We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John F. Kennedy Space Center

John F. Kennedy Space Center
Kennedy Space Center, Cape Canaveral, FL 32899
321-867-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Science Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The John F. Kennedy Space Center has been the home of every manned space flight from the United States since 1968.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Long Island, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The general admission price is a bit pricey, but totally worth every penny! When you first enter the center, it doesn't look like there is much there, and in fact, a lot of the beginning stops were not that great, especially Angry Birds. The new Atlantis exhibit was totally breathtaking & I cannot imagine this center without it. It is truly the highlight of the entire center. Included in admission is a bus tour, which is a major part of this visit & you need to take it! There are 2 stops, the Gantry stop & Appollo stop. I say to save time, totally skip the Gantry stop & stay on the bus for the Appollo stop only. There is nothing at the Gantry stop other than someplace to climb up high & see everything you have already seen on your bus tour & drive in. The Appollo stop is the other highlight & especially the presentation therein. It is easy to miss the presentation as it is hard to see, as the doors remain closed inbetween presentations & but wait outside as it is totally worth it. There are two 3D movies included. The Hubbell movie was absolutely amazing! The other one, forgot the name, Space something,was extremely boring & a waste and we walked out before it was over. Overall, we spent 7 hours at the complex. You do need almost an entire day to see this center - the website recommends 8 hrs, with one hour built-in for lunch and that is spot on. We had a quick lunch, only about 10 minutes. There are 2 eateries there to buy a quick bite to eat. Overall, highly recommend as it is educational & awe-inspiring for both young & old. If you are in the Orlando area & especially have school-aged children, do not miss this place!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,301
    514
    136
    47
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb well worth a Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First visit here was in 2001 so was looking forward to visiting again and also the drive from Orlando (Great wildlife on route). Boy it was fantastic, even better than I remembered! The 2 IMAX movies were superb and the Atlantis exhibit was just fantastic. Ended up staying for 7 hours and all the family enjoyed it. Support Nasa and space exploration an enjoy yourself at the same time :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Seeing the Atlantis Shuttle alone was worth the price of admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went after a local told us about the space shuttle Atlantis exhibit being open. Seeing a real space shuttle and the exhibit that went with it was amazing. The Kennedy Space Center does an amazing job getting you into the exhibit hall. (Since my family was so amazed with the entrance, I don't want to spoil it for anyone else.) We were in awe when we saw the shuttle. Definitely photo opportunities throughout the exhibit hall. We went to the exhibit almost as soon as the center opened so we had little to now wait. My husband and daughter waited less than 10 minutes to ride the simulator in the exhibit. For my husband and I who remembered the tragic shuttle accidents, the exhibit was emotional at times. Exhibit also includes a lot of interesting information and displays on the space station. We also went in the Angry Birds exhibit which was crowded and disappointing. We toured the other buildings, saw one of the I-Max movies (on the space station), and walked through the memory garden. We did not have an opportunity to take the bus tour due to time constraints. (Wish we could have.) While it is a bit pricey to get in, both my husband and I agreed that seeing Atlantis up close made the price of admission well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch with Astronaut well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I had read some negative reviews on the lunch with an Astronaut and wanted to give my opinion. The food Buffett was very good. There was salad and then three mains, fish, grilled chicken and ravioli. Bread rolls and then free soda and juices. Then an awesome selection of deserts the carrot cake was very good. After lunch the Astronaut then gave a 30 min talk on his mission and then 10 mins of Q&A followed by a photo opertunity. All this for $25, and having paid $12 for just a burger in Disney I can't see why people complain. In addition the new Atlantis exhibit is phenomenal. Won't spoil it but when your introduced to Atlantis if your jaw doesn't drop go see your doctor cause you are brain dead.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You have to go and see Atlantis Shuttle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Its a 40 minute drive on a toll Hwy but well worth it. On arrival you can purchase entrance ticket waiting in line or use self serve kiosks to avoid lines. We used kiosks and were in in under 2 minutes. Be sure to attend the info sessions, they run every hour and were beneficial to explain what is going on at KSC for space research and travel, more then you know for sure! Also take in the Astronaut talk, its a hour and in afternoons. Bob Springer was there the day we attended and what a passionate speaker, you can get a picture with him at end of talk, so hang around. The Atlantis display which just opened is AWESOME, you can spend hours in this exhibit. Seeing the real shuttle ship up so close is breath taking, your jaw will drop when you see it for the first time so be ready. The staff is terrific and make the exhibit come to life, we talked with Norm, who is a terrific ambassador for KSC and was an engineer on all Apollo missions, he is very proud and has lots of info to share, so look for him. There are many interactive exhibits throughout also with touch screens and also printed material. On the way out the retail store will have something for you to pick up as a souvenir. Kryl, the store manager has been with KSC 14 years and she can tell you even more about the facility and exhibits. It was a full day and very interesting. Be sure to go, Atlantis is worth it, you will be impressed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John F. Kennedy Space Center also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy Space Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John F. Kennedy Space Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added John F. Kennedy Space Center to your Saves list