We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bushnell Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bushnell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bushnell Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bushnell Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
7920 SW 90th Ave, Bushnell, FL 33513 (Formerly Our Father's Haven Bed & Breakfast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEASON SPECIAL!
Ranked #1 of 2 Bushnell B&B and Inns
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a rejuvinating stay.Everything was perfect! Gary and Joanne were perfect hosts. They went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful! The barn and pastures were clean, comfortable and safe. Ceiling fans and lights, wash rack, personal feed lockers. The pastures maintained the best, with lush grass and crystal clear water and safe horse wire. While my horse family was very comfortable in their accomodations, my friends were very comforatable in our huge room with all the amenaties. I was surprised to see how very large and comfortable our seperate living room and bedroom was! The breakfast was delicious and I definitely ate my fill every morning! Access to many trails make this the perfect retreat for horsemen! Thank you Gary and Joanne, for making this a perfect get away! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Choose your favorite bed type choice... King, queen or double. Very tastefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFHBandB, Owner at Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are honored to be able serve our guests by providing a "haven" that offers guests a respite from the storms of life and a time of refreshing. Horseback riding, hiking, bicycling, canoeing on the river or just rocking on the porch seem to offer a time to peaceful reflection and restoration. Getting away with friends, as you did, helps to build life long relationships. We are proud to be able to offer a peaceful place where guests are resfreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
50
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I can't say enough about Our Father's Haven! The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and include mini fridges and microwaves. Paper plates and plastic cutlery are provided. The environment is so quiet and peaceful! I wish the weather had been cooler so we could take advantage of more time on the porch!

This is definitely an area you go to when you want to get away from the "hustle and bustle", so don't expect a lot of night life. There are many opportunities for outdoor activities, however. Hiking, biking, canoeing, and horseback riding. We don't have horses, so we took a short hike on nearby Hog Island. We also took advantage of Gary and Joanne's canoe, and paddled around Silver Lake for a couple of hours. (The next time we are there we will plan on taking a bike ride!) There are several restaurants in the area with "local" flavor, and great prices on food and drinks.

Breakfasts are freshly prepared and YUMMY! We've stayed at several B&B's, and breakfast here is among the best we have ever had. The blueberry pancakes with warm syrup were my favorite!

Small touches really made our stay special: baskets of "goodies" in the room, a variety of magazines in the room, a cooler of water when we went canoeing...little details like this really mean a lot and added to the comfort and enjoyment of our stay.

Thank you, Gary and Joanne! I hope we can return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFHBandB, Owner at Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We certainly enjoyed your visit. We do our best to provide clean, comfortable suites and a hearty breakfast, just as we would expect if we were guests. Very soon cooler temperatures will be arriving and the favorite activities will become hiking, bicycling, horseback riding and front porch rocking.
We are looking forward to serving you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We Love this place !! Every time we stay here it's been a good experience. The trails are nice and easy to follow. The pastures are well kept, The barn is clean, The room are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is wonderful!! Gary, Joanne and Melissa are great host. My horses never waned to leave and neither did I !! This was our third trip and we will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFHBandB, Owner at Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is very important to us to provide a place where guests feel welcome and enjoy frequent visits Our Father's Haven. When you were leaving did notice that your horses seemed a little reluctant to leave their grassy pastures.
We especially enjoy when visitors like you arrive as guests and leave as friends.
Happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our riding group has been going to Our Father's Haven for years and each time it's a wonderful experience (this time we took the horses and the kayaks). Gary is a wonderful host, Joanne makes the best breakfasts and Melissa is always helpful and attentive. We are regular costumers and we look forward to stay in this great place.

Room Tip: My personal favorite is room #4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFHBandB, Owner at Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your encouragement. We ALWAYS enjoy your visits.
You certainly had a full weekend with riding the horse trails kayaking the river and spending an afternoon shopping and dining in Ocala. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanderson, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our Father's Haven is for anyone seeking peace, solitude, relaxation, and wonderful friends. The hosts, Gary and Joann, are there to assist you with things you don't even know you need. They are so friendly and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Sitting on the porch we watched the horses, deer, hummingbirds, and just enjoyed the quiet Christian environment. It was such a fulfilling weekend with no stress or worries. We will return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. We had the corner suite with five large windows and a king bed. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFHBandB, Owner at Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging review. We are pleased that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at Our Father's Haven. We do our best to provide a pleasantly memorable visit for such an important occasion. One of our goals is to provide a place where couples can break their routine, relax and simply enjoy their time together. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Although our original plan for the weekend was Crystal River, we saw the reviews and couldn't resist! Our Fathers Haven far exceeded our expectations! The photos on this site do not do it justice! My boyfriend chose this place and was very concerned that I would not be happy with the rooms as the photos make them look "very plain.". (He says I'm a hotel snob.). The rooms were extremely clean and gargantuous! Very nice kitchenette (bring your own plates and utensils if you plan to eat there though!). Living area was separated from bedroom by French doors, so I was able to stay up and read without disturbing my boyfriend.
We rode our bikes down to the river (this was quite sandy in places so i would only recommend this if you have mountain bikes-I have a hybrid and it was pretty difficult in places!). It is next to the entrance to Hog Island as well. We took our kayak to weekiwatchi (rogers park) because we were hoping to see manatees (we didn't but I think it was because of the amount of prop boats on the holiday weekend). This was only a half hour drive and well worth it.
On Sunday we rode the Trails to Rails on our bikes to Floral City. We had planned to go further but went south for 5 miles before we realized it and had to head back north. The Shamrock was just steps off the path and had decent food...and a cold beer(!). Was the perfect stopping point!
Perhaps the best part of this trip was sitting on the porch watching the hummingbirds fight over the feeders! I have never seen so many hummingbirds in one place!
This review would not be compete without A big BRAVO to the breakfast and our hosts, Gary and Joann! Thank you so much for a perfect weekend!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Our Father's Haven. We enjoy providing a place where guests may unwind and take time to enjoy the many activities that are available in the area. On your next visit we will do our best to find a place where you may go to observe some manatees in their natural habitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

the setting bucolic, I've never heard so much quiet, the rooms private and spotless and large and comfortable, the innkeepers so nice and helpful, breakfast great and to order, lots of outdoor activities, wildlife, bring your horses or not. I worried about the religious connotation of the name. I needn't have. No fancy restaurants in the area but I liked the local flavor in the ones I ate at. Try it. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: They're all good. You'll love the huge screened in porch which runs the length of the ranch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFHBandB, Owner at Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and your bicycle rides on the Withlacoochee Trail. We are looking forward to seeing you soon and one day as a neighbor rather than a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bushnell Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushnell Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7920 SW 90th Ave, Bushnell, FL 33513 (Formerly Our Father's Haven Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Bushnell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bushnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently constructed B&B adjacent to west central Florida's Withlacoochee State Forest and nearby Withlacoochee River. Spacious non-smoking suites with private bath, pantry with microwave, sink, sitting room, video/DVD,WIFI, satellite TV. Guest laundry and recreation room. Full country breakfast daily. Equine guests welcome. Canoe, fish, hike, bike, ride Withlacoochee horse trails or relax and rock on the screened porch. Guests 18 and older please. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bushnell Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.