even a couple of thrift shops). None survived very long and it was sad for us long-time locals to see this historic shrine left abandoned for so many years.

That's all changed now since Madd Jacks Grillin Shack has moved in, and we could not be happier to see this place so popular again. The lunchtime parking is once again filled to overflow and cars are parked down the adjacent side street.

Check it out and prepare to ask for "to-go boxes".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and portions for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

GREAT FOOD! Great portions for the price. Great service. Some of the best food my husband and I had on our trip. Don't let the outside of the building sway you, it doesn't look very nice but the food is WORTH IT. Definitely a must try if you are in the area. Seriously one of the best places to eat in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit uncertain about trying this place based on the exterior of the building. We are so glad we gave it a shot!! Delicious food, great prices/portions, good service. Even brought us samples of tri-tip and brisket. We will be back and highly recommend trying this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

great great food. hidden gem. great for after beach. it's hard to find. Defiantly use the address. wish the servers would be a little more energetic but not bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madd Jacks Grillin Shack also viewed

 

Been to Madd Jacks Grillin Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madd Jacks Grillin Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.